Weekend Predictions NFL

Not only is Gaelic football gone brutal that referees are worst than ever how on gods earth is O Conor's goal allowed? I counted at least 4 frees for tyrone on that play? Shocking stuff

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/02/2015 15:23:44    1691161

Nice win for Cork up in 'Blayney. Colm O' Neill gives masterclass.
Tough luck on Monaghan though

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 08/02/2015 15:45:59    1691178

Well the league so far is being it's national lottery self, that is why I never put too much emphasis on the actual results. Fair play to Tyrone, they looked like their old selves again after last weeks poor showing, Mayo's finishing was terrible. Kerry did well, didn't think they'd fancy the trip up to Derry and despite the final score I feel Monaghan should be the happiest team at the moment with two decent displays so far in a very competitive division.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/02/2015 15:46:33    1691179

No real pattern of any sort to be seen at the moment, typical early league stuff with managers trying out new things.

Most teams will be reasonably ok with their starts with the exception of Derry who look to be in trouble especially since they are reputed to be a "league" team.

Mind you they will probably go & shoot the lights out next week!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/02/2015 15:54:10    1691184

Sorry, should have mentioned Cork, heading in the right direction at the moment!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/02/2015 15:56:44    1691186

I don't know how we could possibly be the happiest team in the division after that today, we threw that game away essentially by conceding goals at crucial points and hitting many poor wides. And we then had the chance to draw it level but didn't take it. We'd have been sitting pretty if we won that, but now it's going to be a battle, we only have 3 home games and thats one of them lost.

Fair play Cork though, that was some scoring, O'Neill in particular.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 08/02/2015 16:00:59    1691189

muckrosshead
As I posted earlier in the week, Dublin really wanted to win this & they really impressive. Defensively they were unrecogniseable from the shambles of last August & the biggest compliment I can pay them is that they looked like Donegal at times in the way they hunted in packs & forced bad shooting decisions. Granted they are not the full duvet, but they are a lot closer to it than the man to man defending advocated by some on HS. Are Mayo now the only leading team standing up for old fashioned values & the way the game "should" be played?

dont agree with that assumption at all
dublins half back line attacked all night
john small spent a lot of time bursting out of defence
mccfrey the same when he came on to score 1-01
phily mac spent more time in donegal half when he came in too.
differance was dublin played 3 men in midfield last night
davy bryne emmet o conghaile and dennis bastick
and all 3 of them worked their socks off mostly between the two 45 yard lines
as oppossed to last septmeber when mccauley and o sullivan made no attempt to chase donegal men when we lost the ball in their half.
also we were far cuter last night attacking even though donegal were more defensive
we kept recycling he ball and making donegal have to work all over their defence to tackle
unlike last september where we were running into tackles and getting turned over.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/02/2015 16:01:52    1691190

Lads as theres so many doing weekly predictions im giving my own results and maybe others will do likewise.

Week 1 - 10/16 - 63%
Week 2 - 8/16 - 50%

Weekly average - 56%.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/02/2015 16:03:28    1691192

Who's crying - the ones giving out about the rough tactics on the likes of O'Gara. The ones who on here on the main forum and who even went on to the Antrim page to give out after the hurling. Probably the same ones who on other forums did some crying after the hurling - adding some terms of endearment. Just saying that Dublin supporters would be the last I would expect to complain about such things. Don't get annoyed with me for highlighting it - be annoyed at your own who are doing the crying - youse know who youse are... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 08/02/2015 16:19:09    1691205

Offside_Rule

Well can't be too many, first I heard of it, but there ya go :D

P.S. I'm not annoyed with you, was genuinely asking!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/02/2015 16:26:10    1691211

Notable victories for Tyrone and Cork in the top division.Both winning at tough away venues is impressive.Derry are already doomed for relegation.Dublin exacted some bit of revenge for last years semi final.
The old Meath spirit is alive and well with another famous late smash and grab.Not many do losing close games like the lillies.Mental resolve is not Kildares strenght.
Other fine performances by Louth,Tipperary,Wicklow,Cavan and the Rossies.
Overall,some excellent entertainment up and down the country.The league seems to be getting better each year.Teams of an equal standing going head to head.Now for the small ball next weekend...

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/02/2015 16:33:44    1691217

I love the Dubs supporters they win one league game all of a sudden they are the best
around right now Cork are the best team they top the league beating the Dubs last week
not worse than listening to the Dubs blowing their trumpet were unable to get to last years
AI final Dublin were found out not the team everyone taught they were.

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 08/02/2015 16:35:46    1691221

Happy with the win last night, John Small and Emmet looked good . Davy Byrne worked his socks off and Jack looks to be back to 2013 form. David Byrne got a great night of experience marking Micheal Murphy . Murphy is a brilliant footballer and a nightmare to mark but we handled him well. O Gara came in for special treatment but he is well able to dish it out and mc Gees seemed more frustrated than O Gara during the game . I have to say i think Christy Toye is a lovely footballer and probably one of the main changing points in our semi last year was his introduction. He always looks very comfortable on the ball. Donegal are a very good team and this was a great test for our less experienced lads.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 08/02/2015 16:37:23    1691223

My response to you was not put up Offside.

Suffice it to say that I do not consider hitting someone across the back of the head with a stick from behind to be "physicality."

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 08/02/2015 16:44:53    1691228

Disappointing loss today left it behind us always seem to have big problems against teams who play running game against us.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1802 - 08/02/2015 16:47:26    1691229

atk
County: Monaghan

I don't know how we could possibly be the happiest team in the division after that today, we threw that game away essentially by conceding goals at crucial points and hitting many poor wides. And we then had the chance to draw it level but didn't take it. We'd have been sitting pretty if we won that, but now it's going to be a battle, we only have 3 home games and thats one of them lost.

Fair play Cork though, that was some scoring, O'Neill in particular.

Well I suppose it comes down to how seriously you take results in the league. After last years collapse against our good selves, I thought that may have sent ye back a little but so far ye look like ye are still up for it, and that's more important than winning a league match and argues well for the summer ahead, just like last week V Cork, I thought we did OK considering and was happy enough!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/02/2015 16:48:10    1691230

wfkerry
County: USA

I love the Dubs supporters they win one league game all of a sudden they are the best
around right now Cork are the best team they top the league beating the Dubs last week
not worse than listening to the Dubs blowing their trumpet were unable to get to last years
AI final Dublin were found out not the team everyone taught they were.

Please don't generalise, it's lazy, name names there's a good lad!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/02/2015 16:51:00    1691232

hill16no1man

muckrosshead
As I posted earlier in the week, Dublin really wanted to win this & they really impressive. Defensively they were unrecogniseable from the shambles of last August & the biggest compliment I can pay them is that they looked like Donegal at times in the way they hunted in packs & forced bad shooting decisions. Granted they are not the full duvet, but they are a lot closer to it than the man to man defending advocated by some on HS. Are Mayo now the only leading team standing up for old fashioned values & the way the game "should" be played?

----
Oh good God, please clarify that. At no stage did I see Dublin play with 14 players in their own 45. Let's clarify what Donegal's 'style' is before we start claiming that other teams are adopting it which is supposed to be a 'compliment'. I was glad to see us stick with 6 up front on Donegal kick outs and crowd the middle. We also let the ball in to the inside forwards quickly and glad to see that we kept playing ball. Great discipline by Dublin as well. We could have overreacted to some of the treatment but glad to see our lads keeping their heads. Small was outstanding last night. McCaffrey was also terrific when he came on while Kevin Mac was Lebron James like with his bobbing and weaving. Good win with a very experimental team but tougher challenges to come away to Kerry and Mayo.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/02/2015 17:08:37    1691244

Yeah that's fair enough realdub, the performances have been good and championship is certainly the priority. But of course we'll still want to consolidate our position in Division 1 where points will be hard to come by, and that was a big chance lost today. We only have two home games left as I say so it's going to be tough.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 08/02/2015 17:17:42    1691253

I thought Monaghan kicked that game away. They looked much the better side but some poor kicking (even from McManus) let them down.

2 points lost but still a decent performance from them in fairness.

Colm O'Neill is an absolute joy to watch though!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 08/02/2015 17:19:13    1691254