Ricey sets the record straight

Burnsey
County: Down

Epitomised the Tyrone team of that era, which is nothing to be proud of
------------------
Why's that Burnsey? Or are you just sore that Down couldn't emulate that great Tyrone team? No need to answer Burnsey,the jealousy was hangin out of ye when ye posted that remark.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/04/2015 17:58:07    1713063

That does make me chuckle . .

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 11/04/2015 20:01:01    1713113

Brolly
I agree totally on gormley.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/04/2015 20:17:58    1713120

Love Ricey or loathe him he always give it all for Tyrone. His sheer determination could change a match. We are talking about one incident involving two players Ricey and the Gooch and neither are saints. The Gooch is the best man to feign injury in a tight match. He did it against Monaghan a number of years ago In Croke park and cost Monaghan the match because the refereee fell for his act and awarded two frees when it shouldve been the other way around. It will be interesting to hear Riceys story.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 11/04/2015 20:47:43    1713134

Aye surely Burnsey......Riceys got 3 all Irelands....... plenty to be proud of.Fantastic achievement for any gaelic footballer.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/04/2015 21:54:50    1713160

Brolly and Kingdom boy...........Gormley is a legend.A hero in Tyrone and one of the best defenders of his generation.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 11/04/2015 22:00:45    1713162

No doubt seanie. But hus reputation proceeds him elsewhere in the country.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 12/04/2015 09:33:27    1713169

seanie_boy
Or are you just sore that Down couldn't emulate that great Tyrone team?

Ha Ha your gas. Counting wouldn't be your strongest then, no back doors, back to back titles, and none of the playacting in our AI's, now that is something to be proud of. Ye's have a long way to go lad, and it ain't gonna be soon

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 12/04/2015 09:46:22    1713173

"Epitomised the tyrone team of that era" burnsey from down...smells like sour grapes there lad!

TYSAM14 (Tyrone) - Posts: 15 - 12/04/2015 09:54:05    1713176

Ha Ha, not at all kid. You need to learn to win with dignity as well as lose with dignity. I know plenty of tyrone supprters who are proud of their 3 titles, but not the conduct of the majority of the players in achieving them. Even if we never win another, can hold head high and be proud of our Honest titles.

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 12/04/2015 11:31:02    1713200

Haha burnsey you're gas.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 12/04/2015 11:51:53    1713212

Burnsey were you alive for any of Downs titles?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 12/04/2015 11:57:10    1713216

More than i'd prefer to admit. Do you think you'll be alive to see a fermanagh title ?

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 12/04/2015 12:46:51    1713228

Burnsey
County: Down

Ha Ha, not at all kid. You need to learn to win with dignity as well as lose with dignity. I know plenty of tyrone supprters who are proud of their 3 titles, but not the conduct of the majority of the players in achieving them. Even if we never win another, can hold head high and be proud of our Honest titles.
---------------------
I believe it was Mick O' Dowd,anybody correct me if I'm wrong,said your great side of the sixties were a dirty shower when it suited them. Very cynical etc. I'm not knockin that team that is somebody else's words. You should stop pontificating and being a typical begrudger.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 13/04/2015 21:07:43    1713914

Jeez Seanie Boy, I've really got under your skin. You shud learn to lighten up kid

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 13/04/2015 21:33:24    1713923

Must admit thats an amazing fact Seanie, Mick is 41 now, so what age would he have been in the 60's . . . . Think about it . . .

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 13/04/2015 21:37:29    1713926

I love him and he will always be a cult hero in Tyrone but I was surprised as anyone when I seen his name pop up at the start of this season but I suppose he has been involved in so many notorious things it would make good tv. I guarantee you he will give nothing away though!

I love the story jarlath burn tells about the 1st time hinm and bellew came up against him and he was slagging bellew all match for being a smart university student. Bellew couldn't listen to it but couldn understand it as he hadn't even an a level!

As for the DOWN be grudgers they will always be little Tyrones achievement. Its because they know that tea of the 2000's would beat anything they have ever had to offer. and they know it. They have a soft underbelly at their core, that's why they need an Armagh man in to manage them

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 14/04/2015 09:49:29    1713973

The game in the 60s was played by gentlemen. AI's were won on the basis of good natured endeavour and skill bestowed by the gods of Mourne. Every time I see a comment on Twitter and indeed the HS I can tell it has come from the county of begrudgeery. This myth building and hubris reminds me of a defunct soccer team in Glasgow who also believed they were the people. Icarus and Narcissus have similarly stricken 'The Aristocrats' and condemned them to an eternity of begrudgeery, envy and inertia.

As for Ricey, he is a definitive Laochra/hero at least within the county. He was overlooked at underage and considered to small and weak but was sent away on a programme to develop himself. He returned with the scalp of Peter Canavan having roasted him at his peak in a club fame. He'd be a massive reason why Dromore became the top club team in Tyrone displacing the Errigal/Carrickmore monopoly. I know countless accounts of him returning from AI glory to train the u-12 and U-14 teams in Dromore. In my club our one county star went on the drink and in fact was unavailable to play for his club. I admire him immensely for his development, leadership, desire and talisman qualities. I wish we could unearth another close to him but we won't, Ricey was a one-off.
I would encourage you to watch it with an open mind and reserve judgement. I know the usual suspects won't do that but their zeal is now the most amusing contribution on the HS these days ...so you're exempt keep doing what you do.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 14/04/2015 11:27:13    1714009

redhanddefender

As for the DOWN be grudgers they will always be little Tyrones achievement. Its because they know that tea of the 2000's would beat anything they have ever had to offer. and they know it.

Ye can't beat a drop of Barrys !!

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 14/04/2015 11:51:28    1714024

Lads, can't believe it, ye's were right all along. Have just looked up begrudgery in the dictionary:

to feel unhappy because someone has something that you think they do not deserve:
[+ two objects] "I don't begrudge him his freedom".
to not agree with Tyrone Supporters or object to their style of play in any manner

There it is, in black and white, we're a country full of begrudgers, apart from Tyrone of course !!

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 14/04/2015 12:10:25    1714029