"the big girls blouse of a sport"

Whatever you reckon man...

It wouldn't be my cup of tea either.. but the above is pure tripe

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/01/2015 14:18:44    1685485

1685476 Well I'd certainly still be shouting for him if he was from Mayo.. or wherever..

I think he's a very gifted guy - both in and out of the ring

This persona has served some of the greatest fighters in history very well

Conor is on course to become the greatest in his chosen field

Hope he wins it...

Have you been drinkin today jimbo ;)

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 22/01/2015 14:23:29    1685490

Each to their own...

end of really...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/01/2015 14:25:21    1685491

Have you been drinkin today jimbo ;)

Sadly not.. ha-ha

Still on a natural high form Navan last weekend ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/01/2015 14:34:01    1685495

Ah no I'm only coddin', I'd actually like to see him win the title and I'll watch it as well provided it's not on at a ridiculous hour on a Monday morning, I actually like cocky, controversial figures in sport provided they are one of the best in their sport. Still not a really a fan of MMA though but yes, each to their own.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/01/2015 14:38:25    1685498

ConnollyDub
I dont believe that for a second, neither do you I suspect

It is easy trying to push that one. How about addressing the points I made instead? Wouldn't that be the place to start to prove the above? Like the other lads I don't really dislike him. Id be far more impressed with him if he didn't talk as much s**te, it becomes tiresome after a while. Some of it you can get a laugh out of, but most of it you don't, and there is just too much of it. Like the slight at the rte awards thing, he let himself down, and to what end? Another sound-byte? He sold out there. But to say I dislike the guy is too strong. Do I think he could do it better? Definitely.

Also, why is it that I dislike him simply because he is a dub, yet I make similar points as cuederocket? Does he dislike him because he is a dub too? That is quite a disingenuous point.

Jimbo, you say he is on to become the greatest in his chosen field. Yet any ufc fan that you talk to says he has been fast-tracked up an easy path to the top in this division. To be the greatest, even in his division, he would have to beat aldo, defend it against aldo, defend it as long as aldo has, and topple the McGregor mark 2 that the ufc hoists on him for ratings. Surely that claim is a bit hasty?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/01/2015 14:42:13    1685500

The Master it's all to do with him being confident and from Dublin ive been on here long enough to know you can't stand us and you've never had one good word to say about anyone from Dublin or the Dublin team. If he was from Mayo you'd be his biggest fan.

You see this is the problem. I list out why I, and many more it seems, think what I do. And that is ignored in favour of the above. Maybe it is yourself you want to fool, but anyone with any bit of cop on can see I have explained myself fully, and the above is just an attempt to discredit that - maybe it is easier than taking on what the details of what I actually did say. I don't get this default victim stance of 'it is because he is from dublin'. It obviously isn't.

Also, if he was from mayo I would be more critical of him. For instance, Aidan O'Shea and Bernard brogan are forever talking in the papers. Im far more critical of AOS about that, I don't think I have ever mentioned brogan in the newspapers. You see I expect higher standards from my own -Mayo -Irish -whatever it may be. Set higher standards and you will achieve higher than the next guy/group.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/01/2015 14:55:13    1685506

Well to my mind, if he was actually confident, he wouldn't have to hide behind a contrived persona. I don't see what he does as confidence any more than an actor going out and rhyming off some lines makes them confident. Surely confidence is about being comfortable with who you are?

Also, his most vocal critic on here is cuederocket, from Dublin.

I think a few Dublin posters are making allowances for him, because he is from Dublin, because they keep referring to it like it means something. Personally, I don't care where he is from. Id probably be a bit more critical because he is irish, but not because of the reasons being quoted here, it is because you expect better from your own.

Of course I like him coz he's a young working class Dub making something of himself. Why on earth wouldn't I?! Anyone from the same type of background as you that is being successful is always great to see.

You just keeping repeating that it's fake or whatever and that he's actually not confident. You think that anyone would get into the octagon with any pro and not be confident in his own abilities! C'mon man! That's ridiculous!

It is all part of the act, and it works very well for him

You don't like the persona he has of a confident working class Dubliner. Fair enough, a lot of people don't like it as they prefer people to fit into their own conceptions of how they ought to be.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/01/2015 15:12:31    1685514

My original point of saying that he is a confident, successful working class lad and that that tends to alienate a certain type of person from the outset is valid imo.

I'm not accusing anyone of that on here though but it is a point to be made nonetheless. It happens in every walk of life.

The fact he is a Dub can be just a cherry on the top for some people in knocking him ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/01/2015 15:17:10    1685515

its quite clear a good few posters here happen to like the fella just because he is from their own county..i would suggest they would think very differently if he was from somewhere else

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/01/2015 15:36:32    1685525

Master i think your points on this are quite valid.I will never go for the populist opinion out of blind loyalty to your place of birth,religion,politics etc.If i dont like someone,or something,regardless of who they are or where they come from,im strong minded enough to say it.There are many things i love about Dublin.Quite a few i dont like aswell.Its called having a mind of your own.If i go against the grain its not out of provocation.Just my beliefs.If people dont agree well thats fine.I must be the only Hogan Stand poster that has frequently said that some counties will end up amalgamating.Ive yet to see one poster who agrees.Big deal.I stand over it 100%.Good ole debate lads tis a bit o craic.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/01/2015 15:41:37    1685533

"the big girls blouse of a sport" - I can tell you now, even if he showed up in one, I wouldn't be saying a word!

Great to see the man do well and regardless of what anyone thinks of the sport, its great to see an Irishman at the top or fighting to be at the top.

Another sport that a lot of people won't like but then again that doesn't make any difference. Its still great to see how much a small nation has contributed to the world and to boot he is proud of his Irish roots even if its Cavan. Superbowl Feb 2nd.

http://www.irishcentral.com/sports/how-patriots-quarterback-great-tom-brady-found-his-irish-roots-138284859-237428831.html

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 22/01/2015 15:42:33    1685534

Lads I dare you to go to a local mma fight night and say "this is a big girls blouse sport" out loud and see what happens. The hardest of the hard do mma it is the hardest sport out there bar none. McGregors last documentary he was filmed throwing Mcgeeney around like a rag doll and Mcgeeney is the hardest player of the last 20
Years, only the brave get in that cage and as far as I can see Mcgregor is our bravest.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/01/2015 15:57:51    1685542

Lads I dare you to go to a local mma fight night and say "this is a big girls blouse sport" out loud and see what happens. The hardest of the hard do mma it is the hardest sport out there bar none.

Haha, I'm sure you'd get a right belly tickling if you shouted that out loud alright, anyway as for it being for 'the hardest of the hard' to be honest I don't think mma fighters are any harder than boxers or jump jockeys and I mean that.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/01/2015 16:25:42    1685559

i see you are an expert on ufc now all of a sudden clondalkin..how many fights have you watched?...that the likes of you are banging on about mcgregor says a lot..people known for extreme hyperbole on this thread

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/01/2015 16:26:20    1685560

The Master if you weren't so anti Dub I might believe you but you are so anything you say against us I don't really care anymore.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/01/2015 16:26:47    1685561

TheMaster nobody beats up a cowarding guy on the ground! You make is sound like the guy was attacked or forced into a fight. Ground fighting is part of the game and they are trained in ground defense as well as attack. and the minute a fighter is no longer appropriately defending himself the fight is called. Do some research before talking about something on public forums.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 22/01/2015 17:06:25    1685580

Hope he gets knocked out :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 22/01/2015 17:14:18    1685582

What cuederocket has just posted is what I would consider confidence, and fair play to him, he makes some valid points and I respect him for his stance. On the other side of it, you have clondalkindub, who, despite a lengthy effort to reason out my stance to him, seems to only have a response of 'you are anti-dub', even though I never once referred to anything to do with Dublin until he put this to me. So basically, everyone who doesn't gush about McGregor is anti-dub, right? Even other dubs... His response is as full of holes as mcgregors new accent. Strange, a man you are supporting only because of where he is from, seems hell-bent on erasing that same heritage. To me, a guy trying to lose his irish accent talking about the 'fighting irish taking over' and draping a tri-colour over him is in fact quite a hollow gesture.

MesAmis, I never stated he wasn't confident in his own abilities, and to be frank you know I didn't either. Im sure Stephen cluxton is confident in his own abilities also. Im talking about the way he feels the need to change his persona. Are you saying that he needs to act like this to be a good fighter? Then shouldn't cluxton be all brash and disrespectful to be a good goalkeeper? Of course not.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/01/2015 17:18:30    1685585

realdub

Hope he gets knocked out :D

_________

Bit like your Dub career man... :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/01/2015 17:21:08    1685586