Weekend hurling predictions

cuederocket

Oops. I meant to reply to you not joxer. See the pressure is getting to me already

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2689 - 23/02/2015 15:48:16    1696019

I was in a foul humour yesterday so I apologise if I came across as bitter towards Dublin. They were just the ones who got the brunt of my mood :)

But in a more subtle way I will still stand by the points I made. There is no point getting to excited about beating Tipp and Kilkenny in February. If in 4/5 months time Dublin were to get beaten by either team then what happened over the last 2 weekends will be a distant memory. In the same way Kilkenny wouldn't give a toss about losing yesterday, Dublin should have the same attitude in regards winning yesterday.

If Dublin can build on yesterday then ya they will be there or there abouts come the Summer. But if they read too much into beating teams with only a dozen or so training sessions done and especially yesterday against a team who were a million miles away from the 15 who will be there come Summer, then it could well be a short Summer. And let's be honest here. Any supporter in the country would take a 30 point beating in the league for a 1 point win against the same opposition in the championship. So take yesterday's wins for what it was. A win in a glorified challenge match.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 23/02/2015 16:06:00    1696024

mike03

Fair play

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/02/2015 16:56:36    1696047

Dublin firing on all cylinders now; makings of a great team!

And good to see Galway return to their usual ways; otherwise all that winning lately might have gone to their heads! :)

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 23/02/2015 17:10:05    1696051

So in conclusion, the league means even less in hurling than in football! Dublin winning the NHL title is probably akin to Cavan winning the NFL so you can understand that it means more to less successful counties for obvious reasons.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 23/02/2015 17:13:06    1696053

I think in hurling the league really does mean nothing. Whereas in football league results lately have been replicated in the championship, in hurling for the last 2 years in particular it has no bearing on the championship.

You are nearly better off in 1b and getting a few wins under your belt without too much hassle and getting yourself ready for the Summer than you are half killing yourself just to stay in 1a.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 23/02/2015 18:01:38    1696071

mike03
County: Limerick

I think in hurling the league really does mean nothing. Whereas in football league results lately have been replicated in the championship, in hurling for the last 2 years in particular it has no bearing on the championship.

You are nearly better off in 1b and getting a few wins under your belt without too much hassle and getting yourself ready for the Summer than you are half killing yourself just to stay in 1a.

-----
Again, not so sure about this. Kilkenny have won the league the past two years and Tipp were runners up the past two years. Last years AI winners were Kilkenny and Tipp were runners up. So both have been going full tilt in the league and both ended up in last year's AI final.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/02/2015 18:25:23    1696082

So Mike. All that whinging about relegation and not winning play-offs is all really a cunning plan on Limerick's part to save themselves for the Summer? Mmmmmmmm. I am intrigued by your idea. Perhaps it needs some tweaking :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/02/2015 18:40:08    1696090

mike03
County: Limerick

Last year Kilkenny beat Tipperary in the League final in a game which finished level after 70mins decided in a way by a team's ability to take penalties...........

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 23/02/2015 18:45:11    1696091

Look mike03,
Nobody with any knowledge of hurling thinks Dublin are certain to win anything because of yesterday.
You can comment on a forum like this to express your take on your teams performance or lack of it so when Dublin get a first win in Nolan park under a new manager then its worthy of some appreciation from their supporters. Nobody's suggesting world dominance or anything like that but just enjoying the run while it lasts. OK its the early stages of the league ,great, so what ,you'd still rather be winning than loosing.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 23/02/2015 18:46:27    1696093

Dublin and Ger Cun are to clever, they will not be getting carried away because they know what they have beaten. A Tipp team that has only 16 available in term of training and a KK squad that are badly effected by club/injuries/retirement. In saying that any other team would be happy to have the four points, and as a Tipp man I'd take a win in Nowlan Park any time. I think it's great to see Dublin hurling freely and not the restricted hurling Daly had them playing.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 23/02/2015 19:16:28    1696098

8 points for me after weekend games. Never expected Dublin to beat KK,if I had gone with head for Offaly game, it could have been 10 points. We have 3 tough games left, and need at least 2 points from remaining games to avoid another relegation struggle.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 23/02/2015 19:20:55    1696103

Any team in Ireland would be thrilled to have beaten Kilkenny anywhere at any time of year in any contest. I'm delighted for the dubs. They're supporters have every right to enjoy it.

I think the league is important. A winning mentality does no team any harm. I'm thrilled that we've four points on the board without breaking a sweat or getting anything close to a decent performance. As a Wexford man I actually feel that the league is nearly more important to us this year.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2689 - 23/02/2015 19:25:03    1696105

Yeah I get your point joxer. Anyway I didn't agree with the other lads.. Ye should be in good spirits for sure!

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 23/02/2015 19:55:06    1696118

Winning in Nowlan Park is never to be sniffed at. I believe if yesterday's match was played in a neutral venue the dubs would have won by a far bigger margin. Nowlan park has a certain aura about it which means KK will never be 'hammered' there, the dubs should be delighted and good for them. I think the people saying dublin shouldnt take any notice of this win would be the same people crucifying them if they lost to KK's 'B' team.

the_post (USA) - Posts: 185 - 23/02/2015 20:00:54    1696124

Hurling dub I don't think Limerick whinged when they were relegated. Sure it was the season we barely had a team so relegation was inevitable. And as for losing play offs - id be more upset if I lost a pair of socks.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 23/02/2015 20:08:22    1696129

I withdraw the whinging part Mike! Seriously though, there is not one team in the league that is saving itself for the Summer. Not one. You might have gotten away with that 30/40 years ago although the roll of league honours would beg to differ. How many leagues did Dublin, Antrim, Laois, Waterford, Offaly win from the mid 60s to the 80s when the big boys were treating the league with indifference? None. Your own county won a few but you were also competitive in the championship. Mediocre league teams do not emerge like butterflies in the sun.

Doylerwex, I would likewise be happy to see Dublin at this stage winning the league and let the Summer take care of itself. Would be foolish and indeed laughable for Dublin to think they can hold something back until June!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/02/2015 21:03:31    1696149

I don't mean for it to seem like I am arguing for the sake of it but I know for a fact in Limerick we are currently having training sessions midweek that mean we cannot play to our best at the weekends. So while we might go out to win each league match we aren't bothered by the result if we don't. So in a way we are holding ourselves back. The current intensity of the sessions 2 nights or so before the weekend matches won't allow our players to be fresh enough to do themselves total justice.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 23/02/2015 21:50:55    1696181

There is no player in the Country who doesn't want to win every game they play whether it be league, cup, championship. If your attitude is to only try hard in championship then you should pack it in because you'll be miles off the pace of everyone else. Kilkenny won't be happy they lost to Dublin, they want to win every game. I wouldn't read too much into the win either. Dublin hammered KK in the league final a few years ago and then KK battered them in the Leinster Final. Every game is different but it's hard to judge a win against teams who are under strength. TJ Reid, Colin Fennelly, Michael Fennelly, Richie Power and Eoin Larkin are 5 of the best forwards in the country missing for Kilkenny. We should keep that in mind. I'm not including Shefflin cause I think he'll retire.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 23/02/2015 21:56:08    1696188

I always do laugh at the "its only the league" mentality. I guarantee you, Wexford supporters arent thinking its only the league. We are viewing it as a gilt edged opportunity to get 5 top matches next Spring. "its only the league" talk comes from counties when they lose 2-3 games in the league. I bet if you looked at peoples posts, the same posters were probably emphasising the importance of the league a month ago!

But under-strength Kilkenny, minus the Ballyhale contingent, I wouldnt be panicing if I was a cat!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 24/02/2015 08:55:40    1696200