NFL DIV 1 Semis

If your using that theory when we beat ye in 2006 and 09 ye should have been knocked out then?

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 07/04/2015 13:37:25    1711598

100% spot on clondalkin! Or the other scenario kingdomboy' a team "winning" the championship through the back door! Have Kerry ever done that? Mmmmmm I wonder! The

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 07/04/2015 13:50:01    1711603

I think a league title will mean more to Donegal as there best chance of silverware in croke park this year plus they have played their strongest tezm through out the league

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 07/04/2015 13:58:53    1711609

Wrong HughHunt. We haven't played our strongest team throughout the league. New faces in the team and fringe players from the McGuinness era now on the first 15 which will make us a more potent force come the championship.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 07/04/2015 14:32:08    1711627

Hughhunt...... No harm to you lad but I'd suggest we have as good if not better chance of winning proper silverware in CP this year as yourselves, ( Not the league) history will show that Cork are one of the strongest league teams, however that hasn't materialised into the winning of Sam, apart from 2010 which is an extremely poor return for Cork, I believe yous will get as far as the semi final at very best, the reason being that I'm not convinced your manager knows his best team or their best way of playing....... Just my opionion and happy enough to be proved wrong as I always have liked Corks power play and its people........

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 07/04/2015 15:13:15    1711650

I would have to agree with my fellow Donegal men here Hugh.

An Ulster title counts for a lot more here than a National League & all eyes are focussed on Tyrone.

Mind you we wouldn't say no to both.....

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/04/2015 15:48:39    1711680

Hard luck to Monaghan, ye played well today, we looked like we were playing Derry again, very poor from us.
Cork V Donegal was like a practice match!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 12/04/2015 17:40:31    1713334

I wouldn't worry too much if I was a Dub, sure you can always depend on dodgy decisions going your way when you are struggling.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9719 - 12/04/2015 17:45:58    1713338

well ulsterman, to be honest i thought he gave just as many handy ones to monaghan

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 12/04/2015 17:59:39    1713345

Ulsterman going from thread to thread posting the same drivel. At least confine your bitterness to one thread and not ruin all the threads with your tiresome conspiracy theories!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/04/2015 18:04:10    1713348

Moral victory for Monaghan. Dubs not invincible.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 12/04/2015 18:12:03    1713353

Fair play Monaghan, ye showed up today, Dublin were back in their Jeckle & Hyde mode and just got over the line, I'm glad there was no hiding dished out today as no one would have benefited!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 12/04/2015 18:26:45    1713361

Well done boys, but we can have no complaints we didn't compete in midfield for most of the first half. Just goes to show that "on the day" any team can be beaten with attitude, ability and strategy.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1045 - 12/04/2015 18:48:04    1713371

good game of football in front of dissapointing crowd
felt we dominated the game for most of it really
but never pulled away and kept only 2-3 point lead
strange decisions from gavin to take off bastick and fenton
bastick was dominating the middle of the park and fenton had been winning plenty of ball and kicked two points
best thing from todays game was to see ciaran kilkenny play in his real position at full forward
I lost count after 8 to how many points he would be credited to for assists
he won every ball that went into him and laid it off to the man in the right position to score
fair play to mcmanus for monaghan had two men on him most the time and still kicked about 8 or 9 points
and from a dublin point of view it was dissapointing to see an almost pensionable dick clerkin stroll through
and kick 3 points from the bench haha
this was a guy who must of went something like 13 years before getting a score in championship football haha
thought paul flynn,connolly and cian o sullivan were very poor today for us
looks like bastick has nailed down a midfield spot but the other one is up for grabs
as yet again mccauley was non existent when brought in and o sullivan hasnt come back from his operation
at anywhere near the level he was at so far, so will be very interesting to see what happens.
have to say hickey gave some poor calls today
three stood out for me
in first half we got fouled he gave advantage we got fouled again 10 yards closer to goal but broke the tackle
and what does he do call back and give the free from the first foul which actually helped monaghan not dublin
then in second half near the end rocks last free
andrews was clean in on goal and he whistles back for the free in instead of allowing the play
and finally monaghans last free
johnny cooper was pulled to the ground in front of hickeys eyes and he puts his hands in the air
as if to say I didnt see anything haha and then the ball goes over to the cusack stand side and mccfrey
is all but being mounted and he blows a free in for monaghan saying he jumped on the ball

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/04/2015 19:15:11    1713393

job done.

Wasn't a great performance, but who cares.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 12/04/2015 20:13:40    1713423

Second half performance today was very good from us and we would have won only Dublin stepped it up with about ten minutes. Even then we still had chances which we didn't take. All in all a good way to exit the league as another hiding would have been damaging. Morale will be good after today. We can go way now and prepare for Cavan which will be a ferocious battle in 6 weeks which in truth could go either way. Hopefully we will have a few midfielders back along with Drew Wylie and Colin Walsh and no injuries over next few weeks to give it our best shot.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1805 - 12/04/2015 21:04:31    1713450

I definately believe that Donegal's defeat of Dublin last year has had an affect on Dublin and their fans. Up to then there was a perception and air of invincibility about them but they aren't so confident now. Teams are now showing that Dublin are very beatable and not the God like figures they were being made out to be. There were totally ridiculous comments being thrown about that this Dublin team was 'unbeatable' and 'could be the best ever' etc etc; complete nonsense and hogwash of course.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9719 - 12/04/2015 21:19:55    1713465

what was the attendance

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 12/04/2015 21:29:52    1713474

Ten years ago we'd be walking all Ireland's but now this blanket defence rubbish has made it tricky but will be ok. Martin Mchugh on league Sunday reckons Cork Donegal and Monaghan should be happy after today but we shouldn't I'm confused did we not win? Did Donegal not concede 4 goals ? Did Cork not concede 19 points ? Were Monaghan not bet for the 3rd time by the same in 9 months? No Dublin are the only team that should be worried even doh not one defensive team has bet us this campaign, unless Dublin aren't hammering teams it's seen as Dublin are struggling or something else that's confusing me but I suppose Dublin our the main team and people love to say negative things about us. Into another league final and it will take a very good team to beat us this August/September.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/04/2015 21:37:22    1713484

correct dubs for sam just like last year.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 12/04/2015 21:41:05    1713490