Weekend hurling predictions

I'd agree re the first round of the league i wouldn't be getting excited either way,if anything last night would have galvanised the hurling fraternity's thinking that if you think kk are going to relent or fade away think again and for the rest of us we should be grateful for that.Not that i thought for a second it would be anyway else.As i said at the star of the yr its kk and tipp as the fore runners and the rest one or 2 steps further back, some one step some 2 steps depending on your point of view.

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 15/02/2015 11:12:17    1693643

I don't like to see anyone get hurt but why Keaney booked there? He only has eyes for the ball was never trying to hurt Mcgrath , if there's any type of hit nowadays everyone goes mad the physicality is completely gone from the game.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/02/2015 14:42:00    1693675

wow. . . A draw with limerick and waterford was right!! I was also correct about a 1 point win for us and that Dublin backlash. . . If only I'd put a few quid on it :(

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2689 - 15/02/2015 16:06:35    1693699

Didnt catch either game last night as i was working,but i have to say the Cork loss to a heavily depleted Kilkenny team does not auger well for the season ahead.I thought the blood and bandage would want to lay down a marker and come flying out of the blocks.I will watch game later but i think Benny is right in saying that some of the team are not of the required standard to bring the All Ire back to Leeside.My Dad said Cork were somewhat flattered by the scoreline.However i still think there is the makings of a nice team here.Maybe too nice.Need to become more adept at some of the dark arts of the game.The jury is still out on Cork.Im not writing them off for ultimate honours this year but it is certainly an insipid start.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/02/2015 16:28:46    1693715

Mystic Meg better watch out.That is impressive Doyler.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/02/2015 16:40:26    1693723

great performance today
new blood fresh start exactly what we needed
players went out and attacked tipp and management had belief in them winning
as oppossed to going out and worrying about trying to stop opposition in the past
delighted to see crummy in the team as he had a stormer
and the pillar caffrey style rotating in the forwards worked really well
shay boland and cunnigham working really well together it would seem.
keaney was outstanding at half back and carton commanded the full back line

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/02/2015 19:09:37    1693808

I can't believe Cork lost to Kilkenny missing so many. I know it's only the first round of the league but Cork surely must of been thinking it was only a matter of turning up. I take my hat off to Kilkenny. Some outfit. I was shocked to see the amount of missed penalties over the weekend. I thought maybe 1 in 5 would be missed but at this rate they'll be looking at changing it again if forwards don't start scoring them.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 15/02/2015 21:37:23    1693879

Everything that's wrong with Cork hurling was evident again on Saturday night. Useless under the high ball, forwards that can't win a 50/50 ball, and a full back line that can't defend.On top of that we have footballers declaring for the hurling team and bringing nothing to the table.The warning signs were there last year and I can't see how this management team are going to turn it around. I know it's early days but depressing times ahead for sure.
On another note, was delighted to see Ger Cunningham's Dublin get off to a great start.Corks loss is Dublin's gain.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 277 - 16/02/2015 09:25:20    1693910

bloodandbandage

Everything that's wrong with Cork hurling was evident again on Saturday night. Useless under the high ball, forwards that can't win a 50/50 ball, and a full back line that can't defend.On top of that we have footballers declaring for the hurling team and bringing nothing to the table.The warning signs were there last year and I can't see how this management team are going to turn it around. I know it's early days but depressing times ahead for sure.
On another note, was delighted to see Ger Cunningham's Dublin get off to a great start.Corks loss is Dublin's gain.

I was being more diplomatic but I agree with everything you said. The bit in bold particularly.

I would love if Dublin did something of note this year and Ger to give a small number of digits salute to some of his 'friends' down here.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 16/02/2015 09:45:23    1693917

Laois were robbed because of the old Peno Rule.....Two certain goals late on resulted in two penaltys that ended up being struck from about 25-26 yards out with 3 on the line...No advantage just two yellow cards and Heart break for the O'Moores ..

Great game of hurling it has to be said infront of a large and lively crowd I enjoyed it...

Portlaoise is a great place for a game!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 16/02/2015 16:43:25    1694128

Agree with you there Big John. Dublin got a penalty that might as well have been a 35 yard free. As former poor corner back I know what I would be doing if my man looked like getting a goal! Another consequence of messing around with things that should have been left as they were.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/02/2015 19:02:19    1694192

Firstly it was the Cork footballers getting slated by their own, now it's the hurlers! An attitude like the above, hoping Dublin do well so that Cunningham can shove it up to his own! Is it any wonder Cork are where they are? It all stems really from a superior attitude, Cork fans thinking they're entitled to be winning. They seem to forget that they have had no underage success for over ten years and yet expect the seniors to win titles. There is something drastically wrong in that county when you see so many of their former "greats" only too willing to manage other county teams and not offering their services on the local scene.

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 16/02/2015 20:02:55    1694208

westisthebest

Firstly it was the Cork footballers getting slated by their own, now it's the hurlers! An attitude like the above, hoping Dublin do well so that Cunningham can shove it up to his own! Is it any wonder Cork are where they are? It all stems really from a superior attitude, Cork fans thinking they're entitled to be winning. They seem to forget that they have had no underage success for over ten years and yet expect the seniors to win titles. There is something drastically wrong in that county when you see so many of their former "greats" only too willing to manage other county teams and not offering their services on the local scene.

whsssst upouta dat boy! clueless...

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 16/02/2015 20:08:36    1694214

Every county at some stage goes into a decline whether it be Senior , U21 , Minor etc.
We all moan at players and teams when we lose and that's just human.
Same ere in Tipp.
After Sunday's game talk of relegation already around the county and its only 1 game in. Players heads already been called for on social media pages.
Pure nonsense talk this time of the year.

On the Cork issue....Massive county with an abundance of talent in both codes.You cant blame them for having a little whine and a moan they do expect success like other counties.
Its up to the coaches at grassroots and up along to ensure player skills are improved. This just does not apply to Cork.
The Cork public attend games in great numbers on a regular basis obviously they feel they money being paid in through the gates is not being used to good effect.

At the AI Semi Final I was surrounded by a sea of Red in the Hill and the passion being shown by the Rebel fans was amazing.Spine tingling at times but I didn't expect any less.
They want their team to succeed and an old saying applies....He who speaks shall be heared..

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 17/02/2015 14:10:02    1694362

Sunday 22 February

Allianz HL Division 1A
Kilkenny v Dublin, Nowlan Park, 2pm Going out on a limb for the dubs
Tipperary v Galway, Semple Stadium, 2pm Tipp

Allianz HL Division 1B
Offaly v Wexford, O'Connor Park, 2pm Wexford
Antrim v Limerick, Ballycastle, 2pm Limerick

Saturday 21 February

Allianz HL Division 1A
Cork v Clare, Pairc Ui Rinn, 7pm Cork

Allianz HL Division 1B
Waterford v Laois, Fraher Field, 7pm Waterford

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2689 - 17/02/2015 14:33:41    1694372

agree with almost everything wild pundit says
except the one little bit
where you say especially this time of year
for me it shouldnt matter what time of year it is
this coming from a dublin supporter whos team was flawless apart from the all ireland semi final last year
while most people the length and bredth of the country focus mainly on that one game in a need for change
I would be more like you say one game shouldnt change how you view a team regardless of what time of year
as from dublin point of view last year we played some fantastic football up until september
and blew teams away apart from one game in the last two years
the whole world shouldnt be realligned because of it.
tipp last year didnt hurl at all until they beat dublin in that last league round game
and then again didnt hurl in the championship until they were out of munster
they possibly have different training scheadules throughout competitions

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/02/2015 14:38:00    1694374

Wild Pundit, I thought O'Shea dealt with the defeat well. First league game, in February. If every county got the knives out after a big defeat no manager would last 6 months. My family is Tipp originally, but my God they are a critical lot. I said it at time when Sheedy resigned after 2010 win that he knew well what he was doing! Better resign as a hero than be lambasted the next year if they were beaten.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 17/02/2015 15:08:10    1694390

Agree with ye both Dublin lads....I suppose when your used to success you'll always want it. I think Tipp are very off the pace whatever little hurling they are doing back fired on Sunday.

I watched them against Mary I & Clare in Crystal Cup and hurling was piss poor.
Against Clare they hit a purple patch with 10 minutes to go and lost by an injury time point. Should have been beaten well before the end.
Waterford beat them handy enough in a challenge recently 2 weeks ago.
Given it was January I am ok with the standard of hurling they put on show. However I was worried by the ways in which Clare & Waterford approached those games. They did beat Wexford but that was nothing to shout about.

I know we'll improve as the year goes on and when it was mentioned that it shouldn't matter what team of the year it is perhaps that true when you factor in relegation prospect.
Dublin on the other hand fantastic start. I'm sure Cunningham targeted at least one win from the opening very tough 2 games against the 2 teams who contested the AI Final.
2/2 would be immense and depending on other results QF already assured. Tipp got in on 4 points last year & nearly won it!!

As for E.O.S. yes he did deal with the defeat well and didn't blame any player or have no excuses. He knows the bunch of players he has and trusts them to do a job based on what he coaches. If his only holding training one night a week and the team are getting hammered week in week out then he knows that's his fault.
His an honest man and I would have hoped he stayed on for longer but his career is top priority. You cant take that away from a man be it a coach , manager or player.
I hope he doesn't bow out without winning any silverware of note.
Losing 2 league finals and an AI Final would not be a nice way to walk the line.
Especially when all were against Kilkenny and all very winnable with only a puck of a ball in each game.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 17/02/2015 17:07:33    1694470

Tipp were so close to the double last year and its a shame they didnt win either,but for me i think they are carrying about 5-6 average players that wuold struggle to make the Kilkenny panel.Paul Curran was never a good full back.His ball striking is very poor.Kieran Bergin played well in last years drawn All Ire,but he is average.James Woodlock has tonnes of heart but his stickwork is average.Georaid Ryan works hard but for a forward he rarely troubles the scoreboard.All Kilkennys forwards work just as hard,with the difference being they all score regularly.Dennis Maher--no.Even Bonnar Mahers stick work leaves a lot to be desired at times.I am being ultra critical here,but i cannot see this team,with these players,winning this years All Ireland.This has nothing to do with last weeks abject performance v Dublin.Im watching hurling all my life and this is how i see some of these Tipp players.I hope im proven wrong as i wudnt begrudge Tipp an All Ire after last years heartache,but im certainly far from convinced.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/02/2015 19:35:12    1694519

Kilkenny v Dublin - Kilkenny
Tipperary v Galway - Tipperary

Offaly v Wexford = Wexford (hopefully!)
Antrim v Limerick = Limerick (not as comfortably as one might think!)

Cork v Clare - Cork
Waterford v Laois - Waterford

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 17/02/2015 20:29:28    1694551