Dublin dominance ruining the GAA?

Splitting Dublin would only double the problem for the rest of the country as there would then be two super powers to beat instead of one. No matter how much talent Dublin have they can only put out 15 at any given time, and on the day any team can be beaten. The rest of the country have to realise that the structures are in place in Dublin which will keep them at the top indefinitely, whether they are split or not. This didn't happen by accident and is not a cycle, its ordinary people giving up their time to mentor children from 6 onwards, all the funding in the world can't buy that (and good luck to them for doing it)
The likes of Kerry, Cork, Galway, Mayo etc (and indeed most other counties) should be well able to compete going forward if they invest in the juveniles like they do in Dublin. It only takes 25 players of a certain standard and a good manager to be up there. Don't give them two chances at it ffs.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 27/04/2015 11:30:58    1717873

royaldunne

Firstly joxer. Absolutely no league game apart from league final should be played in croke park. And yes id take out Leinster semi finals as well. Only final should be played in it, the quarters are open for debate, scrap the whole spring series. I think very few reasonable dubs fans would have a problem with that , its a fair way of doing it.

great idea lets go from crowds of 27,500 and 23,000 for league games to squashing them all into a 10,000 capacity parnell
while showcasing rugby and soccer in croke park instead on the same nights
thats defiantly the best way to promote both the national league and gaelic football to kids

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/04/2015 11:37:57    1717879

27/04/2015 11:30:58
mhunicean_abu
County: Monaghan

Splitting Dublin would only double the problem for the rest of the country as there would then be two super powers to beat instead of one. No matter how much talent Dublin have they can only put out 15 at any given time, and on the day any team can be beaten. The rest of the country have to realise that the structures are in place in Dublin which will keep them at the top indefinitely, whether they are split or not. This didn't happen by accident and is not a cycle, its ordinary people giving up their time to mentor children from 6 onwards, all the funding in the world can't buy that (and good luck to them for doing it)
The likes of Kerry, Cork, Galway, Mayo etc (and indeed most other counties) should be well able to compete going forward if they invest in the juveniles like they do in Dublin. It only takes 25 players of a certain standard and a good manager to be up there. Don't give them two chances at it ffs.

-------

Fair play mhunicean_abu you took the words out of my mouth. Splitting Dublin 4 ways will give you a population about 3 times that of Cork in each area. So you could realistically have 4 Dublin teams in the AI semis, Fingal, DL Rathdown, Dublin City and South Dublin. Great solution alright. While we are at it FIFA should split Brazil into 10 for the next world cup. They have a huge advantage every 4 years!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/04/2015 11:57:29    1717890

I recall Dublin written up as certs for the All Ireland last year and then Donegal came along! There will be a lot of twists in this year's championship, before September.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 27/04/2015 12:02:32    1717894

royaldunne

Firstly joxer. Absolutely no league game apart from league final should be played in croke park. And yes id take out Leinster semi finals as well. Only final should be played in it, the quarters are open for debate, scrap the whole spring series. I think very few reasonable dubs fans would have a problem with that , its a fair way of doing it.

great idea lets go from crowds of 27,500 and 23,000 for league games to squashing them all into a 10,000 capacity parnell
while showcasing rugby and soccer in croke park instead on the same nights
thats defiantly the best way to promote both the national league and gaelic football to kids

Portlaoise has a capacity of 27,000 might promote national games to kids if the game is taking place closer to home?

theroyalpicture (Meath) - Posts: 4 - 27/04/2015 12:05:58    1717896

Just coz we split Cork in two?

Boom, here all day folks

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 27/04/2015 12:12:27    1717899

theroyalpicture
Portlaoise has a capacity of 27,000 might promote national games to kids if the game is taking place closer to home?

why would dublin play their home league games in portlaoise?
how is that closer to home haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/04/2015 12:47:48    1717917

It's 15 men vs 15 men, regardless of the size of population of any county.

Kerry has a significantly smaller population ( At least 10% lower ) than counties like Cork, Meath, Galway, Donegal, Tyrone, Derry, Armagh, Down, Tipperary etc.

Yet they consistently punch above their weight due to better underage structures and coaching methods.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 27/04/2015 12:51:14    1717918

God save us, this old chestnut!!

Dublin are a huge asset to the GAA & without them strutting about the place it would be a greyer & less interesting world.

Much & all as we might deny it, us culchies dream of beating, not Cork, not Kerry, not Mayo or even Donegal, but Dublin on a summer's day in Croke Park.

Long may they continue to spread their own particular form of magic!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/04/2015 12:55:42    1717924

What dominance? Winning 3 leagues in a row and 1 AI in that time?
Cork done that a few years ago, was their dominance ruining GAA?

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 27/04/2015 12:57:26    1717926

Croke park is the associations grounds , that means its as much Carlows meaths Kildare etc as it is Dublin, if Dublin "home" grounds cannot accommodate there league games, that's dublins problem, and i personally think your cb over the last number of years have a lot to answer for, Dublin cb might be better off putting the obscene amount's of money they spending on backroom staff and hundreds of other things to better use upgrading Parnell park or seeking a new green field site, they are only county that could afford to do it on their own. Hill the argument of Parnell not been up to standard is totally bs and a smoke screen, dubs have no interest in playing outside cp as its a huge advantage, if your ground is not suitable for holding league matches then use portlaoise grounds, you shouldn't be using our grounds. And by ours i mean every gael up and down the country, its not Dublins grounds its ours and it is been abused . To answer your question yep id much prefer to see rugby or soccer than to see dubs use it constantly, abusing their position along with the gaa. Enough is enough

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/04/2015 13:19:49    1717943

What dominance a few League titles and 2 All Irelands in 20 years? When they begin to do what Kerry do then you can talk ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/04/2015 13:27:11    1717954

What dominance a few League titles and 2 All Irelands in 20 years? When they begin to do what Kerry do then you can talk ;)

Exactly.

Regarding the Croke Park issue. I always enjoyed going to Parnell for the league games, if they were played there next year I would have no problem at all. I would also love to have Dublin outside of Croker for the opening couple of championship rounds. People have to remember that 99% of Dubs want this but the Leinster Council voted against it. Why? I don't know.
Regarding royaldunne's comment about playing down in Laois, I would disagree with, we should play in Parnell and close the doors when full. It would encourage people to get down early.
But to bring this up in a thread about Dublin's dominance is a bit silly, they are dominating Leinster (not Ireland) because they are the best team and have been consistently for the last decade at least, not because they play all their games in Croker.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 27/04/2015 13:51:56    1717984

thelongridge
County: Offaly

I recall Dublin written up as certs for the All Ireland last year and then Donegal came along! There will be a lot of twists in this year's championship, before September.

Most sensible post on here, Why people allow a little kid on a computer in Antrim wind them up is beyond me.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/04/2015 14:00:10    1717994

Just let me be clear, i don't buy into the whole dominant thing , my only problem is the over use of croke park, i want to see the spring series scrapped, i want to see our main stadium been used for main matches.
The rest of the thread i have no support of.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/04/2015 14:04:08    1717998

mhunicean_abu
County: Monaghan

1717873 Splitting Dublin would only double the problem for the rest of the country as there would then be two super powers to beat instead of one. No matter how much talent Dublin have they can only put out 15 at any given time, and on the day any team can be beaten. The rest of the country have to realise that the structures are in place in Dublin which will keep them at the top indefinitely, whether they are split or not. This didn't happen by accident and is not a cycle, its ordinary people giving up their time to mentor children from 6 onwards, all the funding in the world can't buy that (and good luck to them for doing it)

Fair play on that , I think some of the sourer contributors would hate to give any credit to the people that give their time and effort to producing players who go on to play for the county. Good luck in Ulster.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/04/2015 14:04:21    1717999

3 certainties in life / death taxes and Ulsterman from Antrim whining about some unperceived injustice

His bias is off the chart toward his native province

Get a grip

Elvis1935 (Mayo) - Posts: 46 - 27/04/2015 14:04:22    1718000

Split Dublin in half and they will still win Leinster every year. In fact most years it will be Dublin v Dublin. What good would that be to anyone to deprive a Meath or Kildare the opportunity to take them on in a one off match. It would make it harder for anyone else to win Leinster as they would more than likely have to beat Dublin twice. The same could probably be said for the All Ireland series.

The best 3 teams in the country are Kerry, Dublin and Dublins bench.

fxhvg (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 27/04/2015 14:36:05    1718028

fxhvg

The best 3 teams in the country are Kerry, Dublin and Dublins bench.

-----
Yes but not in that order obviously. :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/04/2015 14:54:45    1718037

Same ol' shite, different day, roll on the Championship :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 27/04/2015 15:15:34    1718046