Kerry's Systematic Fouling

brian

Heavens above man do you not know you're not allowed say things like that about Mayo???
Mayo are great at starting things and then crying when someone does it better.....
Sure they're stilling crying over 96 and how Meath got Liam McHale sent off?? The fact he ran for 40 yards away to get involved had nothing to do with it!!!! Or the fact the blew a six point lead in both games had nothing to do with it either!!!!!
NO its was because Meath got McHale sent off that they lost!!!!

I'd get upset, but frankly, Meath aren't worth getting annoyed about these days. Funny how McHale was picked out of a thirty man ruck, all the same...

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 16/04/2015 16:42:46    1714852

Years ago Kerry supporters would looked their nose at grafters like Galvin,Mike Geaney and Donnacha Walsh .now these are now key components of new system/blanket defense

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 16/04/2015 16:47:42    1714855

MuckrossHead

The donegal loads going on the ultra defensive would want to chill out. It isn't a criticism of donegal it is an illustration of how brolly is full of sh**e

This isn't about us going ultra defensive, it's about your never ending habit of rewriting history.

Brolly exposed Mayo's cynical fouling in 2012 & Maurice Deegan put a stop to it early on by flashing a few yellow cards.

You have never forgiven him for this, which is your right, but it does become boring after 3 years.

It's funny how Brolly ignored similar fouling totals in some of Donegal's championship matches that year, eh? But he was keen on them then, not so sure about now. Mayo were the devils incarnate in his eyes back in 2012 and now we're the only side still trying to play football, apparently.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 16/04/2015 16:48:51    1714856

Gleebo

We can all play that game: who was it that got sent off for stamping in the 2013 All-Ireland quarter final again? Bit of selective memory loss, have we? Your hyperbole about the first half of that game is simply ridiculous, as if Donegal go round giving out sweets.

Getting back on topic, I didn't offer an opinion in the OP, but I wouldn't say that Kerry are particularly noteworthy in the cynicism stakes. Cynical, yes, but then, so are all of the top teams, at certain times and to a lesser or greater extent.

Its not hyperbole - that's just what happened. You should watch the game back and you will see. Yeah McGee did get sent off in that game in 2013 fair enough at least he got punished for what he did.

supporter (Donegal) - Posts: 205 - 16/04/2015 17:14:58    1714863

Years ago Kerry supporters would looked their nose at grafters like Galvin,Mike Geaney and Donnacha Walsh .now these are now key components of new system/blanket defense

To dismiss a player of Galvin's ability as a grafter says all you need to know about your average Corkman's knowledge of Gaelic football.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/04/2015 17:21:40    1714865

The best team at fouling has to be the dubs they have mastered the half foul to perfection, they get a hand on a shoulder pull him back and let go. The ref will never blow the free. The player is slowed down and dublin can then get numbers in to dispose. I have seen it in both games against Monaghan. The upper body strength of the dubs players is key to this tactic.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 16/04/2015 18:22:21    1714890

16/04/2015 18:22:21
shaggylegend
County: Monaghan

The best team at fouling has to be the dubs they have mastered the half foul to perfection, they get a hand on a shoulder pull him back and let go. The ref will never blow the free. The player is slowed down and dublin can then get numbers in to dispose. I have seen it in both games against Monaghan. The upper body strength of the dubs players is key to this tactic.

Yeah,that's probably what cost ye an 11 point loss in Clones and a 17 point loss last August. Those pesky fouls that the refs just don't see. Well spotted though.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 16/04/2015 19:00:11    1714897

shaggylegend

-----
Ah I see. Introduce a new rule now, the 'half' foul. That will stop the Dubs and compensate for our drubbings in Clones and Croke Park last year. I've a better idea. If your Dublin you can only have 5 players. That should work.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/04/2015 19:24:49    1714906

Important we all understand the ground rules here on the HS. Criticism by Brolly of Tír Eoghain is fair comment but no more than a rant when aimed at the aristocrats of Ciarraí or lesser lights of Maigh Eo.
The data is there for anyone with an objective view. In fairness, I seen the Ciarraí All Ireland win coming last year and piled on at the quarter final (Most of my mates thought I was nuts no Gooch, Galvin, Tomás). I was amazed they were being written off by so many particularly when I'd seen O'Donoghue at first hand who's the most devastating forward I've seen in years. The other factor in my confidence was their ability to foul and get away with it. The most potent aspect I'd noticed and never heard it commented on was their 'Choke tackle'. The choke tackle was executed mainly by Buckley, Donnacha Walsh and Anthony Maher. Initially time is bought usually by Walsh who'll drops legs onto the stricken player then he backs off and the other 2 join and form a circle with legs bent and arms outstretched. There really is no way out of this for any player caught in the web they are seriously imposing players and committed to it.
At close hand in Omagh I was astounded by the universally executed to perfection of hold, pull back, release, arms outstretched which totally kills any momentum or breaks. Again the physicality of Ciarraí makes this a very potent deterrent to counter attacks or the running game. It really is the finest cynical machine I've ever witnessed.
Now for the usual ah...Nordies blah blah .. The foul count against Doire and Tir Eoghain backs it up. In fact in Omagh because of the sophistication of this it should have been much worse.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 16/04/2015 19:25:00    1714907

shaggylegend

-----
Ah I see. Introduce a new rule now, the 'half' foul. That will stop the Dubs and compensate for our drubbings in Clones and Croke Park last year. I've a better idea. If your Dublin you can only have 5 players. That should work.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/04/2015 19:26:03    1714908

Every county does it.

I wouldn't call Donnacha Walsh a grafter either. A very underrated player who would get on any county team.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 16/04/2015 19:26:33    1714909

Donnacha Walsh very lucky to stay on the field in a few of last years championship games, while the tackle in gaelic football needs to be defined, many of Donnacha's tackles would defy definition, ask Aidan O'Shea, who was slapped repeatedly around the head by Walsh who was already on a yellow.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 16/04/2015 19:50:41    1714916

Gleebo

MuckrossHead

The donegal loads going on the ultra defensive would want to chill out. It isn't a criticism of donegal it is an illustration of how brolly is full of sh**e

This isn't about us going ultra defensive, it's about your never ending habit of rewriting history.

Brolly exposed Mayo's cynical fouling in 2012 & Maurice Deegan put a stop to it early on by flashing a few yellow cards.

You have never forgiven him for this, which is your right, but it does become boring after 3 years.

It's funny how Brolly ignored similar fouling totals in some of Donegal's championship matches that year, eh? But he was keen on them then, not so sure about now. Mayo were the devils incarnate in his eyes back in 2012 and now we're the only side still trying to play football, apparently.

Nothing to do with the number of fouls it was the nature of Mayo's speciality, the block on the man running, that Brolly highlighted, and proper order too.

Mayo tried it on in the final but Maurice Deegan was having none of it, fair play to him.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/04/2015 20:04:17    1714920

Brolly jumps on whatever bandwagon he sees fit why anyone would take it seriously is beyond me. He is a headline junkie and will throw out any old line to make the news - he is a tabloid journalist after all. Where do you start?

1. Gooch is a choker
2. Kerry are finished
3. Donegal have ruined football - preceeded by Jim McGuiness is a Zen master who has reinvented football
4. Mickey Harte is a cheat - preceeded by Mickey Harte is a genius
5. Mayo should double mark O Donaghue (after last years quarter final) followed by Horan is a fool for double marking O Donaghue (half time in all ireland semi)

There are numerous unfounded insulting comments thrown around by Brolly all over the place just for the craic. In fairness to him he does have a good ability to analyse a game if you can see through the over blown rhetoric. He is there for the entertainment not for the analysis. One thing he is good at is keeping Football in the news and as a point of discussion around the country. The GAA do so little to promote football on the TV (how often to you see an ad for a specific game) or radio that Brolly is needed.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1125 - 17/04/2015 08:54:07    1714972

How many people have read the article, instead of the op thread.
Brolly is dead right to highlight it ,Spillane does be on his high horse lambasting Ulster teams. I dont think Joe is having a go at Kerry he is showing what they are do. Kerry remind me now of a bit like Donegal in 2012 , very hard to beat , catch you on the counter ,with very good players who know how to slow down the game and if you are to be fouled do it in the right areas.
Every top team will put in hours of training trying to perfect some form of turnover(fouling on the edge) to opposition when they have the ball.
Dublin, Kerry, Donegal ,Mayo , Tyrone . no different.
Some teams with better players who have more percentage of possession in a game wont have to do it as often ,so are percieved as been the fouled against and playing it the right way, but they will do it also to get the ball back.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 17/04/2015 09:43:44    1714983

All teams are ultra defensive now. The Mayo v Donegal league game which so many have mentioned from Donegal contained fouling and pulling by BOTH teams and was a dreadful match. The thing is Donegal, Tyrone and now Kerry and to a lesser extent Dublin are perfecting this type of game and can generally do it the right way (if you can call it that) but we in Mayo are not good at tis type of game and have to resort to pulling the man down, I don't like to see us doing it but there you go we do as does most teams. Problem is we don't do it at the right times ie the last play v Cork and Donegal are perfect examples were we let leads slip.

I think Mayo are probably the best team at overturning a ball when its one on one but we are leaving too much space behind our half back line which make good fast counter attacking teams like Donegal pick us off at will. Add to that our limited number of class forwards and our famine will sadly continue.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 17/04/2015 10:16:48    1714994

2003 the virus was born in Kerry Tyrine SF PUKEITIS - spread like wildfire until it reached it's most virulent forum with Donegal. PUKEITIS SEVERA - The skilful teams used a less virulent vaccine otherwise skill and talent would have been constantly nullified and left the patients like Galway Mayo Kerry Cork Dublin permanently sick. The virus is so strong it can return as Tyrone have caught it again. A cousin of the disease is an OCD complex about Kerry's soft all Ireland's and another more common side effect is Northitis where Ukster teams claim there's skme vendetta and conspiracy past the border

Elvis1935 (Mayo) - Posts: 46 - 17/04/2015 10:37:50    1715009

Brolly needs to fill up his papaer space.

Whenever he has a chance he has a barb at kerry. leading up to AI last year he was full of praise of Donegal and how Kerry would not be ble to handle the ssytem.
Well Kerry played Donegal at their own system and after the AI Brolly was critical that Kerry steeped to that level.
So really Brolly pardon the pun uses a brolly to keep the rain off some teams and uses the same brolly to beat others (like Kerry) over the head!!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 17/04/2015 10:57:47    1715018

Elvis1935

2003 the virus was born in Kerry Tyrine SF PUKEITIS - spread like wildfire until it reached it's most virulent forum with Donegal. PUKEITIS SEVERA - The skilful teams used a less virulent vaccine otherwise skill and talent would have been constantly nullified and left the patients like Galway Mayo Kerry Cork Dublin permanently sick. The virus is so strong it can return as Tyrone have caught it again. A cousin of the disease is an OCD complex about Kerry's soft all Ireland's and another more common side effect is Northitis where Ukster teams claim there's skme vendetta and conspiracy past the border

Might need s vaccine for you to help with your spelling .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 17/04/2015 10:59:18    1715019

Ultimately, when Brolly, O'rourke, or Spillane go out and manage an inter county side, I will listen. At the moment, they are analyzing from a very safe distance, and can afford to change their story whenever they like or whenever they want to stimulate sales. When you are a manager, you dont have this luxury, and you have to lie down in the bed you have made, and most importantly, read what other Brollys are writing about your efforts on a weekly basis.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 17/04/2015 11:13:40    1715027