Dublin dominance ruining the GAA?

royaldunne

Yes without doubt Dublin playing every game in croke park is a advantage and any dub telling you different is a liar .
But apart from that they have a magnificent squad and are worthy fav for Sam, also majority of supporters would love to travel (even with more apprehension than in hq)

-----
I presume you mean every game in the championship in Croke Park? What Dublin games would you have outside of Croker? Aren't the LSFC semis and final in Croker for everyone? Are not the AI quarters, semis and final more often than not in Croker for all counties? So in reality you are asking for Dublin to play one match, LSFC round 1 outside of Croker? So this great 'advantage' can be boiled down to Dublin playing a relatively weak county in Tullamore or Portlaoise? Look if it checks a box for a few begrudgers then fair enough but if it deprives season ticket holders of entrance to the match then no way.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/04/2015 21:22:31    1717736

The Dubs can throw out ridicule and abuse all day long but they still won't address the points I make. I would say that the evidence of Dublin's dominance and the GAA's sole focus on them lies in the current state of Leinster football and the non event that the Leinster Championship has become. This is the way that football is going to go unless some action is taken soon. I would also ask Dublin fans, how do think other counties and fans feel when the see the special treatment that you get or do you even care? Does Dublin success take precedence over the wider GAA? How would you address the imbalance, a wee patronising pat on the head and 'run along now sonny'?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 26/04/2015 21:38:43    1717741

Firstly joxer. Absolutely no league game apart from league final should be played in croke park. And yes id take out Leinster semi finals as well. Only final should be played in it, the quarters are open for debate, scrap the whole spring series. I think very few reasonable dubs fans would have a problem with that , its a fair way of doing it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/04/2015 21:44:18    1717743

The Munster runners-up from last year won the league in 2010, 2011 and 2012. The current league winners have now completed their own league 3 in-a-row. The league is the league. The titles won don't stand out but it's good to win all the same. Anyone calling for the Region to be split since 2011 should not be listened to. Anyone calling for the Region to be split prior to 2011 are basing it more upon the initial time it was suggested in 2001. That was all of 10 years before the capital won the All-Ireland for the first time since 1995.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 26/04/2015 21:45:19    1717745

Meath, Laois, Kildare etc have all suffered over the past 2/3 years and they are continuing to fall away. How is that good?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 26/04/2015 21:51:34    1717753

Ulsterman

The Dubs can throw out ridicule and abuse all day long but they still won't address the points I make. I would say that the evidence of Dublin's dominance and the GAA's sole focus on them lies in the current state of Leinster football and the non event that the Leinster Championship has become. This is the way that football is going to go unless some action is taken soon. I would also ask Dublin fans, how do think other counties and fans feel when the see the special treatment that you get or do you even care? Does Dublin success take precedence over the wider GAA? How would you address the imbalance, a wee patronising pat on the head and 'run along now sonny'?

------
More dross. No facts, no figures (at least real ones) just generalisations. State facts Ulsterman. There is nothing to debate. You haven't made a valid statement all day so there is nothing to be debated. Here are some points for you..... How much did Dublin really get from the development fund last year? How much did Tyrone get? What is the population of each and what is the spend per head of population? What other 'special treatments' do Dublin get? How in God's name can you come to the conclusion that Dublin's success is the cause of other countys' failures in Leinster? Absolutely ludicrous! There is one elite team in each province I would say. Meath, Laois and Kildare fans will give you the cause of their football's demise and I guarantee you not one will blame Dublin or some kind of bias towards Dublin. See the thread 'the demise of Leinster football' started by myself. You haven't mentioned the 'southern media' yet. I'm sure it's coming though and the total bias towards Dublin shown in it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/04/2015 21:56:42    1717760

Ulsterman

Meath, Laois, Kildare etc have all suffered over the past 2/3 years and they are continuing to fall away. How is that good?

-----
Ask their fans why they are suffering. Read 'the demise of Leinster football' thread with comments from people who actually know what they are talking about.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/04/2015 22:00:18    1717764

Have to say Ulsterman, in the years Ive been on this forum your statement is the most ignorent I have ever come accross.Firstly, Dublin teams or their fans DONT decide where Dubs play their matches. Secondly fans have always been glad to travel and do a hell of a lot spending wherever they travel to. Most importantly, if it wssnt for the huge fanbase that our footballers have you may not now have a GAA...we have kept the organisation alive through the dark days of recession and every county is inadvertently benefitting from this.We endured 16 long years without an All Ireland and at one point were strugging to even win Leinster, the current dominence is in recent years and why should any team or their supporters make apologies for winning games by playing FOOTBALL at the highest level and displaying the skills we have all enjoyed watchn for many years unlike your Northern counties who resort to a dire brand of defensive rubbish that nearly puts us all to sleep....You also might want to have a word with the new President, he is from your province, when did you last see a Dublin President?

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 27/04/2015 08:25:03    1717768

Ulsterman, the problem is not Dublin but the others.

Get your structures in place at club level to bring up the juveniles in a clear and structured manner, and with this pipe you produce teams.

Everyone outside Dublin talks about the inter-county team, but they are the tip of a huge iceberg that the DCB has been building for 15-20 years.

Look at the club structures were are under-age teams have 2, 3 or 4+ teams at each level, hurling and football, boys and girls.

Massive work done.

Now let the other counties do the same!!!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 27/04/2015 08:27:02    1717770

Ulsterman can not be taken seriously ,how can he ? I have a long memory and remember exactly what he was posting after our defeat to Donegal , and dominance of the GAA was not it .
Nope he waits in the long grass for a win and comes out with same old stuff .
He says Dubs wont answer his points quite right , I wont, for I will argue the toss with most on here , but not someone who struggles so badly to hide his bias .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 27/04/2015 08:50:59    1717772

Correct Damo!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/04/2015 09:18:44    1717780

This thread is BS!!!! If and When Meath rise again i want us to beat Dublin in front of the Hill. I agree with ALL THE DUBLIN FANS that 1st Round & 1/4 finals of Leinster should be moved out of Croker BUT NOT to make things more even (Because it won't) but to give the Dubs fans what they want and what they Deserve. A nice road trip in the summer. Leinster Counties including my own get a Vote to Take Dublin out of Croker and we all decide not to. Is that Dublins Fault?? Of Course not. With What Dublin has achieved in the past few years it brings up the Question: Why haven't Kerry Been Split in 2 or 3 for that Matter considering the amount of All Irelands they have?? Why has Kilkenny not been Split in 2 after their Dominance in Hurling??? If Meath had of won the All Ireland in 2001 would there have been calls to Split them up as well as that would have been 2 All Irelands in 3 Years??? Tyrone Should have been Split as well as they won AI 2003 & 2005. Come on Seriously get a grip of yourself lads

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 27/04/2015 09:21:38    1717781

Dublin should be split. With its population, how many players are out there in the capital that would be good enough to make a county team in any other county? The population of Blanchardstown alone is about 8000 more than Monaghan at 68000, yet we have been able to make it to a league Semi final. And before i get the 'we compete with other sports in Dublin' argument, so do we in Monaghan, with soccer and rugby. Also we have a sizeable section of the community in Monaghan of about 20% who probably wouldn't have traditionally played Gaelic games, although that is something that thankfully is beginning to change.

So if a county as small as Monaghan can field a team that competes at the highest level, then I think Dublin are doing a disservice to a lot of its GAA members who would like that same opportunity.

I'm not a Dublin basher at all, I actually think the Dublin team is class, its just something to think about.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 27/04/2015 09:38:00    1717790

supermon
County: Monaghan

1717790 Dublin should be split. With its population, how many players are out there in the capital that would be good enough to make a county team in any other county? The population of Blanchardstown alone is about 8000 more than Monaghan at 68000, yet we have been able to make it to a league Semi final. And before i get the 'we compete with other sports in Dublin' argument, so do we in Monaghan, with soccer and rugby. Also we have a sizeable section of the community in Monaghan of about 20% who probably wouldn't have traditionally played Gaelic games, although that is something that thankfully is beginning to change.

So if a county as small as Monaghan can field a team that competes at the highest level, then I think Dublin are doing a disservice to a lot of its GAA members who would like that same opportunity.

I'm not a Dublin basher at all, I actually think the Dublin team is class, its just something to think about.

OMG here we go again with the split Dublin rubbish,its neyer going to happen.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 27/04/2015 09:56:19    1717802

Ulsterman.

I'd like to congratulate you.

For years you've been coming on here dropping the bait down.

and consistently, you have people chomping like Luis Suarez on an opposition defender.

WHY do people keep biting ?

Its incredible, really is

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/04/2015 10:38:42    1717820

I think we any county that achieves any sort of success should be split up just to teach them a lesson.
The cheek of them to put structures in place to develop under age coaching and to bring it to fruition at senior level.They should be punished immediately !!
Roscommon have won 2 league titles in a row. Lets split them. Also Monaghan have had a few good years in the league and championship. Can w split them. Tipp are getting ahead of themselves alos in football. lets pin them back. Same with Kerry in Munster and Mayo in Connaught. Lets split them all up.
My own county have had four u21 titles so we should be split up also.
Kilkenny in hurling - lets split them up too.

What a load of Crap. As with Kilkenny in hurling and Dublin in football, they have set the standard and its up to the rest of us to meet or better it.

I know they have great sponsorship deals, but its down to coaching at underage. The clubs, the schools the county structures. Keeping the kids interested, letting them enjoy the sports and developing their skills.
This doesn't cost a whole lot of money, just hard work , good coaching and patience.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 27/04/2015 10:39:08    1717821

supermon
County: Monaghan

Dublin should be split. With its population, how many players are out there in the capital that would be good enough to make a county team in any other county? The population of Blanchardstown alone is about 8000 more than Monaghan at 68000, yet we have been able to make it to a league Semi final.

So if a county as small as Monaghan can field a team that competes at the highest level....

----
Exactly. You have just put your own argument to bed. Monaghan, Kerry, Donegal all competing with Dublin and with smaller populations. Good point! Oh and should Antrim be split? If not why not? Should not Mayo be split in Connaught? Mayo must have 5 or 6 times the population of Leitrim. Surely Mayo are doing a disservice to their province?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/04/2015 10:39:54    1717824

When Cork won a few league titles recently nobody wanted to split the county in two

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 27/04/2015 10:50:22    1717835

Splitting Dublin will not ever happen - AND shouldnt happen. Dublin's playing numbers ( don't have figures ) etc is not their fault. My only problem is that they play all their games in the same venue . Would they beat Wexford , Meath , Louth , Offaly away from home - probably but they should give it a go. I am not too worried that they will completely dominate because it takes only one massive performance to beat them in a year.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 27/04/2015 11:16:11    1717855

Joxer over a quarter of the population of the country lives in Dublin. Whatever about imbalances in other counties, that's significant. The Dublin county board gets the same funding as other entire provinces boards put together.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 27/04/2015 11:24:43    1717865