Davy O'Halloran back with Clare

keeper7, realman2 - All comments on this tread are based on what people want to believe. Either that or people are very naive thinking a journalist has the ability to write exactly what was said by Davy O'Halloran

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 19/03/2015 17:01:37    1704539

Aye, that crossed my mind, alright! ;-)

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 19/03/2015 17:07:57    1704541

Ban

All comments on this tread are based on what people want to believe and that applies to the Clare management as well as everyone else. The first thing you do is take a man at his word, end off, not second, third or whatever you want to believe. I believe the player because everything else is just nuts.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 19/03/2015 18:41:23    1704567

It really is ridiculous that players be ostracised from their team-mates for such a minor breach of the rules. If such a punishment was meted out in a school or a workplace there would be hell to pay, and rightly so, but some seem to think that it's fine to isolate people on a gaelic pitch. There are a number of other punishments that could have been issued without attempting to psychologically damage the players involved.

As an aside,just what is going on down in Wexford? Christmas dinner calorie counts are wildly excessive and dictatorial, IMO. What is expected to be gained from it? The players are going to be running their nads off come January anyway, and it' not like there's a big game coming up at that time of the year. For Premier League footballers playing matches over the festive season I could understand it. Between that and the craic with the county's football management and the media, it seems like things have gone way off-piste down there.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/03/2015 18:48:55    1704570

arock

"The first thing you do is take a man at his word, end off"

Nobody has heard from Davy O'Halloran! People have been reading the words or a journalist!

In my eyes, these are two very different sources of information

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 19/03/2015 19:20:45    1704579

Ban

we wouldnt have much to talk about on here if we didnt take some things on faith, relax yourself.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 19/03/2015 19:25:47    1704583

realman2, surely if they were drinking Davy would have said "The trainer saw them drinking"??

Gleebo, it might be that they were made to track what they ate for Christmas dinner, rather than an actual limit? I dont know but I did see a Wexford hurler in a restaurant about 3 days after Christmas and he was having a good dinner so I suggest it could equally be an urban myth!! And to be fair, if it is the case, for the hurlers at least, it is yielding results.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 19/03/2015 20:05:08    1704598

SaffronDon
we wouldnt have much to talk about on here if we didnt take some things on faith

For the most, people on this site talk about what goes on before them on the pitch, give their honest opinion based on how they see the game

To say we rely so much on second hand information for topics of conversation is bazarre!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 19/03/2015 20:11:42    1704601

Pinkie
County: Wexford

realman2, surely if they were drinking Davy would have said "The trainer saw them drinking"??

Gleebo, it might be that they were made to track what they ate for Christmas dinner, rather than an actual limit? I dont know but I did see a Wexford hurler in a restaurant about 3 days after Christmas and he was having a good dinner so I suggest it could equally be an urban myth!! And to be fair, if it is the case, for the hurlers at least, it is yielding results.

Fair enoough Pinkie, if that's the case then it's not so bad. Jaysus I'd be depressed if I couldn't tuck into the meat and gravy on the one day of the year ;) I suppose results will justify anything, but on the flip side, they are used as a weapon if these sorts of things don't work out.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/03/2015 20:27:51    1704610

Ban

Bizarre is it? so everyone's opinion on here is based on solid facts and nobody listens to write-ups in the papers because they attend every match themselves then? they visit every training session and get the REAL truth do they? lol

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 19/03/2015 20:30:23    1704612

SaffronDon

"Bizarre is it?"
Yes

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 19/03/2015 20:55:24    1704623

I can tell you another thing lads, and maybe its a different approach or something, but Wexford's current hurlers would absolutely die for Liam Dunne. But he treats them like adults and you'd occasionally see the odd one out but not drinking or late even.
These lads are entitled to a social life, it is only a game after all and as sombody rightly said, is it better that they are at home gambling online or doing some of the other evils the internet promotes?
Davy needs to realise it is not the Gestapo he is running, and that players will tolerate being treated like rubbish for a while before the decide they've had enough. If a player is committed enough to do all the training, matches, lifestyle, etc then what is the problem with them going out to a pub and having a coke?

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 20/03/2015 11:06:34    1704717

Good to see Patrick back. Can't wait to hear all his misinformed crap about the GPA. Dellboy/Patrick. You really shouldn't get yourself too wound up, and you know that.

"there are always 3 sides to every story"

26plus6equals1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 430 - 20/03/2015 12:53:58    1704751

It is an Amatuer game...no need for this..the BOSS went way too far!

oricelt (USA) - Posts: 207 - 21/03/2015 16:30:29    1704999

Pinkie

That's not a myth. No player had any objections either. Each individual had a quota and a goal on terms of body composition during the break as they were working on a fairly strict timeline with strength programmes before concentrating on speed and agility then finally hurling. This was to avoid going totally nuts in January as Dunne is obsessed with avoiding burnout.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2689 - 21/03/2015 16:50:04    1705002

what clare need to do now is get shane o donnell to wear only black boots,that is the root of the problem with the camp at present.either that,or its a fresh supply of mi wadi and biscuits.....

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 30/03/2015 09:02:56    1708172

The 'boss' sets the rules in all counties. Managers' styles and communication skills differ, rightly so. None of us ever know the full facts or truth. One thing is for sure. If players don't tow the line however long or different that line is. Then they are not in. Its how it has always been, in all counties.
Shoulda, woulda, coulda.................didn't!

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 30/03/2015 18:00:07    1708555

Interesting to see that Nicky O Connell who left the panel with Davy O H has rejoined the panel and apparently has moved to distance himself from the comments made by Davy O H.

Perhaps it goes to show that too many people are overly eager to knock Davy Fitz and Clare based on speculation. Granted Fitzy has a tendency to make headlines in his own right, perhaps the result of this situation is that we can be too soon to judge.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2490 - 14/04/2015 09:54:27    1713977

Posted already on this put for some reason didn't get through , the polite version then , please feel free to comment in the volumes that were posted when players left , is it possible to have a reverse knee reaction ?

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/04/2015 10:46:41    1713995

Two posts all day says it all really .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/04/2015 16:20:50    1714132