Ricey sets the record straight

Just looked up Down.... and guess what, just about sums up your county the last 20 + years

a. From a higher to a lower place or position

b. Toward, to, or on the ground, floor, or bottom:

c. Bottom of the pile

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 14/04/2015 12:34:19    1714042

You forgot:

d) The opposite of Up, as in Down move Up from Div 2 while Tyrone move Down from Div 1

We should start an English Skool !!

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 14/04/2015 12:53:24    1714050

redhanddefender

Just looked up Down....

Can't believe you just said Up Down . . . have some conviction for Tyrone . . . turncoat

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 14/04/2015 13:05:23    1714054

School holidays aren't over yet by the looks of things. enjoy being div 1 whipping boys next year.

Hope yous don't bring out those big "The Boys are Back in town" signs like you had all over newry last year when the Tyrone MEN came up and thumped yous!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 14/04/2015 13:19:03    1714059

Thanks your good wishes, will enjoy Div 1 next year

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 14/04/2015 13:35:50    1714067

redhanddefender, I wouldn't be saying to much about Wapping boys next year, Tyrone could be under pressure in the 2nd division next year,

youngfella27 (Armagh) - Posts: 110 - 14/04/2015 13:42:55    1714069

Redhandefender....Tyrone weren't so tough and manly when a team of young gossons from Meath put manners on ye in 1996. In fact ye are so manly up there that ye are still whinging about it.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 14/04/2015 14:24:59    1714086

Yeah you might not have got to see the division games this year soaring the glory heights of division 3 (just about) but we handled our own against the top teams. I didn't say we would get promoted for definite but we certainly won't be "whipping" boys.

I am however certain that Down will be

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 14/04/2015 14:26:33    1714087

Joxer

joncarter

Im surprised that laochra gael would give this guy a programme.
For me he always represented the worst of the GAA,non stop trash talking,as well as the unnecessary physical incidents mentioned above.
id have more respect for him if he owned up to what he did instead of just pretending it never happened.

-----
+1

-----
+2

besidetheditch (Dublin) - Posts: 81 - 14/04/2015 14:34:43    1714090

that's right redhanddefender we were in Division 3, we weren't good enough for a few years, we have regrouped and got out of that division,

but to be fair your slagging a good Down team and them missing star players, I heard the Tyrone team where training in the swimming pool they

are polishing of their diving. I don't think this fella should have a programme, what he done on a football pitch was a disgrace at times,

thinking back to him jumping onto someone's face with his knees, I don't want kids doing that!!!!

youngfella27 (Armagh) - Posts: 110 - 14/04/2015 14:47:16    1714096

The only thing Down supporters can be bitter against Tyrone of the 2000's was the fact that we were cheated out of an Ulster title in 2003.
Why? Because McGuigan (I believe) went down like he was shot and got a man sent off when he threw the ball at him. Soccer players would be proud of that. Did he even hit him in the face? I can't remember. Yes, he shouldn't have reacted and thrown the ball at him, but the play acting involved was unreal. And Down were 9 points up. And yes we naively tried to defend our lead. Then the boys who taught Tom Daley how to dive (Canavan and Mulligan) 'won' so many frees they should have won the match that day! We subsequently got smashed in the replay, our ship had sailed. So, if we had won that game, would Tyrone have won the AI in 2003?

beansycpn (Down) - Posts: 128 - 14/04/2015 16:22:31    1714136

Lol I have heard it all now, an Armagh man slagging our rough antics! we were no angels but some of this bitterness is ridiculous. And no mate they are training in a 9 millon pound complex bought and paid for in the centre of tyrone. Your boys are stuck in an MMA gym somewhere.

Crying about the 9 point comeback against down just makes winning it all the sweeter! Oh what could have been for the aristocrats! That's football!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 14/04/2015 16:44:38    1714158

beansycpn
County: Down

The only thing Down supporters can be bitter against Tyrone of the 2000's was the fact that we were cheated out of an Ulster title in 2003.
Why? Because McGuigan (I believe) went down like he was shot and got a man sent off when he threw the ball at him. Soccer players would be proud of that. Did he even hit him in the face? I can't remember. Yes, he shouldn't have reacted and thrown the ball at him, but the play acting involved was unreal. And Down were 9 points up. And yes we naively tried to defend our lead. Then the boys who taught Tom Daley how to dive (Canavan and Mulligan) 'won' so many frees they should have won the match that day! We subsequently got smashed in the replay, our ship had sailed. So, if we had won that game, would Tyrone have won the AI in 2003?
--------------------------------------------------
Catch yourself on man.The cream came to the top in second game.If it hadn't been for extreme luck on your part with jammy goals it would have been over the first day.Whats yer complaint about Cork beating yez in 2010? Or any other game yez have ever lost?That team won the league and the all Ireland cos they were the best in the country that year and thats it.Sour grapes from you and others is whats on display here.Has been the case since that team had "the nerve" to win more than one Ulster title and all Ireland titles.Glad to say that you and those like you have been the exception rather than the rule.I usually lend my support to the Ulster team/teams left in it when Tyrone go out.I did so with Derry,Down and Donegal in the nineties and again with Armagh in 2002.Thats because I am of the view that its nice to see your neighbors do well.Others like yourself and Burnsey have a begrudgers streak.Get over yourselves ffs.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 14/04/2015 17:00:31    1714174

AthCliath

1713043 Weve all got guys who done stupid things .

100% Correct . let he who's without sin take the first black card . Some of my heroes from yester year could be scary in a dark alley , maybe its just me , but I honestly don't get the negativity around Meath team and Tyrone .You can call out any team and county over isolated incidents , Kilkenny get a roasting for playing close to the edge for instance , for me a lot of what I read on here smacks of out and out begrudgery , different times etc move on .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/04/2015 17:01:46    1714176

Burnsey
County: Down

Must admit thats an amazing fact Seanie, Mick is 41 now, so what age would he have been in the 60's . . . . Think about it . . .
-----------------------------------------------------------
My mistake.I meant Kerry great Mick O' Dwyer.Im sure ye knew that and I'm sure yer aware of the accusations he leveled at the Down boys of the sixties.He essentially said that they were a dirty and cynical shower when it suited their game plan to play that way.Now just like you boys from Down today I'd say thats a bit of sour grapes from Mick but sure if you can say it then so can he.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 14/04/2015 17:05:44    1714179

Mc Menamin was a great footballer and as good as any of his contemporaries but I don't think he got the recognition his footballing ability deserved but that was his own fault due to his 'ahem' "expertise in the black arts of the game" I know a lot of players indulge in this carry on but I think what set Ricey apart was the nastiness involved' it was way beyond what most others would get up to!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 14/04/2015 17:19:55    1714182

Crinigan

Redhandefender....Tyrone weren't so tough and manly when a team of young gossons from Meath put manners on ye in 1996. In fact ye are so manly up there that ye are still whinging about it.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
As my mother always said,"experience is dear teaching". Your boys got away with stuff that day that would never have been permitted in another game on a different day.It was a lesson well taught by Meath and if ye know anybody close to Tyrone football they will tell you its a lesson well remembered also.We are a bit sore about it no doubt,but in a strange way we are glad it happened then cos it helped set the stage for our later success.The complaint was more to do with the fact that we would never have gotten away with such tactics ourselves and match officials afforded no protection to our players,infact they were complicit in the ambush we suffered that day.A lesson learned.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 14/04/2015 17:25:14    1714187

Where is ulsterman when you need him.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/04/2015 18:08:40    1714210

A vile nasty wind up merchant - embodiment of the puke football from 2003
The team evolved but he never did
Now Harte has reimbfaced the puke maybe he should do a Galvin and come out of retirement

Elvis1935 (Mayo) - Posts: 46 - 14/04/2015 19:43:50    1714247

He's busy counting all the Tyrone players deserting a sinking ship . .

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 14/04/2015 19:45:13    1714248