Cork and Donegal show how to score from distance

joeteor

"McBrearty in particular, pity he doesn't play for his native county ;)"

haha well swap him for MDMA

Really??!!

Jaysus I'd take that deal everyday of the week!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 12/04/2015 20:07:53    1713422

Done!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 12/04/2015 20:28:40    1713430

fair play to the 4 teams today. 2 very enjoyable games. reports on the death of Gaelic football are somewhat premature

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 12/04/2015 21:25:48    1713471

Dubs never got out of second gear today but a win is a win. 3 out of 3 now against Monaghan and undefeated this year so far against the blanket must be pleasing for Gavin. Looking forward to a good game against Cork now. They were superb against Donegal today who themselves I thought played quite well.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 12/04/2015 21:36:25    1713482

The irony of a Dublin fan talking about playing 'against the blanket' when Dublin have been playing that way ALL season. It's The Emperors New Clothes' again with the Dubs, totally in denial about their own team's defensive system but hey say it often enough and the salivating, lapdog media will print it for you.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 12/04/2015 21:41:00    1713489

If Donegal fans think Sam is on the way in 2015 then they need to take off the rose coloured glasses, they have a lot of work to do, they weren't great today but were awful against Mayo and should have beaten out the gate but Mayo fell asleep like they used to do before the Horan era, I had Dublin down for the AllIreland final but on todays game I have my doubts, it's still Cork, Dublin, Kerry for the title and at the moment I'd say Cork. Donegal may and I say may make the August bank holiday quarterfinals but Mayo won't make it past the qualifiers

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 12/04/2015 21:51:33    1713500

joeteor

"McBrearty in particular, pity he doesn't play for his native county ;)"

haha well swap him for MDMA

No we won't!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/04/2015 08:13:48    1713511

riverboys

If Donegal fans think Sam is on the way in 2015 then they need to take off the rose coloured glasses, they have a lot of work to do, they weren't great today but were awful against Mayo and should have beaten out the gate but Mayo fell asleep like they used to do before the Horan era, I had Dublin down for the AllIreland final but on todays game I have my doubts, it's still Cork, Dublin, Kerry for the title and at the moment I'd say Cork. Donegal may and I say may make the August bank holiday quarterfinals but Mayo won't make it past the qualifiers

Ah riverboys will you give it a rest!!

Yesterday or the game against Mayo will have no bearing on the championship.

Last year Donegal were well beaten by Monaghan in the Div 2 league final & yet went on to the AI final.

Yes, they have work to do but then so does everyone else.

The year starts here.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/04/2015 08:18:21    1713512

Ulsterman

1713489 The irony of a Dublin fan talking about playing 'against the blanket' when Dublin have been playing that way ALL season. It's The Emperors New Clothes' again with the Dubs, totally in denial about their own team's defensive system but hey say it often enough and the salivating, lapdog media will print it for you.

No pleasing you , when we play champagne football your on giving it socks , when we go defensive you give it socks , the media may wax lyrical about the Dubs , but hey with your anti Dub bile on every post , theres some balance in the world order .
Ive called you out time and again and will continue you to do so , your bitter predictable and twist everything with chip on the shoulder glasses , In fairness you are the most consistent poster on here , allways keeping it anti blue .
So did you enjoy how we played last year ?
Did you post anything positive last year ?
Or are you more delighted with our version of the blue blanket ?

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/04/2015 08:36:36    1713516

riverboys if Cork win the AI this year I'll eat my hat.

I don't think I've ever seen a nicer game of football than that yesterday. There was hardly a glove laid on an opposition player.
Cork have some brilliant inside forwards who definitely need close watching, but I would be reasonably confident that a fully intense Donegal with big Neil in the middle would be a match for Cork later in the year.

It amazes me how year on year teams are almost written off after league football. Last year Donegal were written off after the league final defeat against Monaghan. Even when the dog in the street knew that the Donegal lads were doing training sessions at the time that would likely kill any of us.

The Championship is just around the corner so we'll know more for definite after the Tyrone game.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 13/04/2015 13:32:20    1713714

Damo
Dublin, just like Donegal can't do any good in some peoples eyes. We played open, attacking football yesterday and are criticised for not being defensive enough yet if we went blanket for the 70 we would be lambasted for that. Some people hate the badge and not the product!!
For what its worth I think Dublin can play the attacking game fairly well and can also defend in numbers fairly well but their transition from blanket defence to attack needs work. They were very laboured at times to get into the opposition half and gave Monaghan time to get back. Gavin will have used the league to try out new things but this years championship will be a real test of his managerial qualities!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 13/04/2015 13:51:32    1713724

MuckrossHead

Dublin 197 handpasses against 53 kick passes.

Disgraceful, end of the game as we know it...............

-----
In fairness Muck when you are faced with a 14 man brick wall it's difficult to kick your way around it. As Brian McIver said, it stops football. He is right. I would bet that Dublin had a higher percentage of possession and I would bet that most of that hand passing was lateral around Monaghan's 45 looking for a way through the wall.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/04/2015 15:13:16    1713769

Tir Conaill Abu

Damo
Dublin, just like Donegal can't do any good in some peoples eyes. We played open, attacking football yesterday and are criticised for not being defensive enough yet if we went blanket for the 70 we would be lambasted for that. Some people hate the badge and not the product!!
For what its worth I think Dublin can play the attacking game fairly well and can also defend in numbers fairly well but their transition from blanket defence to attack needs work. They were very laboured at times to get into the opposition half and gave Monaghan time to get back. Gavin will have used the league to try out new things but this years championship will be a real test of his managerial qualities!!

----
I thought Donegal were excellent going forward at times although it still pains me to see Murphy operating around his own 45. Donegal's problem yesterday was that Cork brought them out. Cork patiently passed laterally around the halfway, drew Donegal out and then popped the passes into the spaces behind for the goals. That defensive tactic is problematic when you are chasing a game and the opposition plays keep ball outside your 45. The defensive setup relies on a high percentage of turnover ball and this will only happen when the other team are rushing headlong into 3 man tackles or they are taking potshots from outside the 45. Once Cork went ahead with a few points to spare they kept the ball out on the halfway which was exactly what they needed to do. People banging on about 4 teams playing the blanket have to understand that Donegal and Monaghan counterattack in big numbers once they turn the ball over so the opposition have to try and pile players back to defend against it.

Two decent matches though yesterday with plenty of excellent scoring.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/04/2015 15:26:23    1713777

Yeah Joxer. It made it easy for Cork when we sat back but it was good to see Rory Gallagher putting Murphy at the edge of the square for the last 15 mins. The problem with leaving him there all day is that its too easy for the opposition. They just double mark him! When he comes in and out it keeps the opposition guessing. Not too many full back follow him outfield so he causes problems out there and then he goes back in when they start to nullify him out there. I still believe that is the quality of ball going into him is good enough it won't matter if there is two or three on him and if there is then Mc Brearty should have more room and he can do as much damage!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 13/04/2015 15:43:34    1713785

I turned on the TV yesterday to catch a bit of the gaelic. Unfortunately I turned it on during the Cork Donegal match to see Cork hand-passing the ball back and forth across their own half-back line. I can only assume that the Donegal 15 were between Cork's half-back line and Donegal's goal. I watched the hand-passed go back and forth, 80 metres from the opponent's goal for a couple of minutes, punctuated by runners from the Cork half taking the ball forwards by exchanging hand passes with their team mates. I turned it off after 2 minutes of this.

Based on this I'd say the following:
1. Gaelic has become Olympic handball with kicking
2. Soccer is in fact now more entertaining than gaelic
3. Australia will wipe the floor with us in the next international rules
4. I won't have to bother watching any gaelic for a long time

In short it was such dire bilge, I can only agree with Spillane and Burns. Can someone bring back the game which was actually skillful and quick?

MJHOGAN (Dublin) - Posts: 1 - 13/04/2015 15:50:18    1713789

MJHOGAN

I think you should look closer to home before posting about the same thing over and over. Dublin are as defensive if not more than Donegal this year!!!
Change the Record and get on with it, (P.S) If Dublin are as good as you think they are through your Blue Tinted Glasses you will come out on top ;)
C ya in September :)

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 13/04/2015 16:09:56    1713800

MJHogan

1. No it hasn't, there was some exceptional high fielding, long range scores and excellent foot passing by all teams yesterday.
2. Watch soccer then if you feel its more entertaining. Hope you enjoy all those high scoring games!!
3. Who really cares about the international rules, I mean like really cares!!
4. Thats great, just another moaner we won't have to see with silly posts!!

You switched on a game of little significance at a stage of the game when Cork had it won and Donegal were happy to allow that to happen. Wow you can pick your moments!! Congratulations!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 13/04/2015 16:10:28    1713802

letterkennyGuy

MJHOGAN

I think you should look closer to home before posting about the same thing over and over. Dublin are as defensive if not more than Donegal this year!!!
Change the Record and get on with it, (P.S) If Dublin are as good as you think they are through your Blue Tinted Glasses you will come out on top ;)
C ya in September :)

----
He only has 1 post to his name or am I seeing things and didn't mention Dublin once just the state of the game in general. Not sure where the blue tinted glass comment is coming from. This looks like a troll. He/she probably isn't even from Dublin.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/04/2015 17:37:42    1713831

Tir Conaill Abu

Yeah Joxer. It made it easy for Cork when we sat back but it was good to see Rory Gallagher putting Murphy at the edge of the square for the last 15 mins. The problem with leaving him there all day is that its too easy for the opposition. They just double mark him! When he comes in and out it keeps the opposition guessing. Not too many full back follow him outfield so he causes problems out there and then he goes back in when they start to nullify him out there. I still believe that is the quality of ball going into him is good enough it won't matter if there is two or three on him and if there is then Mc Brearty should have more room and he can do as much damage!!

------
Yeah true enough. IMO a full forward line of Murphy, McBrearty and McFadden is probably the best out there at the minute so plenty of artillery to clock up the scores and this has been shown in the past couple of games. Cork got inside way too easily in the second half yesterday though. They played sensibly once they went 2 and 3 points up. Jim Gavin take note!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/04/2015 17:46:15    1713834

MJHOGAN

Can someone bring back the game which was actually skillful and quick?

I must have missed the mystical time when football was skillful & quick or do all those reruns on TG4 lie?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/04/2015 18:30:11    1713854