Andrew Shore Ban

Daytona11

Thats probably the most ridiculous response so far. The entire world of sport would unravel if we did as you've suggested and placed no restrictions on who a player can play for. What case can he argue? As far as the facts of the incident go, he played for a club he wasnt a member of. That counts as being an illegal player, so he was punished.

It's really that simple, and I dont like to look like I'm picking on a man who is obviously already down, be he hasn't a leg to stand on.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 30/01/2015 18:18:47    1688164

flack - what did he do that was so bad - the crap of bringing in lads from Ireland to play in these teams totally undermines the development work that a lot of people overseas are doing. The 48 week ban was imposed by the board in the UK and its there rule, they have the rules and the punishment so as to try and protect there game over there. From all accounts the team he went to play for are notorious for doing this and the club secretary has also been banned. There is a huge amount of work being put in by people overseas in trying to develop our games this type of stunt is a slap in the face for these people - they spend their lifetime working to build the game so they are very entitled to punish anyone who works against that.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 01/02/2015 14:01:02    1688647

fair point zinny. Aas i said, I dont know the ins and outs of the case, but if what Shore is saying is true, the ban is way over the top, if he could have been grand by filling out a form differntly, what different does it make that it wasnt filled out properly. Whether he should have been allowed play at all (which he was) is a different matter, which (i think) is the point you are addressing.

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 01/02/2015 16:58:24    1688728

Flack, I don't think filling out a different would have saved him. Did he have proof of permanent residency?

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 01/02/2015 17:18:30    1688747

48 weeks is a standard ban for this carry on. He knew what he was at, as did the club signing him. He deserves very little sympathy, never mind the wailing going on here. A Cork, KK or Tipp player wouldn't get into this type of situation, because they're not stupid enough to believe that an intercounty hurler wouldn't stand out in a junior B game. This wasn't even a proper championship game, it was a development tournament for the love of jaysus.

an_carraig (UK) - Posts: 55 - 02/02/2015 17:18:37    1689326

The only defence I can think of here is that the player might have been assured that the paperwork was in order. There are plenty of unemployed inter county players, do we stop players from going to the US for the summer once their county is out?
I'm not overly sympathetic to players in these sort of situations but we're only speculating aboubout the rights and wrongs here.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 04/02/2015 19:55:36    1690194

This lad is employed full time by a GAA club in Dublin. Has been for some time including when the match was played.

macs4eva (UK) - Posts: 107 - 04/02/2015 21:52:06    1690246

He deserved some punishement for breaking the rules but Jesus a full year! Its not like he physically hurt anyone. The club involved should be punished hard but shore should be banned for championship for club or county or both and be allowed hurl away in the leagues. Savage hard ban

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 05/02/2015 13:14:36    1690367

Looks like the ban has been rescinded:

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=232749

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 27/02/2015 20:21:26    1697530

Common sense has been restored.

I agree with BrianMac. A rule was broken but he has been punished more than enough by being through the mill with this nonsense.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 27/02/2015 20:51:17    1697539

delighted that the ban has been lifted. disgraceful stuff to ban the lad for so long. Youd get less for breaking someones leg.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 28/02/2015 17:21:36    1697679

Great, delighted for him, says something though when the punishment is either all or nothing, its like he either did the worst thing possible in GAA (worse than breaking legs, spìtting, hospitalising someone, etc) or nothing at all wrong, depending on who judges it. That cant make any sense

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 28/02/2015 19:39:28    1697720

flack - while I agree that 48 weeks is a lengthy ban and perhaps to harsh but as I have pointed out on this subject its easy for you sitting in Dublin to say that its unfair as you never feel the impact of what this has on the game in the UK. Equate it to being involved with your club all your life building it up from nothing only to get to a county final and the team you are playing bring in a load of players from other counties. What would your reacting be then? the players coming in to play know what they are doing is wrong, the onus is also on players to do the right thing. You cannot equating this to someone being banned for hurting someone, they are completely unrelated offenses as I said something you would be unlikely ever to understand - thats not a dig, just the reality of it.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 01/03/2015 13:03:07    1697868

Hopefully EVERYONE has learned their lesson out of this saga.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 01/03/2015 13:53:14    1697891