Referee standards

Lads, just after watching the Mayo v Tyrone game on TNaG. The inconsistency in refereeing decisions is just terrible. How can he give the Mayo midfielder Aiden O'Shea a black card for a late tackle. I understand he hasn't got the privilge of playback on a tv screen, but surely his umpires or linesmen seen that O'Shea was late and appeared to lower his arm going into the tackle with the Tyrone keeper. Now I know he can place his arm where ever he wants to protect himself but not at the keepers head. How does this deserve a black card then? The head high tackle before this on the Tyrone player warranted a black card. I think all of us GAA folk want a high standard of refereeing but it must be consistent and it wasn't today in Castlebar. Opinions please?

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 08/02/2015 16:00:55    1691188

Could this thread be merged into other refereeing thread as very similar topics...
08/02/2015 16:00:55 cilles man
Lads, just after watching the Mayo v Tyrone game on TNaG. The inconsistency in refereeing decisions is just terrible. How can he give the Mayo midfielder Aiden O'Shea a black card for a late tackle. I understand he hasn't got the privilge of playback on a tv screen, but surely his umpires or linesmen seen that O'Shea was late and appeared to lower his arm going into the tackle with the Tyrone keeper. Now I know he can place his arm where ever he wants to protect himself but not at the keepers head. How does this deserve a black card then? The head high tackle before this on the Tyrone player warranted a black card. I think all of us GAA folk want a high standard of refereeing but it must be consistent and it wasn't today in Castlebar. Opinions please?
What can be done to make refereeing consistent? What do you want done or changed?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 08/02/2015 16:27:44    1691212

Just watching the Monaghan v Cork game and the ref is very inconsistent in that game as well. Another thing is the amount of squaring up to each other over petty issues yet The Cork player kicked the Monaghan goalie and nobody batted an eyelid. It may have been accidental but I expected some reaction. The ref in Navan last night was fairly inconsistent as well.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 08/02/2015 16:40:25    1691225

Graham Reilly got a black card after about 5mins last night,which was no way a black card foul,yet a player was rugby tackled later on in the same game and a foul was given and no black card,not even a yellow..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/02/2015 16:55:32    1691234

Omordbannerman, before I make this statement this is not one of sour grapes , but if we look at last years championship semi final with mayo and Kerry where our own county man Cormac Reilly had real bad day at the office. He hasn't had charge of a county game since the new year came in , is this the correct sort of action to be taken , is education and further training not the correct course of action. How come the referees co ordinateder Pat mc Enaney hasn't being upfront and tell the paying GAA public , what his intentions would be in relation to these situations , as we all know it's ok making mistakes but let's learn from them.Do we try and place a touch judge type camera person in the stand that can review a incident and then can clarify with ref to move forward but like hawk eye it might be only available to a small catchment in the begining but could be streamlined into the future rules .I just think players deserve a better service from refs and from the top brass in Croke park with the amount of training that these amuters put in. Let's be honest money should not be a issue to train refs or help them in any form especially after releasing their yearly accounts last week

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 08/02/2015 17:16:35    1691251

Blessing in disguise Ziggy, I think ye worked harder as a result, Reilly can be lazy and it's infectious as he is your main man.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8599 - 08/02/2015 17:25:30    1691259

aiden o'shea should not have been on the pitch to commit the "tackle" on morgan. He should have had his second yellow by the 20th minute...first of all he went in and dropped both knees on a tyrone player lying on the ground and then after a tyrone player was falling tot he ground after offloading he went in late...very late...kinsella was poor...two fouls committed in the run up to the mayo goal..

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 08/02/2015 18:45:05    1691307

Ziggy it was a disgraceful black card last night the Kildare player collided into him 50/50. No malice, could easily cost us the game as biggy was looking very dangerous in those five minutes, and think the whole game plan was built around him. Then the Rugby takle that would have fitted any 6 nation game, add to that the punch into tormeys stomach that just got a yellow, and we can see how bad the reffing is . And im not whining Meath got a couple of handy frees too that were not frees. Bad day at office for man in middle.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/02/2015 18:47:04    1691310

Impossible game to ref now. It is the hardest game that I know of to call what is a foul and what isnt.

A few things that could sort this out

1 Linesmen and umpires that actually do something rather than wave flags for the odd score or line ball. Most of them dont want to get involved in off the ball calls.

2 Automatic yellow for simulation. Divers, or players that go down too easily with the slightest touch, especially in trying to get an opponent sent off, should be punished. It would cut a hell a lot of it out and leave the game more sporting.

3 A total review of the rules, and a few changes that would open the game up.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 08/02/2015 19:07:57    1691332

Thought Maurice Deegan had a shocker in the Donegal v Dublin game in Croke Park last night also! The amount of targeted cynical fouling by Dublin players was plain for all to see - so called black card offences but Deegan didnt follow through any of the time! Got so support from linesmen or umpires either! Off the ball punch on Neil McGee by his Dublin marker was shocking and in plain view of the umpires too but again of course the soft option was to book both players! If the supporters can see these incidents how is it that the officials in charge can't! The black card has now gone beyond a joke and referees are taking the easy option by showing yellow instead! It is no wonder the game gets tarnished with the bog ball label when we have bog ball rules that are made up as we go along! And before I'm accused of being biased, I don't know what was wrong with Michael Murphy! Whether it was frustration with the referee or what, the bottom line is that he was lucky to stay on the pitch as long as he did! The Dublin full forward was another who must have been amazed to finish the game without being carded once!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 08/02/2015 19:15:43    1691338

Mayotyroneman......

Didn't see the game today. But one of your past greats used to consistently drop his two knees onto the chests and backs of opponents lying on the ground! Was ok though, as he was one of yours.

Pot....kettle.....

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 08/02/2015 19:44:55    1691361

Who would want to ref a game like Mayo vs Tyrone today anyway ? Little skill, fouling, punching, dragging, fighting. It was a disgrace.

I w'ont allow a cheap shot against that ref to go unpunished.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2904 - 08/02/2015 19:51:49    1691368

jay p....did i say anything about it being ok??????...don't take what happened today out of context and don't use the actions of an ex tyrone player a decade ago to justify what happened today

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 08/02/2015 19:56:57    1691374

Couldn't believe the ref missed the square ball for the Mayo goal by Cillian O'Connor. The ball was in the square when O'Connor entered and stayed in the square, left the square where it was gathered by McLaughlin, he hit the post and the ball was gathered and sent to the net by O'Connor. He was in the square before the ball entered and as such it was a clear square ball.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 08/02/2015 19:57:55    1691375

Two mins after I say that Dermot Earley just pointed it out on telly.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 08/02/2015 19:59:41    1691378

Lifford Gael

Thought Maurice Deegan had a shocker in the Donegal v Dublin game in Croke Park last night also! The amount of targeted cynical fouling by Dublin players was plain for all to see - so called black card offences but Deegan didnt follow through any of the time! Got so support from linesmen or umpires either! Off the ball punch on Neil McGee by his Dublin marker was shocking.....

-----

I can only presume that this is a WUM. McGee was going around like a lunatic hitting anything that moved all night, including the Dublin full forward, who fair play to him, kept his head. Every time a decision went against Donegal the referee was surrounded by players shouting at him, McGee (Roy Keane like) leading the charge. Murphy should have walked twice before eventually getting a black card. His challenge on Small was a straight red. So a bit of balance please. Donegal tried the physical stuff but this Dublin team will give as good as they get.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4701 - 09/02/2015 11:09:04    1691561

icehonesty
County: Wexford

1691375 Couldn't believe the ref missed the square ball for the Mayo goal by Cillian O'Connor. The ball was in the square when O'Connor entered and stayed in the square, left the square where it was gathered by McLaughlin, he hit the post and the ball was gathered and sent to the net by O'Connor. He was in the square before the ball entered and as such it was a clear square ball.

To be fair to O'Connor, I don't think it was a square ball. The rule states: "if an attacking player legally enters the small rectangle, and the ball is played from that area but is returned before the attacking player has time to leave the area, provided he does not play the ball or interfere with the defence, a foul is not committed". The ball was played in and O'Connor contested it, which he has a right to do. It broke to a Tyrone player and was subsequently kicked back in a second later by a McLaughlin. I think it would have been unreasonable to expect COC to have left the square in this short time frame so I think the ref was justified in awarding the goal on this basis.

I felt there was a clear foul on the Tyrone defender a couple of seconds before this though.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 09/02/2015 12:12:52    1691595

Lifford Gael

Thought Maurice Deegan had a shocker in the Donegal v Dublin game in Croke Park last night also! The amount of targeted cynical fouling by Dublin players was plain for all to see - so called black card offences but Deegan didnt follow through any of the time!

I'm glad your joking for a minute I thought you were serious.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4899 - 09/02/2015 12:26:26    1691602

who would want to be a ref. on saturday nights game he got most hassle for the two decission he call correct when ball hit him and when ball did not go pass 21. i always believe that the worst thing in a gaa match is hop ball about 20 players in close contact pulling and dragging. I think we should being making game simpler to ref.
eg ball does not pass 21, free in
ball hit off ref free to team that was last in pocession,
get rid off square ball after constant replays still can see which is right at present
limit team to maybe one or two black card per game red or yellow from then

madbull (Westmeath) - Posts: 195 - 09/02/2015 12:45:50    1691615

jasus, if the goalie gos on a walkabout, he's allowed to be tackled

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 09/02/2015 12:49:36    1691619