Dublin - Unbeatable

HenryHill16
If the domination continues i can see Dublin adding to their already swollen coffers by going on tour with the harlem globetrotters, followed by a break away from the GAA to have an All-Dublin Championship, 24 postcodes, 24 teams. The others counties can play away in a second tier style championship.

That's a great idea henry, although they couldn't go away for too long, or someone would have to sign them on. Although some of those postcodes would still have bigger populations than some counties...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/01/2015 15:58:12    1686993

The Master I doubt that the Gooch or Bernie or Canavan would have gotten the head staggers and kicked a point when they knew they needed a goal at the end of an All Ireland final. That is way beyond bottling!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 27/01/2015 16:29:08    1687016

Bullshit, ye bottled it against Kerry last year, ye should have won the AI, ye bottled it big time :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 27/01/2015 16:30:21    1687017

Ha!

Dublin are proven bottlers as we've seen. 2005-2009 wants its thread back wha!

Bottled it against Mayo in 2012 and Donegal in 2014. Not sure what happned in 2011 or 2013, probably something to with the ref I suppose!

2 All-Ireland titles, 4 Leinster titles and 2 NFL Div 1 titles in the last four years! Imagine what they'd have won if they'd had any mental strength?!!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13708 - 27/01/2015 16:33:17    1687021

The Dubs are Kerry are traditionally great rivals and their fans love nothing more than patting each other on the back.
A great bunch of lads - Lord look over and bless them.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 27/01/2015 16:42:39    1687030

MesAmis

Ha!

Dublin are proven bottlers as we've seen. 2005-2009 wants its thread back wha!

Bottled it against Mayo in 2012 and Donegal in 2014. Not sure what happned in 2011 or 2013, probably something to with the ref I suppose!

2 All-Ireland titles, 4 Leinster titles and 2 NFL Div 1 titles in the last four years! Imagine what they'd have won if they'd had any mental strength?
________

Ah now Mes.. how could you have left out our O'Byrne Shield victory over Meath in 2011 and our very recent victory on Sunday ;)

Jaysus if only we were from Mayo... wha... land of zero sports achievements

The biggest pitiful sob story in Irish sport = Mayo.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/01/2015 16:46:21    1687038

hurlingdub
The Master I doubt that the Gooch or Bernie or Canavan would have gotten the head staggers and kicked a point when they knew they needed a goal at the end of an All Ireland final. That is way beyond bottling!

But we are lacking forwards hurlingdub. He was probably going for a goal. Im just happy he got it on target. We just weren't good enough, never had the best team in the country. Plucky underdogs capable of upsetting the odds every so often is all we are. Now if we had the best team, arguably of all time, and were dead and buried with 20 to go, Christ...

realdub
Bullshit, ye bottled it against Kerry last year, ye should have won the AI, ye bottled it big time :D

No not at all. Sure we have no forwards. We were holding out for a 0-0 to 0-0 draw. As soon as they went ahead we were done, but happy to be there all the same. But what occurred the next day, my God, arguably the best team ever to take the field, playing out the last 20 minutes like it was a friendly. Accepting their loser fate. I thought I seen Bernard dunne warming up at one point.

Warming up the team bus that is, nice number for him...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/01/2015 17:00:53    1687053

As the Kerry lads would say, yerra yerra, ye had the best team last year, in my opinion, not the media's, so no excuses there I'm afraid, ye got beat by the weakest Kerry team to win an AI, ye see the green and gold and ye roll over inside yer heads, we had a couple of tight affairs with them ourselves recently but we had the 'bottle' to see it through :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 27/01/2015 17:25:31    1687077

How can Mayo, Kerry or Donegal have had the best team last year, when Dublin had the best team of all time? We were told that from all sides, nobody is daft enough to dispute it. Trying to pretend it wasn't the case afterwards just underlines that old mental weakness again - 'maybe we were never any good'. It is sad to watch you bottle it before my eyes realdub. But look ye are good for something, so get that check in the post asap, top of the range stands don't pay for themselves you know

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/01/2015 17:45:56    1687088

Spring has sprung and war has been waged on all Mullahs. Metropolitan artillery is strengthening as we speak. The keyboard infantry are gathering as us Mullahs try to find answers to the capital's wit.

May the best team win.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 27/01/2015 18:03:41    1687094

I disputed it and I'm certainly not daft, Mayo's best chance since '51 was last year, buy into all the hype about Dublin all you want, I know better, we we're the best attacking side but obviously not the best overall side. You also have a very good chance this year, Kerry are not the Kerry of old, we were found out last year, Donegal aren't up to it anymore.

I never bought into that rubbish last year and you know it, some did, I didn't. So it's not me you need to be telling these things to. At the end of the day, we've won 2 in the last four years and ye have won diddlysquat. That coupled with your well documented hatred for the Dubs is what all this is about really, deny all you want but everyone on here knows otherwise, including your own county men, don't bottle it again this year please, I couldn't bear it :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 27/01/2015 18:26:00    1687110

heMaster

How can Mayo, Kerry or Donegal have had the best team last year, when Dublin had the best team of all time? We were told that from all sides, nobody is daft enough to dispute it.

Ha!

You disputed, along with plenty of us, we're all together in a daft group together.

You're becoming a parody of yourself at this stage. "The old mental failings" - yeah buddy. Doesn't say much for the rest of the teams so if a team with mental failings can win 2 outts the last 4 titles.

Dublin in 2012, and again in 2014 were beaten by teams that were better on the day. Simple as that really. Both games could've gone either way but that's sport.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13708 - 27/01/2015 18:44:57    1687122

"Although some of those postcodes would still have bigger populations than some counties..."

And some of those bigger postcodes wouldn't have a single GAA player in them not alone a decent club.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 28/01/2015 20:58:05    1687555

arock
And some of those bigger postcodes wouldn't have a single GAA player in them not alone a decent club.

Just like numerous areas in all counties up and down the country... What is your point?

Not too many other counties can boast clubs with a pick larger than entire counties though... See the difference?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/01/2015 09:41:31    1687593

realdub, if mayo had a great chance to win sam, while being the 3rd/4th best team in the country, then what kind of chance did Dublin have, when they were by a distance the standout team in the country?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/01/2015 09:43:36    1687594

realdub, if mayo had a great chance to win sam, while being the 3rd/4th best team in the country, then what kind of chance did Dublin have, when they were by a distance the standout team in the country?

It's your opinion that Dublin were the standout team in the country, but alas we clearly weren't good enough last year. At least two more stand out teams than Dublin last year.

Mayo weren't good enough either again, but they did have the eventual Champions on the rack, 5 points up with a couple of minutes to go wasn't it?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13708 - 29/01/2015 10:17:40    1687609

Im afraid for Mayo this year, I feel their management team of Connolly and Holmes dont have what it takes to win sam.
I feel its between Donegal, Dublin or Kerry.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 29/01/2015 10:33:27    1687619

Mayo have been at least the 2nd best team in the last three years and probably the best team in one of those years. It is well time for Mayo to go all the way and win the All-Ireland this year. Dar fia, beidh lá eile ag an bPaorach.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 29/01/2015 10:50:09    1687630

MesAmis
It's your opinion that Dublin were the standout team in the country, but alas we clearly weren't good enough last year. At least two more stand out teams than Dublin last year.
Mayo weren't good enough either again, but they did have the eventual Champions on the rack, 5 points up with a couple of minutes to go wasn't it?

My opinion yes, and the opinion of 99.99% of others also. Obviously they weren't good enough on the day, but let's examine why. By a distance the best team - a widely accepted fact - who lose, badly, to a rank outsider. Generally, that indicates a mental frailty of some sort. I mean, let's call a spade a spade, that's bottling it. It is a term used in gaa and that is a nailed on example. It is hard to take a person seriously if they would deny that. If someone said to me that mayo bottled it in 96, then they could well be right, well this is an even more conclusive example. I don't think I am being unfair there.

As I already alluded to. Mayo are the plucky underdogs, capable of the occasional upset, or almost as in the above. But we have no forwards, and as you described above, a leaky defence. We went good enough because we were not the top team in the country. Kerry had a better squad than us and that was the difference. But we know that Dublin had a better squad than Kerry, that was all over the boards after they won sam last year.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/01/2015 10:57:47    1687635

kerryrowz
Im afraid for Mayo this year, I feel their management team of Connolly and Holmes dont have what it takes to win sam.
I feel its between Donegal, Dublin or Kerry.

Id agree. McStay was the man for the job. These lads were lucky enough with the u21s. The final win against cork was a very nervous affair, with it being more about who blinked more rather than who blinks first. They all count of course, but it wouldn't inspire confidence going forward. Connolly's record with his club wasn't great either. A standout team in intermediate, turned over year after year by lesser opponents. They are a step backwards from Horan. McStay was championing a change in the ethos, something similar to what Kerry did last year actually.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/01/2015 11:08:27    1687639