Kerry v Dublin - a bit negative and dirty

Give it a rest Ulsterman . Tyrone deserved to win the game last night, they were the better team ,with a game plan that worked for them, we were very poor and we have to improve big time . Mattie Donnelly and Peter harte caused us a lot of trouble. Our half backs were too far off their men and im sick of Philly going up the pitch and having pot shots.Too many of our players not looking up and playing the right pass.
Last night was a bad game to try and watch if you were a Dub, it was like rugby trying to break through the lines of defence, but most of it was our own fault with poor play. Tyrone didnt make Philly go up for his usual pot shots or Nicky to be so far off his man.If you were a Tyrone fan you would have to be happy with the overlapping and breaking at pace. Tyrone looked fitter and much more organised .
We got out of jail , but it will stand to us.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 08/03/2015 19:44:58    1700508

Royaldunne these Northies are so warped they think were only giving out cause we're not winning ha ive watched my whole life seeing Dublin teams lose im well use to it ive only seen 3 all Irelands in my life time and when we're bet by a better team ive no problem with it whatsoever. My problem is with the state of Gaelic football not Dublin losing but Ulsterman and co just can't see that or else they can but just don't care as long as there team or in Ulsterman's case province are winning.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/03/2015 20:14:17    1700520

Seems like it was an interesting game in Letterkenny alright. One score from Donegal in the entire second half. I'm sure Ulsterman will tell us that it was 'fascinating'.

I love this line from the report as it sums up the direction in which the game is going...

'The standard of football was dire with Monaghan parking two buses and Donegal just playing the ball over and back on the 45m line.'

Very intriguing. It's not supposed to be entertaining so what's the harm. Let's hope the Donegal people took Ulsterman's advice and went 'to the circus' for their entertainment.

Good two points for Monaghan.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/03/2015 20:18:47    1700524

Incredible facts from last nights game....dublin committed 25 fouls...tyrone committed FIVE...incredibly tyrone committed only ONE foul in the second half...surely this has to be a record!...dublin committed six fould inside tyrone's 70 yd line...they didn't commit one foul in this sector in the first half...tyrone backs were killing dublin carrying from defence...obviously the dubs were instructed to foul in this area in the second half...now lads...who is the cynical team!!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 08/03/2015 20:29:21    1700533

u werent saying this last year clondalkin when dublin were beating teams out of the gate in lesinter and monaghan...best team ever you said..times have changed huh?..quit moaning and hope your manager adapts his tactics..nobody enjoys watching dublin beat wexford by 15-20 points

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 08/03/2015 20:29:30    1700534

Tyronegal :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/03/2015 20:31:58    1700538

Clondalkin. Like myself and majority of supporters ( apart from Kerry ones) we have all witnessed more defeat than victory. I watched the highlights if you could call them that , and those blanket defenses are destroying our game, look i watched Kildare do it in navan, its getting contagious, stop it now.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/03/2015 20:53:56    1700559

I see someone quoting some American guru about the non-existence of good losers......

Once you say its all about winning you are admitting you are a professional.

Amateurism is all about taking part.

Has the GAA gone pro?
I know the managers are professional but the whole organisation?

If that

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 08/03/2015 20:53:56    1700560

I've been reading the reaction of some Dub fans on other forums and I agree with what a few of them are saying. Basically they believe that some Dublin players are still a bit shell-shocked from the Donegal game and haven't adjusted to that loss in their minds yet. Everything up to then was going perfectly for Dublin and then they met a team who matched them physically and tactically and Dublin looked a bit lost when Plan A failed; they didn't have a Plan B. Ciaran Whelan said on the highlights tonight that Dublin still look very open to counter attacks when they lose possession. I watched the game and didn't think it was as bad as some people are making out. Tyrone should have won by at least 5 points and will be kicking themselves. They exposed Dublin on the flanks and really opened them up at times. People should stop living in a chocolate box perfect world where they believe ALL football should be played by elfin like figures on Golden clouds while angels play harps on the sidelines. Every sport has different teams playing different styles so stop this biased nonsense against 'rough,defensive Nordies'. I don't like the way Chelsea play soccer but they are very effective and fascinating to watch. The criticism fired against Tyrone, Armagh, Donegal just comes across as biased, partitionist, bitter nonsense sometimes whipped up by a very, very hostile Southern media and some GAA elements there.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 08/03/2015 20:54:11    1700561

Look again at the title of this topic and consider all the comments in that context! Posters do not seem to understand what is going on.

To build an organised modern team you start with the foundation. The foundation is defence. So Tyrone are perfecting their organisational base to build a sustainable future. Tyone have marquee forwards emerging (and that word marquee reminds me of parish carnivals in the '60s more than serious skill - and is Bernard Brogan a marquee after last night?).

McCurry, McCann, McShane and McAlliskey also a slightly thinner Ronan O'Neill can all become marquee forwards for Tyrone when the organisation and the defence is right (couple them with McNulty and Joe McMahon back).

Kerry and Dublin cannot just demand all the defenders in the rest of Ireland stand aside so we can all watch in awe their strictly come dancing marquee antics (see today's 'shoot-out' with Cork). Get with it work out the way past the defence. I look forward to it!

Do it by planning, thinking, sweating and playing not by whinging and trying to win some phoney media war.

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 08/03/2015 20:56:45    1700564

Exactly cjx; that is the crux. There seems to be a real contempt outside Ulster that Tyrone, Donegal, Monaghan, Armagh etc don't play the game and roll over to Kerry and Dublin. These teams have went to Croker with a bit of attitude and a winning mindset and that's what really annoys certain elements. I don't believe it is ANYTHING to do with style or gameplan.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 08/03/2015 21:05:12    1700570

Cjx utter tripe. The truth is man for man Tyrone are way behind Dublin Kerry cork mayo. Its only there puke tactics to destroy genuinely talented teams that have them where they are, Tyrone and marquee players are like equating leaving a bull in charge of a china shop.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/03/2015 21:11:17    1700574

Ulsterman

Exactly cjx; that is the crux. There seems to be a real contempt outside Ulster that Tyrone, Donegal, Monaghan, Armagh etc don't play the game and roll over to Kerry and Dublin. These teams have went to Croker with a bit of attitude and a winning mindset and that's what really annoys certain elements. I don't believe it is ANYTHING to do with style or gameplan.

-----
Ulsterman, read that back and think about it. Tyrone did not beat Dublin last night nor last year. Dublin beat Donegal a few weeks ago. Dublin battered Monaghan in the summer and have not lost to Armagh in over a decade I think. So this has nothing to do about Ulster teams not rolling over for Dublin, or Kerry I'm sure. Our record is excellent against Ulster teams. This is about the state of the game. Now what do you have to say about the game in Letterkenny today. You have no Dublin or Kerry to hide behind, in fact you have no 'southern' team at all to deflect attention on to. Now tell us objectively what do you think of that game, reading the reports etc?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/03/2015 21:22:16    1700580

Cjx
We didn't demand Donegals defence to stand aside we just went out and beat them like we did to ye'r selfs in 2012 and Armagh in 2006, lads ye have to stop playing the victim card the whole time and throw away the tinfoil hats and just move on. It's starting to get a bit nuts tbh.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/03/2015 21:31:30    1700588

reading the reports?..could somebody not just go to the game or watch it on tv and form their own opinion based off that?..who bases their opinion on a report in a newspaper?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 08/03/2015 21:34:28    1700592

A lot of bitter Dubs on here tonight! In a spot of bother so blame the nordies! It's almost laughable! As for the Kerry lads going on about how Kerry beat the system and how Kerry always adapt? Really lads? Donegal gifted ye the All Ireland last year with Durcans kick out and he ref gifted ye the semi against Mayo so I wouldn't be getting too carried away!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 08/03/2015 21:41:07    1700599

royaldunne

Clondalkin. Like myself and majority of supporters ( apart from Kerry ones) we have all witnessed more defeat than victory. I watched the highlights if you could call them that , and those blanket defenses are destroying our game, look i watched Kildare do it in navan, its getting contagious, stop it now.

Tell me what you would prefare, Meath to line out against Dublin with attack as their strategy and get roasted by 10 plus points (no contest), or an effective defensive plan that keeps you in the game from start to finish?

I guess because Meath don't employ the latter its easy to give out at counties that do, but if the shoe was on the other foot are you going to tell me you would turn your back on your beloved county??

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 08/03/2015 21:43:28    1700601

Man to Man, forwards against backs, blah blah... what a boring a view of the world, how rigid and thoughtless. I see no were in the rules of GAA that a manager cannot play to the strengths of his team?? Gaelic football has moved on, away from a one dimensional game and has evolved to something much more interesting. Its now about tactical awareness, its about not only attacking but counterattacking, playing a game when your in possession but also when your not in possession.

The moaning on here about Tyrone's tactical awareness just sounds like pure sour grapes, and it comes from fans and media alike. Perhaps Kerry should have defended a bit like our boys last night instead of getting thumped by the rebels today.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 08/03/2015 21:43:49    1700602

Ulsterman, CJX and Mayotyroneman....

Interesting comments.

Now go back to Tyrones six fouls. How would ye all rate the referees performance last night?

Dublin 25 fouls you say......six yellow cards.

Tyrone, 6 fouls.

Now you can look at that in two ways, excellent defending, or poor officiating. How many scores did Tyrone score from play?

I like your argument, WUM, but it doesn't hold up.

Tyrone fouled constantly. If the ref had officiated properly in my opinion we would be talking an easy Dublin win and a poor Dublin performance.

Teams will set up to their strengths, both teams were poor last night. If you look at possession and forward runs, Dublin dominated. Dublin got hauled down breaking the lines all the time. The free count is irrelevant. Every time a Tyrone player came into contact he hit the ground and received a free. Let's not sugar coat what was a dreadful Tyrone performance. You know.....there is no bubble. If Dublin lose, it's because they aren't good enough. But officials are now fearing making right calls.

If referees reward cynical fouling by blanket defences, then teams will continue. Honestly if I reffed that Donegal Monaghan game there would be 6 black cards and at least 3 straight reds. And the diving (like Tyrone last night) would be ignored. Stop rewarding cynical play.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 08/03/2015 21:44:07    1700604

Well said fabio!

Really Joxer...? You surprise me! Everybody should form an opinion on a game by reading the newspaper reports? Oh he power of the media to corrupt narrow little minds!!!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 08/03/2015 21:46:05    1700607