Kerry v Dublin

cuederocket

Jimbo i cudnt put it better myself.Although i love our 2 games they are completely farcical and unjust in so many areas.Sometimes i despair abd dont know whether to laugh or cry.

_________

Yeah two great games but played within a very questionable structure that puts certain counties at a distinct advantage / disadvantage

So really... this so called ALL IRELAND series is played out by about 8 counties every single year - even within that small group you have counties who have it far better than the other....

To be honest... The Championship it's a bit of craic and something to do for a lot of people I guess... but when you really think about it... it's a bit all over the shop and a bit meh...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/02/2015 16:48:56    1697173

Do you remember when they had an open draw back in 84
Kerry won put Kerry in any province you want they will
still win AI Dublin are lucky they are not in Munster
because they would never win an AI if they were the cream
always comes to the top we are the champions suck it up Dubs
you might have to visit Kerry on a regular basis if ye want
to see Sam

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 26/02/2015 17:05:09    1697178

Anyway lads back to the game this weekend...some of the Kerry and Dublin supporters obviously have a gripe with each..others do not.

I think it will be closer than people think. A draw will be a good result and would take a draw now if I was offered it. It is great taking on the Dubs in our own back yard. They hammered us the last time there so we owe them one. Always great craic with the Dubs supporters whether it be in Kerry or Croker. There is always going to be some bit of rivalry between the supporters but that is to be expected when 2 of the top 3 teams in the country face off against each other. The Dubs will want to show that they are still the top team in the country. Kerry will not want to be beaten in their own back yard. It should be a great game and hopefully both teams will go at it.

I will be watching the match in a pub in Dublin with a few Dubs so that should be interesting. Needless to say I will have my Kerry jersey on!!!! I just hope I am not fired out of the pub at some stage!

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 26/02/2015 17:12:25    1697181

Joxer
Yes but it's not just one county though is it. You can look at it a couple of ways. How is splitting Dublin the solution when you have Kerry with a population almost 5 times that of Leitrim. Mayo similarly and they are playing in the same province. Do you split all counties down so that you end up with x teams representing pockets of 20,000 for example, or do you split some and amalgamate others?

No that is true in fairness. But splitting Dublin would have a lot of positive knock on effects for other counties. The other teams in leinster for example have clearly become disenchanted with the whole set up, and that to me is a big reason why so many of them have regressed - a common theme in competitions where one or two teams completely dominate, the players have lost heart in it. They would have a genuine chance of winning something and that would drive them on to being more competitive, and that should always be the overall goal. On the topic of Dublin themselves, I think people are fooling themselves if they think that the Dublin teams wouldn't be a force. Initially there might be a hiccup, but 3-5 years in Id be very surprised if one of them wasn't in an AI final, no question about it. I think you would see guys come in and step up. Surely when we can do it in mayo with 120,000 odd people, the same would happen in Dublin with 700,000? There is nothing to fear on that front at all.

As for the likes of Leitrim, well you could amalgamate them with a team or a number of teams. Or maybe give them the choice themselves or whatever. That could be decided on their own terms, with a preference towards joining up with another weaker side.

At the end of the day, it comes back to the question, what do we want out of the gaa? Do we want a strictly county-based, dad's army sort of sport that isn't really based in reality in terms of competition or balance as jimbo has outlined, or do we want let the product itself dictate a bit more to develop as strong a sporting spectacle as possible? Personally I think if we did do that, the gaa would grow even bigger.

Where it falls down is where people automatically see it as a negative thing, but I don't see it like that at all, quite the opposite actually. Imagine the spectacle of Dublin north v Dublin south competing in the leinster final, it would be brilliant. Now compare that to Dublin v meath or laois as it is currently - damp squib with little interest. What was apparent when the gaa went to sky is that to develop the competition, we need more tight games at the top level. 4-5 tight games in a year isn't enough. We need teams doing what donegal done to Dublin - i.e. coming with a gameplan and believing they could win - in the provincial semis, not the all Ireland semis.

The truth is the answer has been staring us in the face, and has been on the lips of many Dublin officials of late when discussing funding etc - Dublin is now a de facto province. The way forward is to treat it as such, not reign in the development because of their senior football team. Winning Sam Maguire shouldn't dictate the overall development of the game as a whole.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/02/2015 17:13:07    1697182

26/02/2015 16:45:22
TheHermit

Kilkenny in lot more finals in league and championship in last 10 to fifteen years and more titles won so overall more dominant for sure.

A quick look at the record books would suggest otherwise:

Kerry: 37 All Irelands, 19 National Leagues, 76 Munster Championships, 2 4-in-a-rows, 2 3-in-a-rows, 1 Hurling All Ireland

Kilkenny: 35 All Irelands, 17 National Leagues, 69 Leinster Championships, 1 4-in-a-rows,1 3-in-a-row, 0 Football All Irelands

Considering the far more competitive nature of Gaelic football versus hurling (19 counties have won football All Ireland/13 hurling) in my humble (admittedly bias) opinion, Kerry's tradition and success rates are the more impressive.

Now its a matter of personal opinion if you think 10 All Irelands in 15seasons (Kilkenny 2000-15) is more impressive than 8 All Ireland's in 10 Seasons (Kerry 1975-When are Dublin naming their team by the way??

If you include league final appearances and titles over last 20 years as I mentioned then the picture is slightly more KK favourable I think.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 26/02/2015 17:30:20    1697188

We will have to agree to disagree Dublinn!

I see Star is in Eamon's thoughts for Sunday. Kerry team is being named later tonight, I hope Donaghy is accommodated somewhere in the match day squad. I think he will make for a fantastic captain this year.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/02/2015 17:54:15    1697195

I hope he's in there aswell makes it all the better.
Interesting to see how he reacts to the captaincy.
He's a great asset up front for ye but I sometimes find the mouthing off a bit disappointing.
He doesn't need to do it and the armband might encourage him to concentrate on his own job.
Not sure when JG will name team and could be last minute.
Anyway ,here's hoping it lives up to recent standards.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 26/02/2015 18:17:50    1697202

Yerra he has a mouth on him alright, but that's only typical Tralee townie stuff. You get that all the time from the Stack and O'Rahilly lads!

Do you reckon Connolly will be back in for the Dubs seeing as Vincents were dumped out like Stacks the last day?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/02/2015 18:28:16    1697211

Don't think so, I'd say he'll get a break and won't appear for a few more weeks. You might see a few of the more experienced lads back alright. I'd say it could be a tight affair. No more than 3 pts either way.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 26/02/2015 18:50:00    1697215

I hope to God we don't play Connolly, we need him fresh for the big games later in the year. As for Donaghy, I'd be surprised if he hasn't been spoken to by Fitzmaurice about his in your face mouthing, we had a few of them not so long ago, thankfully all that has stopped!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 26/02/2015 19:17:56    1697235

I'd agree realdub ,we went through a period where that was the case alright but can't see that being allowed now.
Doesn't help your cause one bit and the better teams are well able for all that stuff.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 26/02/2015 19:52:55    1697241

Well Star will be leading the line on Sunday, so you might have to put up with him mouthing off! First game as Kerry captain, a great honour and I'm hoping he puts in a massive performance. Strong enough side named by Fitzy, hopefully the sight of the Dublin jerseys in Killarney will motivate the boys to put in a big display. Only early days, but no harm putting down a wee marker for the year ahead!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/02/2015 21:10:18    1697259

Tidy bench too Hermit, Tommy, Killian, Crowley, BJ keane etc... nice squad developing but I;d be fearful of Kilkenny and Keely if teh truth be told...

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 26/02/2015 21:35:06    1697273

TheHermit my good man, the result on Sunday will have absolutely no influence over a possible fixture later in the year!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 26/02/2015 21:43:13    1697280

We'll put up with all the bawling he can do Hermit if we can come away with a result.Would be nice to win again in Killarney even if it is only March.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/02/2015 08:47:05    1697294

I suppose Jim Gavin had to wait till he saw what team Fitzy is putting out before he can pick his own team. But as I expected Eamon went for a mix of youth and lads that are hanging round the panel. But sure we'll give it a go.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/02/2015 09:11:29    1697301

KingdomBoy1

I suppose Jim Gavin had to wait till he saw what team Fitzy is putting out before he can pick his own team. But as I expected Eamon went for a mix of youth and lads that are hanging round the panel. But sure we'll give it a go.

Yep, Only thing Jim knows is to prepare our lads for the onslaught of the blanket.
Long balls all day into Donaghy , like bombs falling from the sky.
By the end of the game the few Kerry locals that usually turn up for league games will be booing their own team and cheering on the cityboys ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/02/2015 12:25:57    1697365

Hope Dublin fans making the trip this morning and tomorrow to the kingdom have a safe one. Take it easy.

I'll be doing the day trip myself, leaving bright and early sunday morning.

Buzzing for it. Love Killarney. Beautiful place, decent GAA people. Always a savage occasion when the two heavyweights collide.

genuinely more excited about this trip than any other game in Croke park league and early championship in a very long time.

Love an away day. Just a shame work wont allow for the friday and saturday off to make a weekend of it with a beautiful kerry girl. Ah well, Suppose i'll have a few hours to work the charm on sunday ;)

Giddy up.

It isnt a championship game, But hopefully our travelling fans make a bit of an atmosphere and hopefully kerry folk will join in too.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/02/2015 13:54:04    1697400

ya Waynol.. should be some bit of craic in Killarney....safe trip...

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 27/02/2015 14:01:10    1697404

AthCliath

KingdomBoy1

Yep, Only thing Jim knows is to prepare our lads for the onslaught of the blanket.
Long balls all day into Donaghy , like bombs falling from the sky.
By the end of the game the few Kerry locals that usually turn up for league games will be booing their own team and cheering on the cityboys ;)

------

Never were truer words spoken Ath Cliath. Donaghy is a basketball man at heart and he likes nothing more than bombs reigning down on him like rebounds off the glass while he 'boxes out' to claim the ball. Rory has the measure of him though so I expect the Underdog to be prowling around with a puss on him all afternoon giving the ref and anything else that moves, and isn't in green, lots of lip. With Kerry's new found puke football tactics, this game sure ain't going to be for the purist. :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/02/2015 15:10:06    1697441