Kildare v Dublin - O'Byrne Cup Final

Agree and I criticised him plenty last year. Speaks volumes for our lack of quality around the middle though when he's expected to start in league and championship.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/01/2015 17:07:05    1686618

Ok he's not on form what do you want management to do? For me they play him in hope that his form comes back cause he's a massive part of our team and IMO cannot be dropped , At his best he's the best midfielder in Ireland.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/01/2015 17:13:03    1686621

defo joxer but i feel o conghaile and carthy have improved a fair better and are that bit older than last year
i think theres a huge dilemma for next sunday to see who will be the two to start for gavin.
cian o sullivan is defo out
so it leaves
mccauley,bastick,o conghaile,carthy,tomas brady and davy byrne
id say will be bastick anyway but then may depend on if paul flynn is available
as to who parteners him as carthy will start but either wing forward or centre field is the thing.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/01/2015 17:24:28    1686623

The Indo is suggesting that maybe the gap between Dublin, Meath and Kildare is not as wide as previously thought, and this is going on the last two of Dublin's O'Byrne Cup games with said counties. Dublin will never be able to play the exspansive football that they do in Croker in tighter grounds and Dessie Dolan was saying on the radio that Dublin are not the same team outside of HQ.

But reality is, both Meath and Kildare had a great chance to beat us in their home grounds, with an experimental line up and you would imagine both counties would have been seriously motivated to take us down while the chance presented itself, in Croker we are better, there is no doubt, but I think this bunch can grind results out too.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 26/01/2015 17:27:02    1686624

realdub pay no heed to them media hounds and dessie dolan and colm parkinson are poor pundits
sure last year when we beat them same teams in leinster well
we were an unbeatable team according to these guys
yet once we lost all ireland semi final
it was let rip into this dublin team
i never see an article or a pundit come out and say well i was completly proved wrong

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/01/2015 17:36:34    1686631

Ok he's not on form what do you want management to do? For me they play him in hope that his form comes back cause he's a massive part of our team and IMO cannot be dropped , At his best he's the best midfielder in Ireland.

not play him simple really.
if he was fit he would have started yesterday id say
as o conghaile like you say may have been tired having played every game so far
o higgins was down to start but didnt feature so mccauley was an obvious candidate to replace him
but id say hes not fit enough to play 70 minutes going on team selecton and how wrecked looking he was on the pitch for
a mere 20 minutes. we want to win against cork not use the game in the hope one player finds form that he hasnt had in a year

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/01/2015 17:39:09    1686632

realdub

Well Meath were experimental too,but to be fair last years thrashing wasn't a common team of Meath/Dublin games.That said,those O'Byrne Cup games will mean nothing in the summer.Dublin will be harder to beat in Croke Park.If we meet Dublin in the Leinster Final,I would expect Dublin to win it for sure,but would not expect the type of margin we saw last year.As for Kildare? Well I would not be sure.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 26/01/2015 17:39:10    1686633

Yep the same media that said we were unbeatable last year, we certainly don't create our own hype, with the exception of one or two posters, ahem :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 26/01/2015 17:51:51    1686639

Indeed ziggy, your'e quite correct, but it was a very good opportunity to get a result for both ye and Kildare, mind you, it didn't do Kildare any favours two years ago!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 26/01/2015 17:57:58    1686642

Realdub, Meath had probably less 1st team starters than Dublin come champ, i cant speak for Kildare but they probably were experimental too.
You could add at least 7 maybe 8 different players to that team plus the likes of Newman Carroll etc starting rather than subs come summer, yes dubs don't play as good outside croke park, but we didn't play a team that could have taken advantage of that and them below par, so i wouldn't read too much into it. We will see two totally different teams should we meet come championship. But in that game we found a fantastic second midfielder and if short term looses at home is what it takes to ensure long term victory in dubs home ground then ill settle for that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/01/2015 18:21:35    1686650

No and it didn't do us any favours after beating Meath last year either. If we've proved anything, it's that winning it means nothing except maybe where a good start to the league is concerned. League game in Navan in a couple of weeks will be a much better barometer. Kildare weren't exactly at full strength yesterday either and didn't go chasing all out for the result with subs either which in fairness we did in Parnell two years ago.

If you're looking for solid foundations to build your summer in the O'Byrne Cup you're in a bad bad way.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 26/01/2015 18:29:31    1686655

doublehop

Correct,but even that league game(the fact that it is early too),doesn't really count for much come championship

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 26/01/2015 19:07:06    1686665

The O' Byrne Cup is very useful for looking at new players or for giving players coming back from injury more game time.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 26/01/2015 19:17:50    1686672

No Doublehop I am not, no one plays down the O'Byrne cup more than myself, I was just irked by lazy journalism, that's all.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 26/01/2015 19:34:07    1686680

Hill honest question do you think we can win the all Ireland with Carty and Emmett in midfield this year?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/01/2015 20:41:05    1686724

The championship is that one competition
This was a separate competition wht can't people just take each competition on its own and not say after each one if it will count or matter come championship.
Gaa season doesn't start when the championship starts
Your allowed enjoy matches outside of the summer lads

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/01/2015 20:57:39    1686734

I always enjoy them, I go to them all, it's just that the result only stays with me if it's championship!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 26/01/2015 21:46:40    1686759

Clondalkin the all Ireland starts in June for us
How on earth can anybody answer that question now.
I'm concentrating and talking about the league as that is the competition that starts this weekend
We will worry about the all Ireland when the league is over.
Both o conghaile and car thy have shown better form so far than McCauley and deserve to start ahead of him this weekend. He needs to learn he is not invincible and indiscipline will be punished. Might help him in the long run get back to where he was in 2013

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/01/2015 21:54:28    1686763

So you just want him dropped for a LEAGUE game against Cork? That's what your crusade against him is all about ? Mccauley is a great player and is one of the main reasons we've won two all Irelands recently, im going to stick by him cause I know form is temporary and we've a much better chance with him in midfield than anyone else.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/01/2015 10:16:42    1686800

I wouldn't drop MDMC against Cork

It's great he wont miss the game...

Give him a stiff enough dressing down and tell him that his actions could have cost Dublin the game

Then tell him that you want him to lead from the front next time out and redeem himself

We have a terrible record playing Cork on their own patch...

We need to be looking to change that.. and we'll have a better chance with a player of his caliber on the pitch

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/01/2015 12:08:24    1686833