Conor McGregor in Croke Park

Cuederocket I couldn't care less whether you like it or not.. What I do care is you'll be the type going out trying to block a croker fight with petitions etc I'm not trying to make u like the sport just trying to educate u so u stop going around calling it barbaric or a joke without knowing the first thing about it.

And Conor isn't contriving confidence. Yes he talks alot of crap but he's just having fun with it and the showmanship but he has confidence from the countless hours he puts into it.

Now if ye don't like the sport please stop talking about it and go back to doing whatever ye do.. Which I'd say is very little...

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 22/01/2015 17:21:34    1685587

blackspot91, sitting on a guy's chest and driving elbows and fists into him while he tries to cover his face and head is not ground fighting, nor is it even sport. Do you watch ufc yourself at all?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/01/2015 17:22:37    1685588

fabio8
County: USA

its quite clear a good few posters here happen to like the fella just because he is from their own county..i would suggest they would think very differently if he was from somewhere else

Can only speak for myself, of course there's an element to it that I like McGregor because we're from a similar backgound/place. That is only natural. I'd still like him no matter where in Ireland he came from.

If he wasn't Irish I wouldn't have as much interest in him but I'd still appreciate the colour and brashness that he brings to his sport.

He's an easy target for people to knock in fairness but it is nice to see how well his game works on people all over.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/01/2015 17:32:01    1685592

i dislike him as i see him as fake mesamis and the whole thing completely forced and contrived..it doesnt matter where hes from to me.....i dont like how the ufc conducts themselves in general as they will hype up anything to make a bit of money..look at a notable person they signed recently for instance.....mainly i dislike the whole bandwagon around him...we must be the worst country in the world for jumping on what ever is popular and going on about how great we are...everybody is now pretending to be mma experts,,.soon somebody will declare it the biggest sport in the country.....if he loses which he is heavily expected to..you will see a huge drop off

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/01/2015 17:49:46    1685598

Well to my mind, if he was actually confident, he wouldn't have to hide behind a contrived persona

MesAmis, I never stated he wasn't confident in his own abilities

So he's confident in his own abilities but if he was really confident he wouldn't be hiding behind his supposed contrived persona.

So what is not confident in then Master? The economy?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/01/2015 17:52:41    1685601

No Jimbo, my Dubs career was worse than that, especially when we played the royal :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 22/01/2015 17:54:21    1685604

What cuederocket has just posted is what I would consider confidence, and fair play to him, he makes some valid points and I respect him for his stance. On the other side of it, you have clondalkindub, who, despite a lengthy effort to reason out my stance to him, seems to only have a response of 'you are anti-dub', even though I never once referred to anything to do with Dublin until he put this to me. So basically, everyone who doesn't gush about McGregor is anti-dub, right? Even other dubs... His response is as full of holes as mcgregors new accent. Strange, a man you are supporting only because of where he is from, seems hell-bent on erasing that same heritage. To me, a guy trying to lose his irish accent talking about the 'fighting irish taking over' and draping a tri-colour over him is in fact quite a hollow gesture.

No one is supporting McGregor just because he's a Dub or Irish.

It's part of the reason alright though. People relate to his story, from the dole queue to making a decent living for himself. People identify with that, you may not be others do.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/01/2015 17:55:29    1685605

Blackspot i never said it was barbaric.Rubbish,nonsense,boring and silly - absolutely.Get it right please(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/01/2015 17:58:14    1685608

i dislike him mesamis as i see him as fake and the whole thing around him as forced...ufc are in desperate need of a star hence the major push he is being given..sure look who they recently signed..far from a respectable organisation....what i dislike more than mcgregor is the whole bandwagon around him which this country is well known for...everybody is acting like mma experts now and soon it will be declared the biggest sport in the ireland...if he loses which he is expected to..we will see quite a drop off...on a side note i like his fighting style but it doesnt matter to me where he is from be it irish or dub or wherever..i just dont like the man

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/01/2015 18:02:52    1685610

Clearly more than you TheMaster.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 22/01/2015 18:03:48    1685611

And as regards me petitioning against a Croker shindig,dont be silly -as a cabbie id do quite well out of it im sure.Id do a deal with the devil if i had to to survive(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/01/2015 18:05:29    1685612

TheMaster stop trying to make out that mma consists of two guys walking into a ring where one is told to lie on the ground while the other is put on top of him to hit him. If a guy is in that position it's because he is the lesser fighter or made a mistake and didn't defend himself properly and is about to lose the contest.
It's a sanctioned sport no matter what you say so get over it.
And if it's so barbaric go find me the Research that shows an mma fighter with serious injuries.
Concussion is infinitely more prevelant in rugby. And guys smash into each other on the ground in rucks for eighty minutes. Is rugby not a sport either?

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 22/01/2015 18:13:01    1685615

Sorry cue it must have been one of the others.. :/

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 22/01/2015 18:28:28    1685618

fabio8
County: USA

i dislike him mesamis as i see him as fake and the whole thing around him as forced...ufc are in desperate need of a star hence the major push he is being given..sure look who they recently signed..far from a respectable organisation....what i dislike more than mcgregor is the whole bandwagon around him which this country is well known for...everybody is acting like mma experts now and soon it will be declared the biggest sport in the ireland...if he loses which he is expected to..we will see quite a drop off...on a side note i like his fighting style but it doesnt matter to me where he is from be it irish or dub or wherever..i just dont like the man

You seem to know a lot about UFC yourself, a new expert perhaps? ;)

Bandwagons will happen and in Ireland there are always 2 bandwagons.

Everyone jumping on McGregor to say how great he is and talking like experts about a sport they hadn't heard of a coupleof years ago.

Then there's the second bandwagon - with all the people congratulating each other for their independant thinking and tripping over themselves to mock those on the bandwagon as sheep for buying into the hype etc.

I know which bandwagon I'm on and which you and the Master etc are on ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/01/2015 18:29:35    1685620

i happen to have followed the ufc for a number of years mesamis albeit casually bar the odd few fighters such as anderson silva....boxing would be more my thing...not looking at congratulating anybody..merely pointing out what the man is...people banging on about him being irish so you cant criticize him for what he is contributes nothing to the argument....that my basic points on the goings on of the ufc are now considered to be trying to be expert shows people dont have much knowledge at all of the organisation...we will soon be declaring ourselves the best fight fans in the world similar to euro 2012 best fans brigade...when mcgregor gets destroyed by aldo he will be old news and it will be back to the main bandwagon in this country in time for the rugby world cup

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/01/2015 18:41:42    1685623

Conor McGregor would fill Croke Park a few times over at least!!!

WoodlawnPat (Galway) - Posts: 288 - 22/01/2015 19:05:42    1685626

I couldn't support a fella who belittles opponents with abusive taunting, I hope the gaa doesn't condone it either by offering him our stadium but after the last few days when verbal abuse seem to be tolerated in our association

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 22/01/2015 19:12:35    1685628

if he would fill it then go and fill it..the fight isnt even in ireland..its in vegas..he will probably have to win the belt first before a big fight in croker such as that..it will be interesting how the new irish fighters in the ufc conduct themselves

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/01/2015 19:38:06    1685638

I wouldnt call them that hard clondalkin, more like failed (or posh) boxers. And yes, I would go in and call it a girls blouse of a sport to them all!

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 22/01/2015 19:47:07    1685643

in all these "showbusiness" sports, a huge part of it the self-promotion, its the way to sell the fight, after all your financiasl success lives or dies by the amount of hype you can create. If you hate McGregor for the spiel, youd have to hate every boxer that ever won a world title from Joe Louis to Mayweather to Steve Collins, etc.
btw i heard an interview on the radio with McGregor just beforwe he got famous and I actually didnt know what he was saying, just mindless bluff, I take it he was just learning the hype bulls**t talk, he haS it off to a tee now!

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 22/01/2015 19:53:27    1685644