Davy O'Halloran back with Clare

Bannerboy it said it in the Iriah Times article,

"Davy O'Halloran says that he was not allowed access to the team changing rooms, forced to tog out separately, he was prevented from wearing the panel's gear to training, he was unable to be involved in matches or travel to them, no dialogue was allowed with other team mates at sessions and he was made to train alone in a corner of the pitch doing intensive physical work."

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/clare-hurler-humiliated-by-double-standard-treatment-1.2139431

SomeLad (Monaghan) - Posts: 9 - 15/03/2015 15:02:22    1702831

15/03/2015 14:53:38
hill16no1man

1702829 how come the trainer who was out in the nightclub hasnt got any punishment ?
wouldnt he have had a bigger involvement in the clare set up for the galway game than two injured players?

Because a trainer drinking a few days before a game isn't going to affect his performance in any way. Stupid to compare a trainer and a player like that.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 15/03/2015 15:09:17    1702834

I wouldn't agree that its stupid Ogra. You lead by example - trainer or not if that's what was expected of the players then same should apply.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 15/03/2015 15:32:26    1702844

a few questions and observations
davy o halloran says he wasnt drinking and neither was nicky o connell.
if they wernt what was the problem?can you not go outside the door anymore?
seems harsh if they were injured and not involved in the game 2 days later
there was another guy(or two?) with them who hasnt been disciplined?
hes still on the panel and has escaped censure?
if he is it reminds me of years ago when non trainers were dropped, but if ya got to a final they were on the team..!!

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 16/03/2015 10:18:11    1703222

It is baffling to me how grown men can allow themselves to be subject to these type of "rules". In fairness the lads in question have walked away but it surely reflects poorly on all concerned. Maybe Brolly is correct in relation to GAA management, but somehow I don't think this is going to go away.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 16/03/2015 11:23:41    1703276

If ever a case cried out for GPA intervention, this does. Treating adults like kindergarten kids is totally unacceptable.Is there anyone in the ranks of the Clare players man enough to put an end to this ?

jerryp (Cork) - Posts: 104 - 16/03/2015 11:34:11    1703283

jerryp

I think you put your finger on it and I guess the answer is clearly no, boys among men.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 16/03/2015 18:36:43    1703542

ograandun
Because a trainer drinking a few days before a game isn't going to affect his performance in any way. Stupid to compare a trainer and a player like that.

but the players were injured and not drinking and not going to be playing
the trainer may have been drinking and would have been involved in the game

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/03/2015 18:47:22    1703549

its a pity clare won on saturday because if they had of lost
davy would have been irate and we may have got a lot more out of him haha regarding this

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/03/2015 18:49:42    1703551

Offside Rule and Hill - I have never known of a drinking ban that involves the management team as well. A drinking ban is in place for players because alcohol affects your performance for a few days after drinking it, as well as increasing the risk of injury. There is no reason why a trainer should be subject to a drink ban because they do not need to perform physically in a match a few days later.

I can see why the lads were disciplined but obviously it was way too far, but I don't understand the calls for the trainer to be punished. The trainers are usually not playing hurling/football any more and have done their time on drinking bans or whatever during their playing days.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 17/03/2015 11:04:52    1703687

Ogra - I managed a team of ours who got to the Championship final last year. The way things fell the club dinner was 2 nights before the final and the lads knew they weren't to be drinking. I had missed the previous years dinner due to my daughters birth on the same day and had very few opportunities to get out in the year in between so was looking forward to it for a while. However, I took the car and stuck to the soft drinks as I believe you lead by example. That's why my stance is as it is.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 17/03/2015 17:15:42    1703794

two injured players who respect the no drinking rule despite being where temptations are at their height should be feckin rewarded for their loyalty instead of being bullied by their manager. Anyway sitting at home doesn't come without its own set of problems, just ask Wayne Rooney and he's a professional.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 17/03/2015 20:11:00    1703882

I am not sure which side of this I find more laughable. The fact that they were being "punished" for going to a pub and not drinking, or that the punishment included not being allowed to talk to your team mates, change in the same dressing room or wear the training gear. It is all laughable, idiotic, and downright stupid from somebody who thinks it is the gestapo he is running!

Like what were they being punished for? Socialising, and not drinking? If they were drinking I would say fair enough. Players are entitled to not be ruled with an iron fist like that, they have to have a life beyond hurling, training, etc.

If I was a player and was treated like that, I would tell him where to stick his hurling panel and I think the 2 lads did completely right to publicise because it highlights just how backward some GAA managers are in their thinking. I have occasionally seen Wexford hurlers out and not drinking (unlike 3-4 years ago when I often seen them drinking!!) and not batted an eyelid. They are entitled to a social life at the end of it all.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 17/03/2015 20:34:04    1703898

The GPA need to get involved. No amateur player who dedicates is own personal time to represent his County should be forced to sign a code of conduct or humiliated like that in front of the panel. Davy needs to get a grip.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 17/03/2015 21:57:14    1703978

but ograandun what where the players doing wrong?
they werent drinking alcohol
and they were both injured and couldnt play the weekend
I see no difference in them going to the cinema or a nightclub at that rate

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/03/2015 08:57:16    1703992

I was out with a Tipp player last Friday night, he drank 2 pints of mi wadi and was home in bed by 1.30.
He goes out against Kilkenny on the following Sunday and plays very well.
From Dec 30th (he often missed new years eve due to training new years day) until they are knocked out of the championship, he'll only touch alcohol after Tipp play a championship match, thats maybe 5 / 6 times in sometimes 9 months.
Would Davy expect him to only go outside the door on them 5 / 6 nights in 9 months? Madness!

SaffronDon makes a very good point about the problems that arise with sitting at home alone, too often lately we've seen stories of players comes out with depression or gambling problems.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 19/03/2015 09:30:05    1704357

I wouldn't hold my breadth regarding the GPA. Sure haven't we seen players been ridiculed in the media, including RTE, over the years and their representative body never saw fit to speak out on their behalf. On the contrary we now have a high profile GPA committee member playing the role of critic himself and not shy about having a go!

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 19/03/2015 09:55:06    1704367

GPA your joking they could not help the Derry county player that got refused expenses from a medical condition after what he done for club and county player welfare my backside . So there not going to get involved in this

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/03/2015 10:25:58    1704384

You'd have to see the Code of Conduct they signed up to to know what's what, really. Anyone read what Ger Loughnane said about it?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 19/03/2015 12:08:39    1704426

Does anything think that assuming the two lads saying they weren't drinking doesn't necessarily mean they weren't drinking?

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 19/03/2015 12:11:12    1704428