Club Finals

Ulsterman

Coldrick was poor, he didn't award a blatant penalty and black card while allowing some Corofin player to playact, fall about and wave imaginary cards to get fellas booked. We have witnessed waves of criticism directed at Tyrone for some stuff and wonder will we have the same scrutiny of Corofin? We all know we won't and once again we will see complete hypocrisy and double standards being applied.

The carping coming out of some of the Ulster-based posters here is incredible; your side were outclassed today, accept it. Corofin could have had 13 men today and they still would have won. So much for Joe Brolly's pre-match prediction, eh?

And for the record I think Lundy let himself down today with some of his diving and face-holding, but he was the only one from Corofin indulging in that foolishness.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 17/03/2015 20:43:53    1703905

Not the first Lundy to be not liked in Derry ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 17/03/2015 20:49:46    1703906

Indeed Gleebo Mayo teams would have serious experience of being totally outclassed over the past decade or so in Croke Park; the law of averages would say they you would have the odd win now and again as Corofin did today and well done. They were the better side but classy I am afraid not for their shameful and disgraceful antics.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 17/03/2015 21:09:52    1703920

Corofin were by far the best team and btw Ulsterman they are from Galway you are clueless. Look at the tape again and you will see that the ref. could have used the black card against McEldowney on a challenge against Lundy. The peno at the end was crazy, seven steps and no real contact lol
Anyway, well done to Corofin and I hope Slaughtneil can make it back to hq again to fight another day

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 17/03/2015 21:20:54    1703931

Hold my hands up on that one, bad mistake; doesn't change my points though..

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 17/03/2015 21:25:17    1703938

Ulsterman

Indeed Gleebo Mayo teams would have serious experience of being totally outclassed over the past decade or so in Croke Park; the law of averages would say they you would have the odd win now and again as Corofin did today and well done. They were the better side but classy I am afraid not for their shameful and disgraceful antics.

Maybe ye should look at the Gaa outside of Ulster . To recognise where teams are from.
Youll Probably blame the southern media for your lack of knowledge .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 17/03/2015 21:29:22    1703942

Well done to Corofin deserving All Ireland winners. Second senior All Ireland winner from Connacht in three years and Castlebar reached the final last year which goes to show the strength of club football in our province.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 17/03/2015 21:31:37    1703944

I also have NOT said that Corofin DIDN'T deserve to win, they are a very good side, but wrong decisions affect the outcomes of games and you can't ignore them either.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 17/03/2015 21:36:05    1703948

In Ulstermans eyes there is a 'them' and 'us', everyone south of the border is the same to him.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 17/03/2015 21:36:48    1703949

Happy St. Paddy's Day Ulsterman we all make mistakes

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 17/03/2015 21:38:12    1703952

Indeed soma those Mexcicans can look all the same at times, it can be confusing.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 17/03/2015 21:44:07    1703958

everybody seems to be as bad as each other these days soma in fairness as regards the us v them argument..ulster people generally defend their own and i cant blame them considering anybody who seems to play in a bad match up there or gets in a bit of a scuffle seems to get a complete slating and slammed with the ulster label most commonly tyrone...most of this was harmless but the worst it ever was was after that club junior match a few years back....people dont seem to mind piling in when its an ulster team involved either

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 17/03/2015 21:51:59    1703968

Not the first Lundy to be not liked in Derry ;)
well spotted ath cliath!

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 17/03/2015 21:53:27    1703971

in fairness athcliath its more about the media reaction..if corofin were tyrone there would be a lot more made of it as there always is with them

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 17/03/2015 21:53:40    1703972

Disappointing club finals in the end.

Both Slaughtneil and Killmallock were totally outclassed unfortunately.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 18/03/2015 08:30:55    1703984

Ulsterman - You really do love an aul moan. Happy Wednesday!

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 18/03/2015 08:49:02    1703987

I can't say I'm to surprised with how the football went after seeing the two semis it was very hard to see it been close, I thought the hurling would be closer but was very disappointing,

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1595 - 18/03/2015 09:20:49    1703997

What a great day for Galway footall and Corofin football. The best thing about this team is that they play the game the way it should be played!!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 18/03/2015 09:41:54    1704006

Ulsterman

On two occasions we were indeed outclassed, and I have no problem admitting it, unlike your good self. Mayo actually win most of the games they play in Croker, unlike, say Antrim, and they've also won most of the games played against Ulster opposition in that time, think only Tyrone in '08 and Donegal in 2012 (edit: also Derry in the qualifiers in '07) beat Mayo in the championship during that period.

In that time, Mayo have beaten most of your beloved Ulster sides, including Tyrone, Fermanagh, Donegal, Down, Cavan in the championship and also Monaghan, Derry and Armagh in the league. We have also won an U-21 All-Ireland and a minor All-Ireland (beating two Ulster sides in Croke Park en route!) during that period, as well as two All-Ireland club titles. I'm sure your county would love to have a couple of recent national championship wins (other than Loughgiel winning the club hurling a couple of years back).

Slaughtneil were outclassed, despite what Joe Brolly may have told you beforehand. Corofin were the best side in Ireland this year and proved it all along. And Lundy should have been given a yellow at least for his playacting, but it would have had little bearing on the outcome.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/03/2015 10:09:06    1704024

Lundy class act on the ball no doubt , two games in a row hes been outstanding , the theatrics are way over the top and have no place in the game , having said that best team won by a mile , fair play to Ballyhale also .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/03/2015 11:40:14    1704061