Kerry v Dublin

Kilkenny in lot more finals in league and championship in last 10 to fifteen years and more titles won so overall more dominant for sure. As for Galway and Mayo well I'll leave that one to you to answer.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 25/02/2015 20:19:21    1696900

My answer is simple. Galway and Mayo, even thoug hteyre in a small province, havent as many all Irelands as Kerry because theyre not as good as them.
You can talk about soft all irelands all you like, but kerry won those titles because theyre bloody good, end of.
If Kerry were in any other province I reckon theyd still be the dominant team in gaelic football.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 25/02/2015 20:49:39    1696909

wfkerry
County: USA

The Dub posters are at it again the last two AI Dublin won wre handy
they have no oppposition in Leinster for a number of years when there
was oppoaition they could win nothing. Kerry have Cork to deal with
and now Tipperary. Kerry win AI because they have the best players in
the country take it on the chin

-----
Yes that football giant, Tipperary currently 100/1 to win Sam closely (not) followed by those other Munster footballing power houses Clare 250/1, Limerick 500/1 and Waterford 750/1. Very challenging province alright! Would ye go way outta tha. Who do ye think yer coddin? Last year was a lucky AI for Kerry, easy passage in Munster aside, avoiding the champions and then coming up against a Donegal team who were wasted after their semi-final effort against the Dubs means that this title has little currency. Do the double this year as the Dubs did in 2013 and then we might consider you the best players in the country.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/02/2015 20:52:57    1696914

In fairness if Tipp,limerick,clare and waterford were in connaught or leinster they have a great chance winning a title. Munster is the strongest province.ulster is overrated

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 25/02/2015 21:56:37    1696945

cuederocket
Jimbo i agree 100% with your post.Everything about Kerry is plainly obvious.And our championship is farcical.Hence why i have proposed the amalgamation of various counties to try and even out the championship.Ive yet to have a taker yet on this subject,but the current format is a joke.And has been for a long long time.

A question. Why is amalgamating several groups of counties ok, but splitting one completely oversized one isn't? Surely if one county is out of kilter, you don't bring everyone else up to meet them, you bring the one county down to the rest...

Oh but that is different, somehow...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/02/2015 09:40:59    1696969

The master
Well said , I totally agree. We have a population of 140,000 in Kerry and Dublin have at least 10 times that amount plus home advantage in every game and they play there football in the weakest province In Ireland and they have their own ref for allireland finals. The whole set up is a shambles for sure.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/02/2015 09:59:37    1696980

I see Donaghy is back this Sunday which is great cause we love beating Kerry with him playing but I've a question for posters why wasn't Donaghy black carded in the club semi final? As a round towers club man we were told the rules last year and one of the rules was you can't shout in an oppenents face in an aggressive manner if so its a black card yet in the first half Donaghy consistently done this in front of the referee yet no black card? I honestly was delighted he didn't get black carded and I don't want to see him black carded sunday if he's at that craic but i hope the rules in future stop him from doing it cause it is very annoying and not within the spirit of our game.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/02/2015 10:02:53    1696983

The whole thing is unfair

Lob sided and all over the shop...

It's a joke of a competition...it really is

Counties with big populations, counties who only concentrate on one code, counties being able to spend more than others, counties with geographical advantages, counties with well funded CB's... the list goes on and on.. it's even unfair to target one county to be overhauled when so many other advantages exists for everyone else....

For something to be fair, it has to be fair right across the board

And so on and so forth... for it to be fair, we have to be equal.

If we're being honest... it's not right and there's too many counties with no chance of winning anything... ever... zero chance

In such an unjust competition.. is there truly any value to it at all...?

I honestly don't think there is... not anymore and not the way the game is changing

The way the game is going and getting more professional..the gap will only increase and those currently on top will just further pull away because the advantages are more favorable for the elite, that's a big part of their position. Because winning breeds winning.. and some counties will never get the chance of realising that.

So many glaringly obvious problems have to be ignored for the thing to work... it's a wee bit of an illusion - this "honour" of winning the All Ireland

The whole thing is vastly unfair, lob sided and finds many counties with outrageous advantages over others... and yet this has to be ignored for us to continue on every summer..

It's unfair to target one county or one province etc.. because it's a problem that exists right across the board... population, economic, geographic, one code advantages can be applied to any county who are capable of using any of the above over another county.

Fairness can only exist if we are all equal and starting from the same point

Thing is though.. it will never change because what's truly needed to make it an even playing field is impossible to implement...

So really... blissful ignorance is required

Is there any relevance to winning something so distorted and unfair?

IMO... No.

Not if you think about it with impartiality and logic

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/02/2015 10:51:33    1697014

It will bring a smile to my face regardless of the result Sunday to see the Jacks are so bitter and envious of Kerry's recent and historical success ........... they cant take it at all!! LOL

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 26/02/2015 10:56:07    1697017

Ciarrai Abu
County: Overseas

1697017 It will bring a smile to my face regardless of the result Sunday to see the Jacks are so bitter and envious of Kerry's recent and historical success ........... they cant take it at all!! LOL

why are you letting it bother you. Kerry are the cream of the crop. dont let a couple keyboard warriors get to you lad. Though i rememember the bitterness when Tyrone beat ye fair and sqaure and all we heard was "puke football"

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 26/02/2015 11:18:40    1697029

25/02/2015 17:51:36
TheHermit

1696856 Ah lads, do we need to do this every 6 months on here: Kerry have an unfair advantage, they have no competition in Munster, they are guaranteed to be the Final every year, every All Ireland they win is 'handy' etc etc, yawn, etc....

Firstly, no county in recent memory has dominated a province the way Dublin have dominated Leinster in the past decade. Anyone from Dublin who goes on about the above, has a great big rock in his hand while walking around a glasshouse. You have not had to leave your own city to play anychampionship game since 2006 FFS!

Secondly, the hurling/football question in Munster works both ways. Kerry hurling suffers as much due to the success and dominance of Cork, Tipp, Clare, Waterford and Limerick as e.g. Waterford's footballers do because of the dominance of Kerry or Cork.

Thirdly, why is it that Kerry, of any county in either code, is only signalled out for 'they get an easy ride' handy 'All Ireland's' argument?? For most of the past 15 years there was nothing in the Leinster hurling championship to touch Kilkenny. They don't even play a Q-final but go straight into a semi-final each year. Where are the people up in arms about how easy Kilkenny have it??

It seems to me most hurling fans have the good grace to acknowledge the Kilkenny's teams great talents and fortitude, why do football fans never extend the Kingdom's teams the same courtesy?

Dont let it get to you. Sure whenever a team wins the bitterness creaps out same when Dublin won last year and us in 2010. We never got the credit in 2010 because "it was only Down ye beat in the final" Enjoy Sam. ye were the best team in 2014

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 26/02/2015 11:23:04    1697033

Imagine being all ireland champs and in your second league of the following season not one camera or tv station covered your game I think that says it all really on ho last years champs and the football they played.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/02/2015 11:51:08    1697045

Game highlights were on TG4 the following Monday - well there goes that theory!!!!

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 26/02/2015 12:20:06    1697058

Jimbodub in fairness can you name me a sporting competition in the worlds that is ''fair''??

I ceratinly cant. Just look at the most followed sporting competiton in the world - The Premiership. Anything but fair.

Im afraid ''sport'' and ''fair'' dont go hand in hand.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 26/02/2015 12:55:49    1697073

Ha the highlights program were they have some lad with a camcorder recording the game and then put up 30 seconds of it on a Monday night oh yeah completely blown that theory out of the water.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/02/2015 13:02:54    1697079

cuederocket
Jimbo i agree 100% with your post.Everything about Kerry is plainly obvious.And our championship is farcical.Hence why i have proposed the amalgamation of various counties to try and even out the championship.Ive yet to have a taker yet on this subject,but the current format is a joke.And has been for a long long time.

A question. Why is amalgamating several groups of counties ok, but splitting one completely oversized one isn't? Surely if one county is out of kilter, you don't bring everyone else up to meet them, you bring the one county down to the rest...

Oh but that is different, somehow...

-----

Yes but it's not just one county though is it. You can look at it a couple of ways. How is splitting Dublin the solution when you have Kerry with a population almost 5 times that of Leitrim. Mayo similarly and they are playing in the same province. Do you split all counties down so that you end up with x teams representing pockets of 20,000 for example, or do you split some and amalgamate others?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/02/2015 13:52:36    1697097

joncarter

1696909 My answer is simple. Galway and Mayo, even thoug hteyre in a small province, havent as many all Irelands as Kerry because theyre not as good as them.
You can talk about soft all irelands all you like, but kerry won those titles because theyre bloody good, end of.
If Kerry were in any other province I reckon theyd still be the dominant team in gaelic football.

Joncarter,
You're right I think when you say Mayo and Galway were not good enough and that's fair enough but I don't think you can say with any certainty that Kerry for all their tradition and essentially one code county would have won as many AI if they were in Ulster over the last 40 + years considering the difficulties that provence had to contend with in order to maintain their games.
I would also venture that Meath and Dublin would have deprived them of a few of those titles in the knock out days.
Of course they are one of the top teams and always will be but geographical placement has I think played some part in the title count not that they can do anything about that of course. I'm sure there is a case for completely changing the whole structure of the competitions but until that happens we will never know.Can't see it happening any time soon.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 26/02/2015 13:55:57    1697100

Jimbo i cudnt put it better myself.Although i love our 2 games they are completely farcical and unjust in so many areas.Sometimes i despair abd dont know whether to laugh or cry.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/02/2015 15:42:25    1697143

Kerry in '97 bet Waterford Clare Cavan and Mayo to win Sam ha we'd have 57 all Irelands by now if we had it that easy.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/02/2015 16:35:42    1697165

Kilkenny in lot more finals in league and championship in last 10 to fifteen years and more titles won so overall more dominant for sure.

A quick look at the record books would suggest otherwise:

Kerry: 37 All Irelands, 19 National Leagues, 76 Munster Championships, 2 4-in-a-rows, 2 3-in-a-rows, 1 Hurling All Ireland

Kilkenny: 35 All Irelands, 17 National Leagues, 69 Leinster Championships, 1 4-in-a-rows,1 3-in-a-row, 0 Football All Irelands

Considering the far more competitive nature of Gaelic football versus hurling (19 counties have won football All Ireland/13 hurling) in my humble (admittedly bias) opinion, Kerry's tradition and success rates are the more impressive.

Now its a matter of personal opinion if you think 10 All Irelands in 15 seasons (Kilkenny 2000-15) is more impressive than 8 All Ireland's in 10 Seasons (Kerry 1975-84).

When are Dublin naming their team by the way??

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/02/2015 16:45:22    1697170