Weekend Predictions NFL

Joxer

hill16no1man

muckrosshead
As I posted earlier in the week, Dublin really wanted to win this & they really impressive. Defensively they were unrecogniseable from the shambles of last August & the biggest compliment I can pay them is that they looked like Donegal at times in the way they hunted in packs & forced bad shooting decisions. Granted they are not the full duvet, but they are a lot closer to it than the man to man defending advocated by some on HS. Are Mayo now the only leading team standing up for old fashioned values & the way the game "should" be played?

----
Oh good God, please clarify that. At no stage did I see Dublin play with 14 players in their own 45. Let's clarify what Donegal's 'style' is before we start claiming that other teams are adopting it which is supposed to be a 'compliment'. I was glad to see us stick with 6 up front on Donegal kick outs and crowd the middle. We also let the ball in to the inside forwards quickly and glad to see that we kept playing ball. Great discipline by Dublin as well. We could have overreacted to some of the treatment but glad to see our lads keeping their heads. Small was outstanding last night. McCaffrey was also terrific when he came on while Kevin Mac was Lebron James like with his bobbing and weaving. Good win with a very experimental team but tougher challenges to come away to Kerry and Mayo.

Joxer, have a look at last night's Sunday Game where McStay did a segment, with replays, showing Dublin with 13 & 14 men in defence. As for sticking 6 up front on Donegal kickouts, Donegal did the same, no difference there. Nowhere did I say that Dublin were exactly the same but the similarities are there, defending in numbers & breaking fast, I thought it was a great game to watch & both teams contributed to that.
As for the "treatment" that was being handed out, both teams stood their ground & to say that it was all coming from Donegal is farcical.
I was really impressed with some of the new Dublin players & I think they will do very well this year. Having said that it is only February & a lot of water will flow under the bridge between now & Sept

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/02/2015 10:57:25    1691557

Wouldnt be getting carried away about Dublin's win.

It was impressive with the players we had out to turn over Donegal, No doubt.

But those players flattered to deceive against Cork.

Still, Happy to see us win any game at any time of year. A very welcome two points.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 09/02/2015 11:40:31    1691581

I would agree with muckross here. Both teams got stuck in, and neither were totally innocent of being just competitive. I do agree that the dublin players had more discipline to some of the refs decisions. Our lads got pulled for dissent a number of times and had the ball moved forward. But there was zero difference after that.

I dont think that it is an accusation to play defensively either. We have 2 of the best forwards in the country and one of them failed to score from play.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 09/02/2015 11:51:10    1691587

Donegalman

I would agree with muckross here. Both teams got stuck in, and neither were totally innocent of being just competitive. I do agree that the dublin players had more discipline to some of the refs decisions. Our lads got pulled for dissent a number of times and had the ball moved forward. But there was zero difference after that.

Yeah talking back cost Donegal two points I think. A couple of difficult frees were made easier if I remember correctly.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 09/02/2015 12:17:06    1691597

murphy was the main culprit all night for donegal
he should have been sent off long before deegan chickened out and gave him a black card.
he struck a player three times and the last one the ref deemed it a trip very poor decision.
also the midfielder gallagher pucnhed johnny cooper clearly in front of the umpires nose under the hill before half time
and cooper told deegan the umpire seen it and deegan wouldnt go to him
and the umpire wouldnt go to deegan.
Surely performances from refs are assessed these days
but those anything ever get done when they are so poor
like a suspension to a player when he gets sent off could be enforced for poor reffing.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/02/2015 13:11:36    1691630

hill & clondalkin,

Every now & again, you two boys should try taking the blue tinted glasses off & allow a bit of balance into your posts.

Try giving a bit of credit to other teams & players where credit is due, accept the fact that not all refereeing decisions are biased against Dublin & that perhaps, just perhaps, some Dublin players are capable of the odd misdemeanour here & there.

Just try it out for a day or two, ye might even get to like it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/02/2015 14:01:03    1691653

Record so far

Week 1 75% Div 1 only

Week 2 68.75%

Average 71.875%

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/02/2015 14:06:29    1691656

MuckrossHead

Joxer

hill16no1man

muckrosshead
As I posted earlier in the week, Dublin really wanted to win this & they really impressive. Defensively they were unrecogniseable from the shambles of last August & the biggest compliment I can pay them is that they looked like Donegal at times in the way they hunted in packs & forced bad shooting decisions. Granted they are not the full duvet, but they are a lot closer to it than the man to man defending advocated by some on HS. Are Mayo now the only leading team standing up for old fashioned values & the way the game "should" be played?

----
Oh good God, please clarify that. At no stage did I see Dublin play with 14 players in their own 45. Let's clarify what Donegal's 'style' is before we start claiming that other teams are adopting it which is supposed to be a 'compliment'. I was glad to see us stick with 6 up front on Donegal kick outs and crowd the middle. We also let the ball in to the inside forwards quickly and glad to see that we kept playing ball. Great discipline by Dublin as well. We could have overreacted to some of the treatment but glad to see our lads keeping their heads. Small was outstanding last night. McCaffrey was also terrific when he came on while Kevin Mac was Lebron James like with his bobbing and weaving. Good win with a very experimental team but tougher challenges to come away to Kerry and Mayo.

Joxer, have a look at last night's Sunday Game where McStay did a segment, with replays, showing Dublin with 13 & 14 men in defence. As for sticking 6 up front on Donegal kickouts, Donegal did the same, no difference there. Nowhere did I say that Dublin were exactly the same but the similarities are there, defending in numbers & breaking fast, I thought it was a great game to watch & both teams contributed to that.
As for the "treatment" that was being handed out, both teams stood their ground & to say that it was all coming from Donegal is farcical.
I was really impressed with some of the new Dublin players & I think they will do very well this year. Having said that it is only February & a lot of water will flow under the bridge between now & Sept

----
Eh no Muck. Dublin players filing back to cover Donegal's counter attack is not the same tactic as planting 14 men inside your own 45 from the first minute. As Gavin said afterwards, two very contrasting styles which lead to a physical game.

And I agree with Hill on the treatment. Murphy should have walked way ahead of the black card, the Small offence itself was a red. Cooper received a punch at half time. Not complaining, it's a man's game, but let's not pretend that Donegal were not testing the Dublin physical resolve and trying to spur a reaction.

I thought the first half was awful, too many stoppages and a lot of indecision from Deegan. It picked up in the second as Donegal tired and gaps started to appear in the blanket. Overall a decent enough game and tough. Best of luck in the remainder of the league!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/02/2015 14:37:35    1691670

Eh no Muck. Dublin players filing back to cover Donegal's counter attack is not the same tactic as planting 14 men inside your own 45 from the first minute. As Gavin said afterwards, two very contrasting styles which lead to a physical game.

And I agree with Hill on the treatment. Murphy should have walked way ahead of the black card, the Small offence itself was a red. Cooper received a punch at half time. Not complaining, it's a man's game, but let's not pretend that Donegal were not testing the Dublin physical resolve and trying to spur a reaction.

I thought the first half was awful, too many stoppages and a lot of indecision from Deegan. It picked up in the second as Donegal tired and gaps started to appear in the blanket. Overall a decent enough game and tough. Best of luck in the remainder of the league!

Joxer I know of no team that "plants" 14 men inside their own 45 from the first minute, certainly Donegal don't. I tell you now there were times when I thought the colour control had gone on the oul telly such was my shock at seeing so many blue jersies in defence. I quickly scanned the Dublin bench to see if JMcG was part of the set up but no, Jim Gavin had finally seen the light & learned his lesson.

As for the physical side I never claimed that Donegal were shrinking violets but to try & say, as some have, that it was all Donegal is ridiculous. I enjoyed it hugely but am at the same time conscious that what we saw will have very little bearing in summer. Dublin will be sharper with a full squad to pick from & the Donegal defence will be unrecogniseable from the porous shambles it was at times on Sat night.

Looking forward to it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/02/2015 15:32:33    1691703

MuckrossHead

Joxer I know of no team that "plants" 14 men inside their own 45 from the first minute, certainly Donegal don't. I tell you now there were times when I thought the colour control had gone on the oul telly such was my shock at seeing so many blue jersies in defence. I quickly scanned the Dublin bench to see if JMcG was part of the set up but no, Jim Gavin had finally seen the light & learned his lesson.

-----

I don't know Muck, from the first minute, inside the Donegal 45 looked like a field of Dandelions. Then I remembered it was too early for Dandelions and realised that they must be Donegal jerseys. Never the less it was time to unleash the blue petrol mower on them. And so we did! :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/02/2015 17:29:34    1691771

TheHermit
County: Kerry

Great to get up and running yesterday, that Kerry performance was a million miles away from what I saw in Killarney last Sunday week. Sheehan had a mighty game and please God he gets a bit of luck this season injury wise. Moran continues to be outstanding and Sherwood is looking like a class act. Paul Geaney is maturing nicely I just hope we get Kelly back soon as Kealy is prone to doing at least one daft thing per game! 

Think Derry are in real trouble now, they were far too lateral yesterday in possession. As for who might join them in the drop its all up in the air, but I think Tyrone look likely contenders. A great win yesterday for them, but considering the wides Mayo kicked it may have been a fortunate one. 

Kerry are off the mark and starting to purr nicely, looking forward to getting the Dubs down to Killarney now in 2 weeks and sending them back up the rocky road with a bit of dented pride! An Riocht Abu...

Well you're well overdue a win against us....2012 i believe is the last time you beat us? Though I'm open to correction.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/02/2015 17:38:16    1691777

They're sorted for this one Jackeen, no Kev Mc, their Mr. Nightmare :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 09/02/2015 18:27:39    1691805

Muckross me aul pal,you gloated you had the full 4/4 in your div 1,round 1 predictions,only to be corrected that you had in fact got 1 wrong.This week i see u have given urself 68% for your week 2 predictions,but after i did a quick calculation i see you have in fact got 63% for week 2.I see a pattern developing here.I will have my eye on your future results as im not sure you are a man to trusted(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 09/02/2015 18:29:09    1691807

Muckross you can harsly accuse me of not pointing out dublins faults as I spent most of last week pointing the ones from last week in cork.
I'm only telling the truth the incidents I spoke of happened its a fact and to say its a mans game Rubbish is like brian Cody looking for no refs in the sport.
Rules are there for a reason and its not physical challenge to punch somebody after they have played the ball its plain andsimply dirty play and the ref and umpires have a job to do and if they ignore what they see its clearly biased.
He got the call on Kev Mac spot on its just a pity he can't do the same on murphy

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/02/2015 18:34:15    1691811

Im not of a fan of young McHugh and from the highlights i watched on tv i thought he went down very easily and Kev Mc was hard done by.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 09/02/2015 18:50:51    1691820

Haha Realdub

I know... Kevin Mc won't be around!

Maybe start Bernard Brogan instead?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/02/2015 19:07:14    1691828

cuederocket

Muckross me aul pal,you gloated you had the full 4/4 in your div 1,round 1 predictions,only to be corrected that you had in fact got 1 wrong.This week i see u have given urself 68% for your week 2 predictions,but after i did a quick calculation i see you have in fact got 63% for week 2.I see a pattern developing here.I will have my eye on your future results as im not sure you are a man to trusted(:

To say I am mortified doesn't even begin to describe it.

Caught out again and by a Dub!!!!!

When it gets to the stage that adding 2+1+3+4 is beyond a man, then it is truly time for the nursing home.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/02/2015 19:15:07    1691834

hill
There was a lot of stuff missed by the ref in that game including the incident when O'Gara charged full into a Donegal player when there was a break in the play for a Dublin free.
Not alone was he not pulled up on it, the free was actually moved in closer!!

These things happen, refs don't see everything & what they do see is often at a different angle with only a split second to make the decision.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/02/2015 19:20:29    1691838

cuederocket

Im not of a fan of young McHugh and from the highlights i watched on tv i thought he went down very easily and Kev Mc was hard done by.

---
Same here. Was pulled on the shoulder and went down holding his face. McFadden likewise from Philly. Water under the bridge now but was disappointing to see.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/02/2015 19:38:40    1691849

Ah 16 step Kevin mac, why is he missing the Kerry game realdub? :-D
And 2 years is a long time to be without a win against the dubs jackeen but you can't really count the league as we only use it to blood the young lads ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/02/2015 21:24:15    1691898