Ciaran McDonald - RTE

Enjoyed CMcD, very interesting character as well as brilliant player. Will agree with arock about the show though, much better on the wireless, Top Gear of sport? No thanks, hated that too :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 10/04/2015 12:45:49    1712700

Yep yew_tree. McDonald supplying the ammunition and Joycer triggering the firepower. They must have played together in the intro provincials (formerly railway cup) at some point or even the international rules although with the latter because it is essentially a makey up game hard to see true talent coming through. I saw a few of the intro provincial games over the years but cannot recall. Donnellan was a different type of player but equally talented natural wise. Unfortunately injury curtailed his inter county career.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 10/04/2015 13:38:05    1712718

Great player always thought his style was a cross between Giles and Geraghty,if you could see that!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/04/2015 14:25:51    1712740

Can't think of anyone I'd compare him to, he was pretty unique!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 10/04/2015 14:29:28    1712747

Thanks Yew Tree. I meant winning Sam Maguire, so many players missed out on that achievement, from all counties outside the regular winners. Hopefully Mayo will right that soon.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 10/04/2015 16:59:30    1712821

Better known for his attacking brilliance and his ability to perform magic with a ball, I thought one of his best games was the first game against Fermanagh in 2004. Defending, attacking, inspiring his team-mates by his actions in a game we were in serious trouble in. He must have covered every blade of grass in Croker that day.

Kerry supporters consoled me after the'04 and ''06 finals with genuine heartfelt words of their admiration for Ciaran. Makes me proud to be a Mayo man.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 10/04/2015 18:15:34    1712838

Absolutely brilliant footballer and, judging by that interview, a lovely fella too.

14KY37 (Kerry) - Posts: 30 - 10/04/2015 19:12:02    1712859

Lads that was the best piece of TV I've seen in a while. McDonald is fascinating. A genius of a footballer. That deep breath he took when McDevitt asked him about the All Ireland Finals was gut wrenching.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 11/04/2015 12:34:29    1712954

A guy I always try to emulate in the park on summers evenings. Never knew he was such quiet and shy guy. Came across so genuine and the part about his sister being abused because of his performance, you could see that really was emotional for him. One man that really deserved and all ireland medal. A real legend.

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 285 - 11/04/2015 13:15:08    1712971

Heres hoping we here more from him, guys like Ciaran mc Donald should be the ones we are listening when discussing Modern GAA. Not Spillane and Carney with their rehashes cliches.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 11/04/2015 20:07:07    1713115

ATH CLIATH........The great thing about Mac is that he wouldn't sell himself on tv, radio and in the media like the others.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 11/04/2015 20:37:16    1713132

Miler

ATH CLIATH........The great thing about Mac is that he wouldn't sell himself on tv, radio and in the media like the others.

Everyone has a price ;)
Ye never know ,the guy might get a liking for it, id say the positive reaction he has recieved since Captins live might give him food for thought.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 11/04/2015 21:22:39    1713147

Honestly hated him as a player and that's a compliment , he was magnificent , he scared the living crap out of me as a player , but deep down you wish he was one of yours .Only watched the interview at the weekend , what a great guy , wouldn't you just love a beer with the fella and listen to him , he combined skill balance and hardness and you don't get many of them ,even who he put on the wall classy .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/04/2015 09:57:10    1713555

An absolute genius on the pitch who could do magnificent things with his left boot. The bleached hair, white boots and socks up to his knees were not the only things that made him stand out, he played with a swagger and class that isn't seen these days. I thought he came across very well in his interview and you could tell just how much he loves the game. He seemed a bit nervous which was obviously understandable but hes a very likeable person and very honest. You could see the heartbreak in his eyes and the pain when talking about those all-ireland final defeats, one of the greatest players not to have a celtic cross in his back pocket.

ShortGrass_1 (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 13/04/2015 11:40:23    1713634