Soccer & Rugby Return To Croke Park

How useless are the IRFU/FAI so? waste millions of taxpayers money on a stadium thats effectively useless, and theyre only using it because they have to fullfill some money-grabbing clause. The next time you complain about the GAA you should spare a thought for these inept jokers

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 16/04/2015 11:00:23    1714720

So just to be clear. In over 100 years the Rugby Union headquarters at Twickenham has never played host to even one soccer match. Not even one. Not even to offer a helping hand when Wembley was being rebuilt?

mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 16/04/2015 13:39:11    1714790

Ok so mediaman isn't interested in engaging in conversation with any other posters, just types up rubbish and seemingly responds only to his comments, shades of your fellow countryman Ian Paisley there I have to say.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/04/2015 14:14:06    1714801

15/04/2015 21:44:42 GreenandRed
'Apparently' that sums up most of your posts. No facts, just opinion, usually negative, presented as the truth.
Who are you referring to?
16/04/2015 11:00:23
flack
How useless are the IRFU/FAI so? waste millions of taxpayers money on a stadium thats effectively useless, and theyre only using it because they have to fullfill some money-grabbing clause. The next time you complain about the GAA you should spare a thought for these inept jokers
IRFU are not inept. The Aviva wasn't a waste of millions and isn't "effectively useless". How is it? Aviva is as big as it could be on the Lansdowne road site and it was best option rather than a greenfield site.
IRFU are not jokers either
16/04/2015 13:39:11 mediaman
So just to be clear. In over 100 years the Rugby Union headquarters at Twickenham has never played host to even one soccer match. Not even one. Not even to offer a helping hand when Wembley was being rebuilt?
Is their not 00s of stadiums in England that could have been used and would have been used ahead of a rugby union ground. Do you know for sure Twickenham never offered or was looked at when Wembley was rebuilt?
Rugby union only been played in Wembley in recent years with Saracens paying big enough €€€s for use of ground...

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/04/2015 14:14:08    1714802

mediaman

Please read the 2 articles in my previous post - as previously advised it would appear that not having soccer in twickenham had nothing to do with the RFU

Not even to offer a helping hand when Wembley was being rebuilt? They hosted rugby league challenge cup finals during this time - they usually take place in wembley, according to the wikipedia twickenham page Due to the construction delays of Wembley, a number of scheduled events at Wembley were moved to Twickenham. The Challenge Cup and the Rolling Stones' A Bigger Bang Tour concerts were taken to Twickenham -- looks to me they offered a helping hand

Do you hate rugby?

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/04/2015 14:43:02    1714813

Because if it werent for the naming rights contract, both would prefer to rent out their "rivals" stadium (croker) than use their own for free. Thats useless, and a waste of our money ( i wouldnt mind if it was their own, but they are too useless to raise that too). If theyt couldnt make it bigger where it was they should have moved site

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 16/04/2015 15:00:40    1714818

personally i think Arsenal should resign arshavin as he is a good player, tomas rosicky does not cut the grave for me. WengerOUT RedknappIN

galgetno3 (Down) - Posts: 2 - 16/04/2015 15:06:58    1714823

flack

1714715 Soma
County: UK

Not sure about elevating one set of supporters above the other. A British writer famously said that a bomb at Twickenham on international match day would end fascism in England for a generation!

Youll find ten times as much at any given Leeds/chelsea/west ham,etc game than at twickenham

You can add in Millwall and Stoke as well.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 16/04/2015 16:03:47    1714836

Seán Kelly is a past master at generating publicity. I remember at the GAA Congress in Cork in 2009 when a photograph was being taken in the grounds of the hotel on the Saturday morning. It was of people wearing their county colours. Seán was in the colours of the Kingdom in the back row. Just as the photo was to be taken Seán shouted to "hold a minute" and ran to the hotel door. Back he came immediately and stood himself right in the centre of the front row. With the MEP elections due in July, a few months later, the prominence in the newspapers the following day showing Seán most prominently didn't do his chances of election any harm.

ballagoballa (UK) - Posts: 49 - 16/04/2015 19:03:42    1714899

Remembar Flack that millions of taxpayers money went into the Croke Park redeveoplement too. The GAA did not pay for all of it themselves.

If it made money for both the IRFU/FAI and the GAA surely it would make sense to use Croke Park.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 16/04/2015 19:16:23    1714902

We do still own Croke Park? Don't we?

mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 16/04/2015 19:18:18    1714904

I know that county man. But at least they did it right, the money wasnt wasted. Besides they got way way less, both overall and as a proportion of the spend

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 16/04/2015 20:45:14    1714939

RUgby could fill the stadium for four matches only: England and France every second year, Wales in between and then when the All blacks are in town. Thats it.
Soccer matches cant even fill Lansdowne (some would struggle to fill Parnell Park).

All a mute discussion really but if we are going to discussion hypothetical situations, how about this:

1. Let the IRFU use Croke Park whenever they want (Heineken Cup finals, World Cups, internationals etc)
2. Use the additional money generated to demolish the bath avenue end of the aviva, lenghten the pitch for GAA matches and let the GAA use it for matches which would only half fill Croker (League matches and early Leinster championship games for Dublin)

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 17/04/2015 09:10:03    1714975

would be a bit of a problem going back to having six nations matches in croker
they take place the same time as spring series games for dublin
would be a bit crazy to go backwards and lose promoting gaa and allow rugby promote itself on that stage
you might make some money in the short term but if your putting rugby on show to even more
you will run the risk of loosing more people in the long term from gaa to rugby

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/04/2015 11:41:01    1715036

Lads with Windsor park falling to pieces should we not extend the hand of friendship to the norn iron team?Now that would set pulses racing:-)

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 17/04/2015 14:04:22    1715085

Agree totally hill16, i think the GAA shot themselves in the foot a bit, id say they lost a fair few players to soccer/rugby on the back of the big matches they had on in croker, which lends itself to a far more spectacular occaision than ladsdowne or aviva did/do. Anyway that door cant be easily bolted now, I imagine when the aviva deal is up the foreign sports will be allowed back in (cap in hand and tail between legs) with little or no opposition. Hopefully they can help to finish off the last part, as croker does look rank from the air

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 17/04/2015 16:03:09    1715117

About time people began to cop on about this. Rugby should not be let within 100 miles of any gaa stadium. Whereas us gaa people on occasions watch a bit of eggball those snobs with the exception of some decent limerick or cork men turn their nose up at our superior sport. A gang of lads many of whom dont even acknowledge our state taking up residence in a stadium with the history of croke park. Cue ormonde and the other west brits now telling us that We should forget our history.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 17/04/2015 18:45:52    1715147

sceptical

What's wrong with british people? why use their nationally in a derogatory term to express your hatred for a certain sport while at the same time highlighting your insecurity about being Irish.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/04/2015 19:07:53    1715151

I have no insecurity about my irishness. The great sceptical has a perfectly Formed irish accent and is proud of his country. Your thinking of those lunster idiots with theie funny accents and aversion to all things traditionally irish. Nothing against the British either i do however hate the eclipse of our identity driven by an elitist media.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 17/04/2015 19:46:53    1715160

Ha ok fair enough.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/04/2015 19:54:41    1715162