Weekend hurling predictions

There's bitter hoors in every county. Not the preserve of just one.
I'd let the begrudgers say all they like and if you keep winning they'll only get more bitter.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/02/2015 17:45:38    1695749

I will also be shouting for Kilmallock as I was for Limerick in the great game last Summer.

The day we can't celebrate our little triumphs will be a sad day.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/02/2015 18:13:29    1695756

I agree with you Adrian85. It is regretable mike03 has that attitude.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 22/02/2015 18:18:52    1695757

Jaysus hd... Cork would have celebrated that win today!!!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/02/2015 18:37:02    1695765

Adrian85

Don't see why you had to drag Wexford into it. I was the first one to reference your performance today and I'm delighted.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2689 - 22/02/2015 18:42:36    1695768

Whats funny is that with a population of one million people you have not one native Dubliner with an All Ireland senior medal to his name.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4338 - 22/02/2015 19:04:31    1695775

Oldtourman
County: Limerick

Whats funny is that with a population of one million people you have not one native Dubliner with an All Ireland senior medal to his name.

Good stuff Oldtourman. Lovin' your facts!

We'll have to bow to the the Shannonside powerhouse elites and just hope that one day we can scale those heady heights and win one All-Ireland in the next 70 years.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/02/2015 19:56:23    1695791

Please dont let two limerick men reflect all of us.. :(

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 22/02/2015 20:00:02    1695792

fair play to Dubs, great start,seem to have a stronger panel this year and sometimes a new manager can take you a bit further as perhaps last mgmt team had gone a bit stale. Sutcliffe is a serious hurler, lovely striker of the ball, early early days but they look in good nick,

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 22/02/2015 20:00:31    1695793

I am delighted for the Dubs! Would love to see them win the league. Also somebody mentioned Wexford making the quarters, Wexford have our sights set on winning this division and above all getting at least redemption for last summer v Limerick.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 22/02/2015 20:11:14    1695796

Tipp posters or anyone else can someone please explain to me how Declan Ryan had Seamus Callanhan as a sub when he was manager? The man is a genius with a hurl yet under Ryan he couldn't get a game i don't get it?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/02/2015 20:13:57    1695798

There is actually exactly one Dublin born player with an all Ireland medal.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2689 - 22/02/2015 20:19:36    1695801

Well in those 70 years one All Ireland is better than none, six National Leagues is better than two, 8 provincial is better than 4 and four All Ireland Under 21 titles also seems to be better that none. On a more serious I would love to see Dublin win an All Ireland with a home grown side.Back in 61 with a team that had only one non native Dub they were very unlucky not to beat a good Tipp team and they won Minor title ion 65 (v Limerick) but they never seemed to have built on theae achievements.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4338 - 22/02/2015 20:29:38    1695802

Oldtour, there is a Dublin born All Ireland senior medal holder. Here's a clue, his brother won football All Ireland with Dublin.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/02/2015 20:34:22    1695803

Oldtourman
County: Limerick

---
Cannot the same thing be said of Limerick footballers? Is it not also true that Limerick, a so called hurling county, only has one more AI senior title to it's name than Dublin, where the only wooden stick we know of is the one that we use to stir our coddle ? If that stat is true then that IS funny.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/02/2015 20:39:38    1695804

great performance today from dublin
completly dominated kilkenny
and repeated the level of performance displayed last week in doing the same to tipp
thats the consistency we need to maintain this year
the scoreline flatters kilkenny i feel as we outhurled them all over the park
and were so comfortable in doing so despite conceeding a flukey goal in the first half
ref was again dissapointing, sent 1st cat off for little or nothing
and then when they went down to 13 men he tried to get them back into it
by awarding frees for any tackle that went in leading to both of their goals
peter kelly was poleaxed without even having the sliotar in his hands and nothing awarded at that time.
treacy really stepped in and took his chance
while crummy and kelly dominated the half back line
sutcliffe was unmarkable most of the game but silly to get sent off
top of the table and looking forward to a good one against cork in two weeks.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/02/2015 20:41:49    1695805

have to laugh oldtourman now bragging about limerick having 8 leagues to dublins 2
yet the very basis of his slating dublin today was for celebrating a win in the league a competition
he classed as nothing more than a pre season game haha you couldnt make it up.
lads its a good sign to see other countys stopping the nice talk to our hurlers now
as it means they fear us just like in football they will hate to see us win now
thats the biggest compliment dublin hurling could ask for

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/02/2015 20:46:39    1695808

Would he have the same initials as Diarmuid Connolly hurlingdub :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 22/02/2015 20:51:05    1695810

Well done to Dublin.

The first sending off was very harsh. When looking at it in real time I thought there was a wild swing and wasn't overly surprised to see a red. However, looking at the replay it was very harsh. Hopefully it will get rescinded. The other two sendings off were the correct decision.

Though the first sending off was very harsh and it kind of ruined the game a bit, Dublin were full value for their win. They gifted KK a goal which made the game seem close but in reality, for me, they were a 5/6 point a better team today.

What I would be happy with if i were a Dub would be the performance of some of the fringe players or new comers. Eamon Dillon has been very good so far. Cromey is a tough half back as well. His tackling was a little lose (one in particular)but he is an uncompromising back..a good find..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 22/02/2015 20:55:38    1695812

Sorry Doyler, that's a lazy generalisation based on my own experience.

Adrian85 (Dublin) - Posts: 9 - 22/02/2015 20:57:52    1695815