GAA apologises to Wylie

Breffni39

I wasn't there but by all accounts it was a heat of the moment reaction to a bad foul by Wylie. Doesn't excuse it, but does put it in its proper context.

The insult that was levelled at Drew Wylie was not 'heat of the moment', if it was it wouldnt have been as personal or specific as it was, lets just clear that up. However, I'm glad the two lads have seemed to resolve it and lets hope this nonsense can become a thing of the past.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 29/01/2015 13:34:04    1687708

We have a different understanding of "heat of the moment" then so. Are you suggesting it was pre-planned? I highly doubt it and consider it an unfair suggestion.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 29/01/2015 14:34:01    1687727

Listen Breff, do you really think it was a coincidence that this particular player was subjected to the abuse that was aimed at him? How can it be an accident to bring that type of insult into the mix? The abuse was enough to provoke the whole team to walk off the field. Why would you even defend this?!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 29/01/2015 14:58:37    1687733

Lads, plenty of you interested in this story. Why don't yous tip up as far as Breffni Park this Summer where the players will renew rivalry. And once and for all we can put the Meath vs Dublin is the biggest rivalry garbage to bed. Come see Cavan play Monaghan, that's a derby you won't forget. 10 players sent off in the last 3 meetings if I recall correctly. Not a derby in the country comes close to it.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 29/01/2015 15:03:27    1687735

SaffronDon

1687733 Listen Breff, do you really think it was a coincidence that this particular player was subjected to the abuse that was aimed at him? How can it be an accident to bring that type of insult into the mix? The abuse was enough to provoke the whole team to walk off the field. Why would you even defend this?!

I'm not defending it, just objecting to your attempts to paint it as some concerted, pre-motivated plan/act. It was wrong, he got suspended as much as the rules permit, he apologised. What more do you want from the incident?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 29/01/2015 15:34:13    1687747

Time to put it to bed.

hutto (Monaghan) - Posts: 171 - 29/01/2015 17:01:03    1687784

Well I think most people can figure out that it wasn't made up out of the blue Breff, that's all. As I've said already, I am glad the lads have resolved the issue so as the poster above said, time to put it to bed and hopefully we see less of this.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 29/01/2015 17:26:44    1687799

I'll bring you to Breffni Park in May hutto.
I'll even take the hankies for you ha ha.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 29/01/2015 18:02:08    1687822

Now slasher, u might take me to the match but I will be staying until the end so I will have to find a lift home as u'll be gone shortly after halftime. Lol

hutto (Monaghan) - Posts: 171 - 29/01/2015 19:20:13    1687861

I'll have you home early. That woman of yours would be giving out to me.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 29/01/2015 19:31:36    1687864