Brolly tells Harte to 'f' off

Cuederpocket and htaem well said.
It was and still is sour grapes. Funnily enough you don't hear Dublin cork supporters saying anything about it, or former players either.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/04/2015 14:25:13    1709836

Richieq

You tell me what did Meath do v Tyrone in '96, outplay them?? Yes, Outmuscle them?? Yes, Exploit their weaknesses? Yes. Anything else??

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
They stamped on heads (Dooher), kicked others in the head on the ground (McBride), kicked one in the back of the knee while the ball was at the other end of the field (Cavlan) and hit our best player with a late forearm as he was off-balance kicking a ball (Canavan). They were dirty. Deserved winners on the day, but dirty none-the-less.

Richie, you can't see any fault through those green/gold glasses of yours, but both of Boylan's AI winning sides were very dirty. Like you, I was at all those finals, and I can honestly say that the 1988 replay was one of the most disgraceful displays I've seen from any side in an AI decider. Meath had some brilliant footballers in both the 80s and 90s, particularly in attack, but they were far, far from angels.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 02/04/2015 14:25:38    1709837

Kick Brian Dooher on the head. Break Peter Canavan's ankle .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 02/04/2015 14:33:01    1709842

royaldunne

Fabio you have some bloody cheek. Meath fans has as much right as anybody to complain about puke football, less you forget along with Kerry, cork , Dublin Meath are the most successful football county. And btw at least we show our county, now could we say the same for you. No one least of all you will tell me what i can and cant have a opinion on.

Fairly sure Galway have a few more than your 7 All Irelands RD. Meath have been responsible for some of the most disgusting antics on a football pitch in the past so i don't know why they are shouting to sav the purity of the game.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 02/04/2015 14:43:47    1709845

RD do you really believe that Donegals players in 2012 weren't in the top 10 in Ireland - I really find it hard to believe that you could think that . I believe your profoundly bitter because you's are simply inferior to most sides at the minute . To be honest , the anti -Ulster sentiments are rotten . It's sad really !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 02/04/2015 14:50:35    1709847

Greengrass what are you on about? You'd swear Tyrone were whiter than white,great players over the years no question about that but many of them well versed in the black arts of the game and not only that but seemed well proud to live up to the hardman image but for all this machoism were very " easily knocked to the ground"! And for trash talking none better than the bould Ricey!But whenever it was mentioned we were told us southerners were just softies and wouldn't be able for the physicality of Ulster football but then many Tyrone supporters complain about the physicality of meath in 1996! You can't have it both ways boys!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 02/04/2015 15:00:54    1709854

Firstly green grass, Brian doher was kicked on head accidentally by the cleanest player to ever play the game, so no intent it was accidental and furthermore he continued, canavan was hit with shoulder, since when has a shoulder been illegal in football????
You really are making yourself look rather foolish with all this nonsense.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/04/2015 15:01:39    1709855

Richieq
meath tyrone 96? I was at it, as I was most championship games in croker in the 80s and 90s. More Meath butchery. As well as the brutal targeting of Canavan etc I think Ciaran McBride got a stamp on the head too. Kindly ignored by referees and pundits alike. You don't need a blanket defence when you're willing to endanger the lives of the opposition. As for the Meath team of the late 80s early 90s. Man they were dirty. Three/four incidents I can recall of many. Mick Galvin getting a punch in the jaw from behind by a certain corner back. Gerry McEntee's "tackle" on Mick Kennedy (don't get me wrong I wasn't sorry to see him take one, he was dirty enough himself), shameless targeting of Kieran Duff and so it's not all Dublin-centric Harnan attempting to decapitate Mickey Linden and catching a good shoulder in the face for his troubles. Dublin had their fair share of these too (as do most teams) and no ones looking for sympathy, but you can't pretend that Meath were anything but one of the dirtiest teams ever to be successful.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 02/04/2015 15:27:39    1709865

Can we stick to the topic at hand. It is about Joe Brolly's comments, anything off topic will not be posted. By all means set up a new thread but stick to the topic here.

Admin.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 02/04/2015 15:36:45    1709869

The man was a highly rated and talented player - A potent forward on a great team

Won every major prize - Ulster, National League, All Ireland title

Playing a significant part in landing Derry it's only AI title

I reckon he's well versed and knows quite a bit about the game actually...

In fact a damn sight more than you or I will ever know

Still doesnt detract from the point that he never managed a team, and therefore is shouting gamble from a safe vantage as the wheel spins. He has made some awful comments in the past, and some very stupid ones, and some very provocative ones. Gooch being a bottler, kerry bottling all irelands are 2 that come to mind. His agenda is to call things, rightly or wrongly, in such a way as to whip up furor.. If it were anyone else who made the comments about the blanket defense on show at the weekend, we might consider rationally what is being said. But the fact it is Brolly, and the fact that he said that Harte can F off, ends it for me.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/04/2015 15:59:09    1709880

essmac
As for Joe's 'entertainment' comments, the sub-text is that loose defending and high scores are essential for entertainment. Each to his own, but I suggest you maybe try basketball if you want big scores above all else. It's like how Americans I've met can't stand soccer 'because there aren't enough scores'. Their problem is that they don't know enough about soccer to appreciate the outfield skills of someone like e.g. Pirlo. You can have a dull match with plenty of scores and a compelling 0-0 match full of great skill.

If there is one thing more boring than negative football it is people who try to justify their teams woeful style by claiming those who have the cheek to want to be entertained by a football game don't appreciate good defending. Most people are entertained when they see great displays of skill, whether that be defensive or attacking skills, performed under great pressure. Watching lads collect short kickouts, handpass their way up the field and then being swallowed up by 8 defenders requires minimal skill and is not entertaining. I presume essmac is the type of lad who would love a boxing contest where neither boxer leaves their own corner because it is a great display of defensive boxing by both lads! Throughout the history of the game great defenders have been cherished just as much as great attackers, even by lads like Brolly. We are not living in an age of great defenders, just an age of awfully negative football. I did laugh at the weekend though when Philip Jordan said its ok to play with 11 defenders but playing with 14 is bad for the game - I wonder why he would take such a view?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 02/04/2015 15:59:22    1709881

Theeightstuff. Firstly i have nothing against Donegal. Some would appear to think i have, my top 10 comments would be 2015 same as Meath , if it was man for man, but you cant say that a team who were hammered only 2 years previous by Longford would have won all ire playing man for man, they wouldn't and thus i feel is brollys point, for what its worth i was delighted Donegal won that all ire as it meant so much to them, but would they have won it without the system? I don't think so, this is what those of us whi support brollys position are saying, its gone too far, its not against the rules but it should be, no one could ever have envisaged what jim would do, and fair play to the man he took the majority of a team hammered by Longford to all ire champions and that has to be admired . But while it was different and even fascinating at times it is not entertainment, when i go to a match i want to be entertained. I readily know where Meath stands , but if we employed a system similar to that of Donegal we could be as successful , not on merit but cause of stopping other teams play, we have keoghan and Reilly in back line add another 8/9 of that type only about 3 current members would fit what is required to drop back, we then would have Wallace biggy osullivan to use their speed to run out. You mean to tell me Dublin would beat us by 16 points playing like that?? Not a hope. I have lost times of the amount of posters and alot from Donegal telling Meath and every other county that it would be stupid to do what Meath ddid last year and play dubs man for man as they will wipe the floor with you. So when you say man for man your not as good as dubs (as Meath aren't) you cant then complain that someone says individually you haven't got the best players, man for man Donegal are not in the top 4 talent wise, however when the sysis applied they certainly are, man for man Meath are somewhere between 10-14 in order but if we employed the micky hearte system we probably in top 8.
I apologise if my comment upset you or any Donegal people, i have a huge liking for muckross and a few other Donegal lads on here, but the stats don't lie, now ill give Donegal one thing they are by far the best system players in country, my problem is with the likes of Derry , Cavan Roscommon, Fermanagh etc doing it very badly that leads to dour games so when brolly says to mh cop on we should be entertained, he is 100% right ,, and if a manager refuses to do so then the gaa must take steps to ensure they have to, be it limit players inside 45 or handpassing then so be it. Just to be clear i have nothing against Donegal, in actual fact i have a great affection for the county as i spent many a holiday there in my childhood.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/04/2015 16:12:22    1709893

May i add, one of the most respected counties by Meath people is Down along with Galway, have since the 60s been very highly regarded by Meath people, im anti puke football, im not anti ulster, again ill state i was delighted for Donegal when they won all ire and on any given day id cheer on Down against majority of counties including any other in Leinster .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/04/2015 17:24:02    1709921

You grossly underestimate the talent Donegal have at their disposal. Average players don't win All Irelands with or without systems . The two McGees, Frank McGlynn, Anthony Thompson , Mark and Ryan McHugh , Rory Kavanagh, the colossus that is Neil Gallagher Paddy McBrearty, Colm McFadden ( in 2012 form) and of course Michael Murphy are all top players . Meath ( no offence intended) don't have anything like that talent . Every county team worth it's salt now plays to a game plan/system call it what you wish . Donegal stick closely to theirs . Kerry are more adaptable and can play more than one style/game plan. That is the way it is. The bottom line is if you don't have the players with the talent you don't win All Irelands .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 02/04/2015 20:02:47    1709977

Were we hammered by longford Royaldunne? I think we were hammered by Armagh in 2010. Cant remember longford hammering us. McGuinness was well within his rights to try out something new. I think that the system has run its course, and anyone with any sanity would say the same thing about football now. Its hard to say whether Mcguinness would have predicted the sport of gaelic football would have ended up in a pseudo stalemate condition, with so many teams now adopting the system.

We should remember one big thing, that Mayo totally demolished the system 2 years ago, and remain the only team in the modern game to defeat donegal using a traditional style of football.

So people should aspire to this as a method, rather than to try and ape a blanket defense. Kerry and Dublin did us over in 2011 and 2014 respectively, but only by using a closed system similar to our own. I would put my money on a more traditional system to shake things up with any consistency, as when there are too many teams using defensive tactics, it will be all on the day, and a tiny mistake could cost you your season.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/04/2015 20:42:58    1709998

Joe Brolly and others attacked certain games for lacking entertainment, while Mickey Harte noted Gaelic managers are reviewed on results and not entertainment value. Then Brolly says then Mickey Harte should F off and play behind closed doors in that case.
Who is right here? Mickey Harte is right in my opinion, as most people will follow their county when they are winning matches and competitions. Tyrone fans would be entertained if they won an Ulster title and an All Ireland title, regardless of whether or not they have the odd dreadful game. The same goes for the majority of fans from most other Counties.

The real problem with the modern game, is entertaining fans from other Counties. Your own fans will flock to games if their teams Is winning. However this criticism isn't always fair, as Football from the 70's, 80's and 90's produced some absolutely terrible league and Championship games, some of which actually featured the self perceived footballing "purists". However this was an era when these matches didn't receive the same level of coverage that they do now. Stinker games happened back then too, but the vast majority were never seen on National tv.

It's suitable to dream up the notion that all Gaelic football matches was always end to end free flowing games, with cracking passing and high scores. History tells us otherwise, review matches from the 70's, 80's and 1990's If you disagree with me, then go and see what the stats say.

How much television coverage did the National League receive back then? Not a lot from my memory, with only the All Ireland SF's and Final getting huge coverage and producing some excellent games. Looking at the All Ireland series in recent years, the majority of these have been outstanding games too.

It baffles me to hear experienced GAA men proclaim the death of Gaelic football after a National League game in March!!.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 02/04/2015 20:56:47    1710005

Greengrass
County: Louth

1709977 You grossly underestimate the talent Donegal have at their disposal. Average players don't win All Irelands with or without systems . The two McGees, Frank McGlynn, Anthony Thompson , Mark and Ryan McHugh , Rory Kavanagh, the colossus that is Neil Gallagher Paddy McBrearty, Colm McFadden ( in 2012 form) and of course Michael Murphy are all top players . Meath ( no offence intended) don't have anything like that talent . Every county team worth it's salt now plays to a game plan/system call it what you wish . Donegal stick closely to theirs . Kerry are more adaptable and can play more than one style/game plan. That is the way it is. The bottom line is if you don't have the players with the talent you don't win All Irelands .

I agree with that,

I stated back in 2012 that "The System" disguised the simple fact that Donegal had a very good team of players.

The concept of Donegal having very talented players is not rocket science to those of us who have watched Donegal since the late 1980's. I think Donegal have reached the Ulster Championship final something like 12 times in 24 years, which is no easy feat in Ulster and shows they are consistently strong. Granted they lost a lot of those final's, but they were always there or thereabouts.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 02/04/2015 21:13:20    1710017

I dont think Meath were dirty in the 80s & 90s.

lol

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/04/2015 13:11:20    1710143

realdub

1710143 I dont think Meath were dirty in the 80s & 90s.

lol

My late mum who loved Tyrone but knew nothing about football was appalled at the antics of that Meath team.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 03/04/2015 19:16:16    1710262

how many teams has joe brolly managed?....people confuse knowledgeable with entertaining...he is better than the other rte pundits but its not much competition there..being a good player doesnt have anything to do with being knowledgeable

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 03/04/2015 19:23:24    1710268