Weekend Predictions NFL

Realdub

A poor Meath team,but an awful Kildare team..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/02/2015 11:04:19    1691082

People gave it to me last September cause I said "as a dub im sick we didn't win the all Ireland" but last night shows have strong a panel we have when basically our 2nd team can beat Donegal's best team like we seriously threw it away last year from being to naive cause let's be honest here were a country mile ahead of the rest , Im not saying will win Sam this summer but we have the best team but anything can happen on any given day. I know people will say it's only the league but could you imagine what our best team would do to any other counties B team?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/02/2015 11:23:07    1691087

Well that was one enjoyable way to spend your Saturday evening.

Lets get the rant out of the way first, the referee performance was again shockingly poor. The incident were the ball hit him when Dublin were in possession was a joke, Murphy got away with a couple of late hits, O gara is constantly targeted and gets no protection I have seen him been hit now in games against Donegal, Laois and Kildare and all credit to him he never reacts.

Very impressed with the Dubs physically and tactically they stood up to the challenge and didn't take a backwards step. Sean Currie was good again I think he has an excellent kickout at the back Fitzy, Daly and particularly small were excellent. I thought we competed for the 50/50 kick outs really well, Emmet o. and Bastick certainly didn't lose midfield they won a couple of old fashioned high catches.

First goal was really well constructed and taken and then Jack you just cant beat pace.

I Feel we are already better off this year Jack is like a new player, Kilkenny is back, Small is a great option at centre back now and Carthy and Emmet O are definitely live midfield options.

What a difference a week makes. Well Done Dublin

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 08/02/2015 11:31:20    1691089

Donegal in the football this weekend. Antrim in the Hurling a couple of weeks ago. What's with all this poor us from the Dubs on the physicality front. Have to say Dublin fans are the last I would have expected to cry about such things.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 08/02/2015 11:54:27    1691093

I was at the game last night in Croke park. Although i was a bit disappointed, I still think the best team won by a good bit last night. Dublin show that they are now ticking all the boxes, and can defend the exact same way as us. numerous times in the second half, we ran into dead ends, and coughed up possession. Dublin can fly up the pitch and counter attack without looking back as well. i thought Mccaffrey was outstanding when he came on.

Our lads looked off the pace, even with 14 v 15. I think that as a donegal man we have to remember that this is early feb, and it would be a worry if we were to fly out of the blocks now. We dont have a big panel and was more interested to see how well we did without a stretcher coming onto the field. (apart from durcan)

The ref made some very poor decisions, and lost control of the game. Deegan usually is a lot better than that. We can let him away with it, for this reason. I also thought that he gave some crazy decisions for and against both teams, as opposed to exclusively hammering dublin.

We have to realize that as a contact sport played at a frenetic pace, it is nigh impossible to ref, and to distinguish between a hit and a tackle is now impossible. AS is the surrounding of a player in possession by 2 players a dilemma, whether to blow for over carry or to award a free for the man in possession. I dont see a way to legislate for these incidents one way or the other, and the ref can often be trapped into trying to balance the books for the rest of the game if he favors a grey decision one way or another. There was a lot of niggle off the ball last night, and the verbals that were going on were all over the pitch. The only thing that you can say about this, is that at least both teams were giving it their all to get 2 points rather than just make up the numbers.

We have a few more weeks to put the heads down and get fitness up another gear. we faded in the last 20 rather than push on.

Anyway, gud luck to the dubs, and they were well worth their 2 points. They are certain to push for a last 4 now, and looked slick last night.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 08/02/2015 12:05:51    1691094

Jim Gavin should ring Eamon fitzmaurice and say thanks for showing him how to beat Donegal, and I told ye Dublin were a league team.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/02/2015 12:34:48    1691103

Great result for Roscommon in Newry last night, they played a good mix of the long and short game, have outstanding forward line, div 2 is a bookies dream, look at the predictions over the past 2 weeks and just see the amount called wrong, its a real lottery and will remain so, keep the cash in yere pockets and stay away from div 2, bookies will be the only winners there.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 08/02/2015 12:42:50    1691106

Donegalman

Good points regarding the ref

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/02/2015 12:43:31    1691107

'Our second team can beat Donegals best team'. Looks like the over confident and arrogant Dublin supporters are back lads

PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 08/02/2015 12:43:44    1691108

Donegalman

Monaghan v Cork - too close to call, but Monaghan just. Clones is a very hard place to beat monaghan…..That maybe true but our boys line out in Blayney this time!
On a serious note I think we can win this one. We are moving along nicely, need to watch those wides and be more efficient with the ball.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 08/02/2015 12:48:18    1691111

Offside_Rule

Donegal in the football this weekend. Antrim in the Hurling a couple of weeks ago. What's with all this poor us from the Dubs on the physicality front. Have to say Dublin fans are the last I would have expected to cry about such things.

Who's crying?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/02/2015 12:51:20    1691112

Yeah Off Side rule... What you farting on about now?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/02/2015 13:25:25    1691118

Good win for Dublin. There was more intensity to their game than against Cork. Last night, a game in three weeks against Kerry, the 14th of March against Mayo and possible league semi-finals against that opposition (Donegal/Kerry/Mayo) are Jim Gavin's chances to pick his team for the All-Ireland semi-final against Mayo in late August. It is all fine saying you have a B team, C team better than everybody elses but only 15 can play at any one time and he needs to figure out who is best 15 are. The Leinster championship, the quarter final against Connachts second best team or Leinster runners up is not going prepare them in any way for playing Mayo in the All-Ireland semi-final.

When Donegal play Kerry in their All-Ireland semi-final, most of the starting 15 will have played in all of their big games (plus they have a tough provincial championship) and they will be ready. Can we say the same for Dublin? Donegal lost but played quite well. The game could have swung their way. They will reflect no doubt and become sharper.

Half of that Dublin team will be on the bench when they play Mayo. They will go into that game as world beaters having hammered everybody in Leinster. Mayo will be waiting and ...

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 08/02/2015 13:29:15    1691119

PoppinPoints

'Our second team can beat Donegals best team'. Looks like the over confident and arrogant Dublin supporters are back lads.

I'm sure you're not generalising there!

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 08/02/2015 13:31:42    1691121

Popping points not arrogant at all im not saying will win the all Ireland but it's clear as day who has the best team , we beat Donegal with our 2nd team and then with 14 men even a meath man can see that, I promise you if I was on here in the 00's Id of said the exact same thing about Kerry and Tyrone they were miles ahead of the rest. I thought emmett had a super game last night and great to see Kilkenny back. The ref was shocking he loves giving score able frees against us (Cork '10) what do you have to do to win a free against Donegal yet we laid a hand on them it's a free, another game where we're down to 14 players ive never seen anything like this in all my time watching Dublin were always down to 14 players are refs refereeing both teams equally when Dublin are involved?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/02/2015 13:58:47    1691130

Realdub no doubth about it that's a bad meath team, its just kildare are worse. Last 3 competitive games between sidea meath have won.
Meath are going nowhere, kildare are even worse. Meath second best team in leinster, and its worse meath management and team in decades. Doesn't say much for province and will do dubs no good for quarters on.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 08/02/2015 14:30:35    1691137

Popping points not arrogant at all im not saying will win the all Ireland but it's clear as day who has the best team , we beat Donegal with our 2nd team and then with 14 men even a meath man can see that, I promise you if I was on here in the 00's Id of said the exact same thing about Kerry and Tyrone they were miles ahead of the rest. I thought emmett had a super game last night and great to see Kilkenny back. The ref was shocking he loves giving score able frees against us (Cork '10) what do you have to do to win a free against Donegal yet we laid a hand on them it's a free, another game where we're down to 14 players ive never seen anything like this in all my time watching Dublin were always down to 14 players are refs refereeing both teams equally when Dublin are involved?

Paranoia, arrogance & self delusion all in one post.

I love it!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/02/2015 14:31:43    1691138

bennybunny

Yeah and if Dublin do beat Mayo in your predicted semi final there'll be people on about the advantage of not having to peak yet etc etc.

Also Mayo probably won't be tested by that stage either, as they'll probably only have played Div 2 teams by that stage.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 08/02/2015 14:33:44    1691140

foreverroyal

Realdub no doubth about it that's a bad meath team, its just kildare are worse. Last 3 competitive games between sidea meath have won.
Meath are going nowhere, kildare are even worse. Meath second best team in leinster, and its worse meath management and team in decades. Doesn't say much for province and will do dubs no good for quarters on.

Meath seem to have something over Kildare, there's no doubt about that. I know I like to have a dig at ye, it's just banter, but in all seriousness, I always considered it important for us to have a competitive Meath and Leinster in general. I keep a good eye on both yourselves and Kildare for this reason, so I agree with your points.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/02/2015 14:47:47    1691147

good win last night for us with a very inexperienced line up.
the big differance was jim gavin decision making compared to last week in cork.
i was critical of the subs he brought in and he clearly changed that this week
bringing in two experinced players to win the game with 20 minutes to go in mccfrey and phily mac
where as in cork he threw in 4 newcomers.
I think gavin also figured out donegal style of play last night.
last summer we panicked in the second half too much
where as last night donegal adopted a more defensive set up
but dublin waited patiently before working the scoring chances
we kept donegal having to work and work and work all over their defence to try
and get the ball and to me thats clearly the way to play them and remain attack minded.
as they will get tired and when they do gaps appear
mccfrey fully exploited this when he came in.
also was very dissapointed in michael murphy, how he didnt get sent off throghout the game was terrible by ref.
he hit two red card efforts
one a punch to the stomach in first half and then a lear after the ball tackle to the head in second half
and then when he finally got pulled for a blow to the ribs on davy byrne
the ref chickened put of it and gave him a black card instead of a second yellow by choosing to see a trip.
dublin were defo the better football team last night
as donegal especially the full back was more interested in talking to eoghan o gara and trying to antagonise him
as oppossed to actually looking at the ball.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/02/2015 15:10:52    1691156