NHL Semi Finals

If the ball hits the corner flag its a sideline cut no matter what side of the flag the ball goes out. Now it looked like it hit the flag but im not 100% sure.

PullHard7 (Waterford) - Posts: 53 - 19/04/2015 17:59:35    1715486

Rockies

Dublin will put it up to Kilkenny in Leinster.

That's if they get a chance to play them. They can only meet in the final.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 19/04/2015 18:05:42    1715491

PullHard7

I don't think it did hit the flag. If you look at the post as it went out, it didn't move at all. The flag moved, but I think it was just a gust of wind. But it didn't look like it hit the actual pole of the flag at all. At least, that's what it looked like to me.
In any case, it doesn't really matter, Waterford deserved their win, and I think they're going to become more confident and improve with every game. This years championship could be better than 2013's.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 19/04/2015 18:35:05    1715502

It was a 65 but makes no real difference I said here durning the week Waterford would win, Tipp could not of recovered in time after week in Spain of training none stop for seven days and the amount of injuries.Anyway the most disappointing thing out of the game today was the style that Waterford play it's just terrible to watch, that will not work come championship, it will not work even next day against Cork.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 19/04/2015 18:36:06    1715503

Not sore blackrickeddie, but your disniissive tone came back to bite you. Not handy at all. Ok cork won, but you were way off in your pre match dismissive attitude.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 19/04/2015 18:38:46    1715504

Marlon_JD
County: Tipperary

I'm just wary that the final will be treated as a dress rehearsal for the Munster semi, and we might get some shadowboxing. Hope I'm wrong, and we get a replay of the 2004 Munster final (could happen).

I'm sure both teams will be keen to get their hands on some silverware

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 19/04/2015 18:56:34    1715513

Was at the game, cannot believe the Cork management persist with Cahalane at full back. He is far too loose and gets turned away too easy. Responsible for Dublins first goal. Can't see Dublin going too far this year. Their forwards need to be more clinical. Dublin really only have themselves to blame for losing this game. The ref made poor calls for both sides. Dublin deserved to get punished a lot of the time with their overly robust challenges and tackling high with the hurley. i think the linesman called a wrong sideline ball in Corks favour towards the very end of the game. Neither side look overly convincing.

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 19/04/2015 19:19:11    1715519

I was at games as well, thought the ref gave a few soft frees to both sides, don't think he robbed Dublin. Dublin had the chances to win the game, Cork struggled with Dublin's physicality, they are nice enough ball players but are not tough enough to win an All Ireland. I agree with the Bull, Cahalane at full back is a liability. Dublin are not far away from having a very decent team, you need the breaks if they get them, they will be a formidable side in the Championship.
In second game Waterford wanted it more and were deserving winners. Tipp gave away 3 silly points at start of game, the first one, where a back could have easily cleared it, opted to hit it back to keeper instead and put it out for a seventy, was particularly stupid. At the time I said to the guy next to me, I hope they're not beaten by a point after that.
Waterford could be the surprise package of this year's Championship.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 19/04/2015 20:24:05    1715539

Lads not a hope Waterford will trouble any of the big guns hurling like that, once the hurling gets faster and snappy they won't be able to play like Donegal and the sad thing is they have some of the finest young hurlers. I hope they go back and re think there style of hurling. It has really annoyed me today that this has crept into hurling. At one stage I counted 12 Waterford players back inside there own half not counting the keeper.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 19/04/2015 21:05:03    1715570

Fair play to.Waterford lads. I think we all thought tipp would prevail no matter what. Imagine a 1b team won it out now. It could easily happen

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2689 - 19/04/2015 21:41:54    1715581

therealtmo, thats it keep writing us off

PullHard7 (Waterford) - Posts: 53 - 19/04/2015 21:54:35    1715587

Arrrghhh

That is all.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/04/2015 08:24:17    1715595

Sheedy, thanks for the HONEST comments , had a Dubs poster written them we'd have been accused of being sore loosers....you are dead right, the REF won the game for Cork today. Let them be under no illusion about winning an AI. They wont get it as handy in other games. Dublin were robbed today, end of.....the amount of pulling and dragging and blatent fouling in general that Cork got away with just beggars belief.

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 20/04/2015 09:27:39    1715619

Two very entertaining matches in Nowlan Park yesterday. Dublin should have won the first one and had the ref been fair they would have. He should have given Dublin a late free but instead Cork went up the field and scored the winning point. Many Dublin players and officials showed their annoyance with the ref after the final whistle. You could hardly blame them.

Waterford did what most would never have expected. Even with their much publicised defensive type game I would have expected Tipp, with an abundance of talent, to break them down. Mind you talent isn't enough, you must have work rate and Tipp showed, once again, that they lack work rate when put under pressure. I posted here previously that Tipp persistently foul but to a large extent have been getting away with it. Barry Kelly had his home work done and was on the ball yesterday. He punished this persistent fouling, big time. It was somewhat amazing that Tipp found the need to foul so much in the backs considering they had more players back there to defend due to Waterford pulling back players.

Delighted for Waterford and hope they go all the way now. Can't beat hunger and passion.

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 20/04/2015 09:40:23    1715626

Disappointing loss for Dublin,snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.We played some good hurling in 1st half but i always felt Cork were still in it and the rebels timed their late comeback brilliantly.Cork have made a habit of coming strong late in games in recent years - Waterford in Thurles 2 years back,All Irelands v Clare,Munster Final v Limerick last year.Their characher cannot be questioned.On the other hand Dublin will need to be cuter in closing out a game with such a big lead.2 good teams.Plenty to look forward to.
Waterford were well up for this game.They were nearly at championship intensity.Very impressive fitness levels.Tipp were worn down and beaten by the better team.Paul Curran. Thanks for your service,but its time to part ways.C O Mahony fared little better.His best days are behind him.If either of these 2 start championship for Tipp they are in trouble.Tipps age old problem of their forwards not being able to win primary possession in the air came back to haunt them again.Bonnar was non existant after his early goal.Forde once again was largely ineffectual taken off.Niall O Meara fell away after a promising start.Gearoid Ryan didnt do himself any favours with his stupid 5 yard sidelines near the death which led to a Waterford free out being awarded.Still though,im not sure another League Final,was a massive thing for Tipp.If they happened to lose the final v Cork that would be an unwanted record equalling 3 League Final lossess in a row.Tipp can concentrate on Limerick now.Breen and R Maher look solid.Barry is back.Bergin,Barret,J McGrath to come back in.Noel McGrath massive loss.Tipp have a deep squad and will be there or thereabouts later in year.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 20/04/2015 10:05:19    1715641

All I can say is that the ref didn't favour one team over the other OVERALL. For periods he appeared to favour one team and then for other periods he would appear to favour the other. Cork got about three frees that were easy to score; all the others were from distance and angles and needed a good free-taker to convert. Thank God we have one.

Who knows what is a free and what isn't in the world of Mr McGrath? In the second game Barry Kelly gave a more consistence performance.

I thought Cork were extremely poor for most of the game and they obviously won't win any title unless they can be more consistent. As for Dublin, they have a problem with concentration. They had enough chances to win the game yesterday, but I think their nerve failed at the crucial time. It happens. In the league game against Tipperary, Cork also had a twelve point lead early in the second half, but froze as Tipp began to make their way back into the game. Cork supporters weren't happy then and it's understandable that Dublin supporters aren't happy now.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 20/04/2015 10:33:25    1715656

Two decent games yesterday.I thought Dublin were the most impressive team when they were on top i.e. for 75% of their game.Cork definitely had the "rub of the green" when it came to the ref which was crucial given that they have possibly the best free taker in hurling.
Dubs are my dark horses for McCarthy, if they could tighten up a bit defensively they would be much more than dark horses.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 20/04/2015 12:29:07    1715705

Dublin were definitely more impressive than Cork yesterday but somehow contrived to lose....hats off to Cork, for hanging in there! What's the story with Danny Sutcliffe at the moment? He was a loss, surely. Fair play to Waterford also on a magnificent display. What odds before the NHL on a Division 1B team winning the league?!?!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 20/04/2015 12:52:11    1715716

It was a great comeback and a great win but cork really need to get more consistent.They were very poor for 3/4 of that match except for Horgan he was unreal.I don't think I heard walshs name until he stepped up right at the end cadegon was nonexistent and I think he's a great player and our full back line were roasted which is a serious problem on the second goal it looked like they got out of his way to let him score.Id love to see them win Liam we have some fantastic players but they need to step it up a bit I guess it's good to do it in April hopefully not in August like last year.

Corkny (Cork) - Posts: 16 - 20/04/2015 13:33:24    1715728

I should have said Tipp can concentrate on Limerick or Clare.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 20/04/2015 14:52:22    1715759