Monaghan win in Tralee

Well done Monaghan. What Gary nicely described is the litmus test for any top side. Your not a contender unless you knock a top team out. However, among the contenders Monaghan look best placed at the moment if they can bring their A game to Croker.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 29/03/2015 17:49:53    1707945

mhunicean_abu
County: Monaghan

MuckrossHead

Monaghan haven't even managed an All Ireland semi final appearance, so while I take your point about punching above your weight, the fact of the matter is that, on recent form, O Sé was more than generous in his assessment & Monaghan are a distance behind the top teams.

How far is a distance in Donegal

As I said earlier, today was a great result by Monaghan, bu I stand 100% behind my earlier post.

Performances in the league mean nothing when establishing who's who in the hierarchy of Gaelic football & the harsh fact is that Monaghan have one Ulster title to show for their efforts which is not good enough to be in the top tier.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/03/2015 17:51:13    1707948

Very proud of the lads today. Know only league but there is no telling the confidence that result will give the team in the months ahead. Really feel we can now look to take it to the next level with this team and management. Agree with posters from other counties about having to beat one of the traditional big guns in Croke park in August but I think this side knows that and that is the aim. Given size of county and number of clubs we have not been doing too badly. Special mention to malachy o rourke who has done some job.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1802 - 29/03/2015 18:04:02    1707960

Well done to Monaghan on a great result today, might just shut the critics up, for now.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 29/03/2015 18:04:07    1707961

Supermon - to answer your question. It would not be head to head if Mayo, Monaghan and Kerry all ended on 8 points. Or indeed Donegal, Monaghan and Kerry all end on three points (although Donegal would have to win big against Mayo as well as the 16 point turn around v Kerry.

turnip12 (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 29/03/2015 18:42:30    1708000

Not sure why there's a thread for a win league, absolutely brilliant win and well deserved! We're goin in the right direction no doubt but to see a thread after a league win( i know it's a massive win and even bigger that it was kerry) shows why we're not at the top table yet!!

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 29/03/2015 18:51:05    1708005

29/03/2015 17:26:24
waynoI

Well done on winning the all ireland today in tralee boys.

Ah you've got to love a sarky response!

I wouldn't expect someone from Dublin to understand but that was a huge win for us today. Regardless of Kerry missing a few key players that's still a big result, especially for our younger players who are in Division 1 for the first time. As many have said, we'd be confident against any Ulster side in the summer but need to be able to beat a big non-Ulster side in order to progress, and even though that's a depleted Kerry side it still gives confidence going forward. From being in Division 3 in 2013, we're now on the verge of the Division 1 semis despite many tipping us for the drop. That's good progression whatever way you look at it, and further progression means taking a scalp in the summer and getting to the semi-finals.

I don't think a league win like this warrants a fresh thread on the homepage mind you, but that's another matter.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 29/03/2015 18:59:39    1708013

29/03/2015 18:51:05
achara

1708005 Not sure why there's a thread for a win league, absolutely brilliant win and well deserved! We're goin in the right direction no doubt but to see a thread after a league win( i know it's a massive win and even bigger that it was kerry) shows why we're not at the top table yet!!

Achara,

It was Kerry.
It was away, and it is progress.

Hence thread (and pint)

Knoxboyo (Monaghan) - Posts: 170 - 29/03/2015 20:01:19    1708060

Ah well it could have been a score line like 08 - 04...

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 29/03/2015 20:06:33    1708063

29/03/2015 18:59:39
patk

29/03/2015 17:26:24
waynoI

Well done on winning the all ireland today in tralee boys.

Ah you've got to love a sarky response!

I wouldn't expect someone from Dublin to understand but that was a huge win for us today. Regardless of Kerry missing a few key players that's still a big result, especially for our younger players who are in Division 1 for the first time. As many have said, we'd be confident against any Ulster side in the summer but need to be able to beat a big non-Ulster side in order to progress, and even though that's a depleted Kerry side it still gives confidence going forward. From being in Division 3 in 2013, we're now on the verge of the Division 1 semis despite many tipping us for the drop. That's good progression whatever way you look at it, and further progression means taking a scalp in the summer and getting to the semi-finals.

I don't think a league win like this warrants a fresh thread on the homepage mind you, but that's another matter.

You do yourself no favours my friend by generalising like that. Its says more about your viewpoint when you think this guy speaks for an entire group of posters.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 29/03/2015 20:24:25    1708074

nothing like a meath man to slag off an excellent victory in tralee..and a meath man is what he is

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 29/03/2015 20:38:47    1708085

Well done Monaghan , ye were the better team by a mile today, we were too wasteful in the first half 10 wides was way too much considering we had the wind. Anyway best of luck in the semis and in the ulster championship and hopefully we'll meet ye again in August ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/03/2015 21:02:16    1708105

turnip12 i agree with you i was doing the same looking into it and the three teams finishing level means score difference not head to head so therefore I cannot see how monaghan are already guaranteed a semi final spot

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/03/2015 21:10:38    1708112

29/03/2015 20:24:25
Dubh_linn

You do yourself no favours my friend by generalising like that. Its says more about your viewpoint when you think this guy speaks for an entire group of posters.

I think you've picked me up wrong there. When I said I wouldn't expect someone from Dublin to understand the importance of the win, what I meant was that Dublin are one of the most successful counties and currently one of the best, and so this win wouldn't be as big a deal for Dublin as it is for a small county like Monaghan, who haven't beat Kerry since the 80s. It wasn't meant as anything derogatory towards Dublin!

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 29/03/2015 21:30:07    1708126

29/03/2015 21:30:07
patk

29/03/2015 20:24:25
Dubh_linn

I think you've picked me up wrong there. When I said I wouldn't expect someone from Dublin to understand the importance of the win, what I meant was that Dublin are one of the most successful counties and currently one of the best, and so this win wouldn't be as big a deal for Dublin as it is for a small county like Monaghan, who haven't beat Kerry since the 80s. It wasn't meant as anything derogatory towards Dublin!

That's fair enough so!no problem. Just hate generalisation.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/03/2015 09:18:00    1708177

I would have thought the point that patk was making was fairly self evident and wouldn't have needed explanation .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 30/03/2015 10:49:33    1708255

Fair play to Monaghan.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 30/03/2015 11:03:16    1708263

Monaghan are shaping up better than many including myself had thought. They are showing consistency now that a good team shows and will be a very tough nut to crack this year.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/03/2015 11:58:11    1708306

shaggylegend

1707908 The kerry supporters are a credit, Beggan kicked an unbelievable free against the wind and the Kerry supporters applauded. Fair play lads.

It was a cracking free in all fairness - ya tactically Monaghan got it spot on, and our forwards were no movement.. no fair pay well deserved

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 30/03/2015 12:24:11    1708325

30/03/2015 10:49:33
Greengrass
County: Louth

1708255 I would have thought the point that patk was making was fairly self evident and wouldn't have needed explanation .

My concern was that he might think we all looked upon their win in this way and fair play to them. It just came across that way.
I think patk probably understands it was just a misunderstanding. Thanks for your concern though !

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/03/2015 14:09:24    1708385