Great start for Dubs against Tipp

Should be a cracker bennybunny! It is a pity that it is not in Parnell or Pairc Uí Rinn as it would be some atmosphere in a packed venue. Both teams will appreciate the run out in Croke Park but a March night is as bleak as it gets in front of 10,000. Apologies, but not convinced of the benefits to the hurlers!

Cork and Dublin have had few close important games - well the league win for us down in Cork to take us into the league final - a nothing match for Cork I suppose. And the semi final two years ago which was great occasion. With GC and his buddy JBM on the line the traditional two city rivalry is set to go up a notch methinks!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/02/2015 10:54:14    1695895

Im sure all hurling Dubs are waking up with a smile today.There will be no begrudgers raining on our parade.Regardless of what Kilkenny team they had out Nowlan Park is one of the most difficult places to win in World Sport.We didnt just win.We mauled Codys cats on Marble city soil.
Beating them in League final was sweet.Beating them in Leinster replay couple years ago was brilliant.Giving them a licking in their own back yard is what all loyal,long suffering Dublin hurling men have waited a long time for.Upto 10 years ago the sight of the black n amber jersey would have struck fear into us.These last few years have proven were as good as any other man.Respect?-100%.Fear?-Never again i hope.It took us many long years of total misery and failure,but now with all the right structures and coaching in place,we are seeeing the fruits of our labour.
Let the bitter,cynical posters have their sneering laughs.Us Dubs cudnt care less.Mes,Hurlingdub,Realdub,Hill etc al.North and South of the Liffey.GAA men to the core.Today is a good day.Roll on bennys rebels!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/02/2015 11:18:10    1695904

I admit i was surprised at treacys accuracy from frees. If he can keep it up. thats a grand alternative to have if ryans having an offDay (or isnt playing). I like dillons eye for goal, at least his miss/point haD the intention. Maybe we wont even need Rushe up there at all in the end

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 23/02/2015 11:31:57    1695907

Im sure all hurling Dubs are waking up with a smile today.There will be no begrudgers raining on our parade.Regardless of what Kilkenny team they had out Nowlan Park is one of the most difficult places to win in World Sport.We didnt just win.We mauled Codys cats on Marble city soil.

Tell me about it - we beat Kilkenny in the Walsh Cup semi in 2008 by 11 points (not sure what adjective we use if 5 points is a mauling) in Kilkenny and sure we haven't looked back since.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/02/2015 11:40:53    1695912

Quarter Final actually

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/02/2015 11:48:27    1695914

Jaysus - and a 2 point mauling, not 11. I am getting old.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/02/2015 11:49:39    1695916

As i said offside,there will be no begrudgers raining on our parade today.I will not take the bait.Aghhhhh what a glorious day city slickers!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/02/2015 11:53:41    1695919

Me - begrudging cuederocket. You have me all wrong. I am just saying that we beat them in their own backyard in 2008 against 15 players and a pretty full strength team if memory serves me correctly and we went on to dominate world hurling for the next 20 years. Its good to know that we finally have another team to take over our position.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/02/2015 12:06:32    1695926

The cats mauled,silicon valley thriving in Grand Canal Square,and business booming!Sometimes its just great to be a Dub!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/02/2015 12:17:44    1695931

lol - let us know when the Gravy Train is leaving Connolly for Belfast Central and I will organise a welcoming party.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/02/2015 12:33:41    1695934

lol - let us know when the Gravy Train is leaving Connolly for Belfast Central and I will organise a welcoming party.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/02/2015 12:34:09    1695935

Great to get a win down there, it should be a boast to the lads in terms of where they hope to go under GC. I wouldn't be getting carried away though, it's a league win in February and nothing more. It means nothing in terms of the summer and only taking a scalp in championship will vindicate any early promise. A harsh world but a welcome reality.

Winning big games regularly without a goal threat is impossible in my view. You just can't hold the best forwards every day and it's been a problem area for a while.

Rushes placement is bold, unforeseen by many including myself, but as a means to have aerial strength and create breaks it's worth it. Often Dublin simply didnt have a presence inside and this change deserves a longer run.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 23/02/2015 12:35:36    1695936

We wont be leaving any time soon pal as weve all the Bisto we need here in the big Apple.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/02/2015 12:43:27    1695940

Lets enjoy a great win but lets not get over excited either. Lots of good things but plenty to work on to. Last 20 we faded badly after 50 minutes of quality

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 23/02/2015 13:14:17    1695954

Offside, if you are talking about the Walsh Cup, it was a mixture of Cats juniors and under 21s you beat, and we hammered Antrim in Parnell in league the week after. Just to keep you honest :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/02/2015 13:59:43    1695973

Great to see Dublin off to a flyer in the League, League or not a win over Kilkenny has to be taken as a moral booster to any team. What did you lads think of the first sending off? the way I saw it the ref was going to give him a yellow for the first two wild wings and then when he slapped the Dublin players hand he had enough of him. Now Cody would say that nobody was injured because of it as if the only time someone should get a red is when blood is drawn - the last I saw that wasn't the criteria for a red card. Yes in a lot of other games he wouldn't have even go a yellow but the ref yesterday gave out quite a few yellows all deserved, it should happen more often.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 23/02/2015 14:05:23    1695974

zinny
County: Wexford

Great to see Dublin off to a flyer in the League, League or not a win over Kilkenny has to be taken as a moral booster to any team. What did you lads think of the first sending off? the way I saw it the ref was going to give him a yellow for the first two wild wings and then when he slapped the Dublin players hand he had enough of him. Now Cody would say that nobody was injured because of it as if the only time someone should get a red is when blood is drawn - the last I saw that wasn't the criteria for a red card. Yes in a lot of other games he wouldn't have even go a yellow but the ref yesterday gave out quite a few yellows all deserved, it should happen more often.

Seriously? The ref had a nightmare yesterday, both sets of players were confused at various points. The first red was a joke. Wild swings you said? Seriously?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 23/02/2015 14:19:25    1695982

Apart from the first red which was harsh, I thought Colm Lyons had an excellent game yesterday. I know him personally and he is an excellent referee. He is extremely fair lad. His club, Nemo Rangers, produce an awful lot of referees. Without them there would be no games. I have seen him referee other games in Cork and intercounty and in my opinion, he is on his way to becoming one of the best referees in the country. In fact he is there already.

People might not like that. Fair enough, I would say every county, divisional and underage board in the country is looking for referees. Pick up a whistle and referee the game yourself.

JohnJo Farrel red card will be rescinded and fair enough.

Zinny is spot on, a player being injured is completely and totally 100% irrelevant. Nobody got injured from Anthony Nash's penalties either but there was widespread consternation.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 23/02/2015 14:57:16    1695996

Oh right hurlingdub - so they played their U21 and junior team in the All Ireland Final that year did they? Only 2 of the KK team that day didn't feature in the AI winning squad and 8 of the team that day against Antrim started in the AI final with the others who were subs in the AI final being:

Richie Hogan
James Ryall
John Dalton
Richie Mulally
Sean Cummins

Keep jogging son.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/02/2015 15:02:59    1696002

bennybunny

Apart from the first red which was harsh, I thought Colm Lyons had an excellent game yesterday. I know him personally and he is an excellent referee. He is extremely fair lad. His club, Nemo Rangers, produce an awful lot of referees. Without them there would be no games. I have seen him referee other games in Cork and intercounty and in my opinion, he is on his way to becoming one of the best referees in the country. In fact he is there already.

People might not like that. Fair enough, I would say every county, divisional and underage board in the country is looking for referees. Pick up a whistle and referee the game yourself.

JohnJo Farrel red card will be rescinded and fair enough.

Zinny is spot on, a player being injured is completely and totally 100% irrelevant. Nobody got injured from Anthony Nash's penalties either but there was widespread consternation.

Look being a ref is a thankless job and I'm sure he is usually good but he was not good at all yesterday, that was the general view. I was totally neutral and thought he spoiled the game.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 23/02/2015 15:16:44    1696006