Club Finals

Well done to Ballyhale and Corofin what an achievement to be the two best club teams in Ireland outstanding stuff. Joe Brolly talking up the Derry boys like they weren't human and came from a different planet.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/03/2015 11:48:12    1704067

I think Michael Lundy is being criticised unfairly here. He was fouled a number of times in the game without any frees being given. He himself is not a dirty player and just wants to get on with open attacking football and to be given fair play. Perhaps he did ham it up a bit on a couple of occasions but he felt he had to do that to get well deserved frees. Galway sides have been accused of being too clean and naive in the past (hoping to win playing pure non-cynical football) so its good to see that at least one player decided to stand up for himself. Overall I thought Corofin were by far the better team and fully deserved the 10 point margin. Neither the first half Slaughtneil penalty claim or the last minute penalty given were penalties IMO as there was very little (if any) contact with the Slaughtneil forwards in either case - just a case of bad control / finishing by those forwards and good defending by Corofin.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3329 - 18/03/2015 11:51:12    1704069

Back again with the anti-ulster stuff. Why don't you give it a rest?

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 18/03/2015 11:52:44    1704070

Brolly did go well over the top.
Set Slaughtneil up for a great fall......

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 18/03/2015 12:19:50    1704086

Poor finals but well done to both!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 18/03/2015 12:34:08    1704092

Was at the 2 matches yesterday and have to say to poor matches to watch Ballyhale and corofin were by far the best teams on the day. Bally hale were class, they just finishing wss top drawer.

In the football final I was hoping for a Slaughtneil win as an Ulster man, but just didn't happen for them yesterday, they looked heavy legged and tired. I have to say I seen them 3 times this year and it isn't a fair reflection on this team, yesterday they did fight to the death and they have done that all year just to much to claw back in the second half. This is a small club and to Achieve what they have this season is class. Plus would like to say what brolly said was right and I agree with him. I would love my club to have the never say die attitude that they had all year. fair play to them and all about the club

youngfella27 (Armagh) - Posts: 110 - 18/03/2015 12:57:18    1704103

tommy k

1704069 I think Michael Lundy is being criticised unfairly here. He was fouled a number of times in the game without any frees being given. He himself is not a dirty player and just wants to get on with open attacking football and to be given fair play. Perhaps he did ham it up a bit on a couple of occasions but he felt he had to do that to get well deserved frees. Galway sides have been accused of being too clean and naive in the past (hoping to win playing pure non-cynical football) so its good to see that at least one player decided to stand up for himself. Overall I thought Corofin were by far the better team and fully deserved the 10 point margin. Neither the first half Slaughtneil penalty claim or the last minute penalty given were penalties IMO as there was very little (if any) contact with the Slaughtneil forwards in either case - just a case of bad control / finishing by those forwards and good defending by Corofin.

I think you need to read back and get what it is people have against Lundy , from very early on he was trying to get lads yellow cards , club players on their biggest day of their career and hes trying to influence the ref sometimes when hes hardly been touched .
Standing up for yourself and what Lundy was doing are two completely different things .
Stand out player on the day , but his premiership over the top antics aren't needed or wanted , all its done is take a little gloss of what was a class performance from himself otherwise .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/03/2015 13:18:14    1704109

Congrats Corofin on a well deserved win. An inspiration for the county team, hopefully. Most of the complaining about refs appears to focus on the football. I thought the amount of head high tackles inflicted on the Ballyhale payers, most of which went unpunished, was disgraceful. It shouldn't matter how much a team are winning by or how successful they have been, refs be taking the appropriate action.

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 18/03/2015 13:48:57    1704122

Damo.... It hasnt taken any gloss off the win, trust me!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 18/03/2015 14:00:50    1704128

Well done Corofin. Fantastic day for roscommon football.

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 18/03/2015 15:05:32    1704160

Square ball from Westmeath, Corofin is in Galway not Roscommon. Next you will be saying Athlone is in Roscommon - oh sorry that's right, part of it is!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3329 - 18/03/2015 15:29:46    1704174

Square_ball, you're not the first to make that mistake. Ulsterman failed his geography test earlier.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 18/03/2015 17:27:12    1704226

tom healy, liam silke, daithi burke, and ian burke
on the corofin team all won under 21 all ireland with galway in 2013

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 18/03/2015 18:20:01    1704246

Not wanting to second guess square ball but I took his comment as a tongue in cheek reference to my fellow Countymans faux pas yesterday.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 18/03/2015 19:30:49    1704270

abio8
County: USA

in fairness athcliath its more about the media reaction..if corofin were tyrone there would be a lot more made of it as there always is with them

I wouldnt disagree that Ulster teams at times get unfair press and when they win games get praised grudgingly from certain quarters, Donegal are a prime example last year who didnt buy into the media hype and played a great counter attacking football game against us.
But Contrary to what Ulstermn would have you believe the Dubs can get a raw deal also, we get praised grudginly also when we win. Anything we win is always down to population and money.
But baack on topic Corofin have been best club team all year and i dont think yesterdays game needs to be dragged into a poor sob story from UM again.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 18/03/2015 21:12:21    1704304

18/03/2015 14:00:50
Belclare1

Damo.... It hasnt taken any gloss off the win, trust me!
18/03/2015 15:05:32

I said it had taken the gloss off Lundys performance , were talking about his antics , read back and you will see what I said .
Off course it wouldnt take a gloss off the win and why should it , Corofin have been the best team this year and desreved winners .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/03/2015 21:12:48    1704305

Lundy was a bit theatrical and animated at times I would agree but he was also fouled advancing on goal and there was no free or anything, so I think the ref. balanced things out for both sides. Well done Corofin, true warriors

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 19/03/2015 09:48:21    1704364

fabio8
in fairness athcliath its more about the media reaction..if corofin were tyrone there would be a lot more made of it as there always is with them

But the reason for that is that had this been tyrone it would just be the latest chapter in the tyrone cynical football saga. It is like a guy with 20 convictions up in court or another guy on his first. Of course the guy with 20 convictions gets more reaction, it is his own doing and he deserves as much. Surely the fact that he is a repeat offender is relevant? He will get a stronger punishment too by the way - something you haven't given much consideration to in your reasoning here by the looks of things. That is where this whole 'hypocrisy' thing falls down. The cases are not the same. If corofin had been pulling this kind of stuff game in game out for 15 years then they would be getting more criticism too, and deservedly so. Therefore there is no double standard. The only hypocrisy I can see is where guys defended tyrone for years, time after time, again and again, saying it was modern football all along, yet when a team like corofin do it even once they have no problem labelling them as cynical and even naming and shaming individuals in the process! How does that work? It was modern football a minute ago!

Guys just seem to want it every way. Personally if a team is cynical once I will treat them as such. If a team is cynical for over a decade I treat them as such. It is really as simply as that. I have no interest defending corofin if they were in the wrong. The galway lads had only just shut up talking about 1998, it wasn't really in my interests to start them off again...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/03/2015 10:00:51    1704373

1998 oh yes Master what a great year, and 2001 not a bad year either!!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 19/03/2015 11:15:20    1704404

So TheMaster, the Galway lads will be in your ear until at least 2032 going by the mileage they get out of a club victory. And the there's the all Ireland on top of that.Hardly the noisy neighbours but can't be great even if ye have a few Connaught titles to throw back at them.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 19/03/2015 16:52:16    1704536