Conor McGregor in Croke Park

Yea kingdom i second realdub on that.I like it.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 21/01/2015 19:32:41    1685285

I bet you would cuederocket :D hahaha
it's all voyeurism, some people like to watch others having a roll in the hay, and some like to watch people beat the shit out of each other!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 21/01/2015 19:35:06    1685287

Kingdomboy I don't understand how darts has any relevance to this? Are you saying it's similar to mma or what? I'm confused? Personally I'm not a fan of darts at all and wouldn't call it a sport.. It's a pub game. There isn't exactly physical excursion!

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 22/01/2015 09:18:46    1685356

For everyone calling mma Street fighting for one thing if these lads were caught Street fighting they'd be fired immediately and disgraced. Mma has a big anti thuggery policy. Also God help the man who tries to start a street fight with someone with mma training. Also can I ask the people against mma.. Are ye all against all forms of self defence training /sports. If yer kids asked ye could they do karate or wrestling would you call them thugs? Cue smart comments from people without real response..

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 22/01/2015 09:24:57    1685359

I don't know about anyone else but personally I take issue with this 'irish people will always dislike someone who is confident' nonsense, as if we are some race of low-intelligence fools who have to be allowed for. As for self-loathing, an Irishman making the above quoted statement is the definition of self-loathing.
Loads of non-irish people dislike McGregor, most genuine ufc fans who are not irish dislike him actually, mainly because they can see how he has been fast-tracked to the top to make a load of money for the ufc bigwigs - off mcgregors newfound fans (the irish people).
Similarly, irish people have no issue with lots of people who are confident that are not fake. What people - irish or otherwise - dislike about McGregor is that he is very contrived. The whole thing comes across as fake. Now jimbo is trying to say that is a positive thing, but we all know that being fake isn't positive. People are quite entitled to dislike something that is fake, in fact they should be praised for standing up and stating what they see. I see it as positive that the irish don't fall for such a contrived act, but rather see through it.

You don't have to be contrived to be confident, in fact they are pretty much at odds with one another. The way I see it is that the irish are the confident ones, and they are taking issue with one of their own who seems to feel the need to change his entire persona to be confident.

As for the comparison with darts and ufc. Personally Id see darts as more of a sport. When people think of sport they think of fair play, darts is a very fair game. The whole beating up a cowering guy on the ground part of ufc, to me, is not sport.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/01/2015 10:33:37    1685379

most genuine ufc fans who are not irish dislike him actually

TheMaster, thats a fairly broad statement there which I doubt you could back up. McGregor may have been fast-tracked due to his outlandish nature but to date he has backed it up with performances. There aren't really any better placed challengers for Jose Aldo apart from people who he has already faced before.

I'm not much of a fan of UFC although I'd watch McGregor if he was on at a decent hour. I much prefer boxing but there are many examples of boxers who got big fights, title shots and big paydays more through their talk than their performances - David Haye springs to mind in that department. Shannon Briggs is another who has been practically stalking Klitschko for years to try and get another payday.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 22/01/2015 11:38:02    1685405

benjyyy
TheMaster, thats a fairly broad statement there which I doubt you could back up. McGregor may have been fast-tracked due to his outlandish nature but to date he has backed it up with performances. There aren't really any better placed challengers for Jose Aldo apart from people who he has already faced before.

I disagree. Havent you just made the same type of statement about boxing in the paragraph below? Didn't all of boxing think the same about haye? the same applies here. You are right, there aren't people better positioned to fight aldo, the point is, his getting there was clearly manipulated to create a big showdown scenario that isn't actually deserved. As you say, aldo has faced most guys already, so to the guy with passing interest, McGregor is the guy to stop him. The truth is there are guys he has already beaten who probably still have a better claim to fight him, but a rematch doesn't sell. So they engineer this new guy into the equation, and fast track him into being a challenger. did you know that siver has lost almost 33% of his fights? Does that sound like a genuine qualifier to face the very best to you? Of course not, we are being manipulated. I see dana white named McGregor as the 'most marketable fighter in the ufc'. Not the best, not the toughest, not the guy with the best technique, the most marketable...

I'm not much of a fan of UFC although I'd watch McGregor if he was on at a decent hour. I much prefer boxing but there are many examples of boxers who got big fights, title shots and big paydays more through their talk than their performances - David Haye springs to mind in that department. Shannon Briggs is another who has been practically stalking Klitschko for years to try and get another payday.

Of course, and they were criticised for that. McGregor should get the same is what I am saying.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/01/2015 12:01:59    1685418

I agree master.The whole ufc or mma or whatever other letters this farce goes under,is about as real as a hookers orgasm.Theres no accounting for taste though,so to those who like it thats fair enough.Personally i think its an absolute borefest,with an undercurrent of menace and brutality.Maybe the few posters here who like it can just accept the vast majority of us think its rubbish,and all the explaining and justification of it wont change a thing.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/01/2015 12:05:31    1685424

A cocky, confident, successful working class Dub!

What's not to like?!!!! ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/01/2015 12:24:33    1685429

22/01/2015 12:24:33
MesAmis

1685429 A cocky, confident, successful working class Dub!

And that folks is the reason why all you culchies dont like him, admit it ;)

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 22/01/2015 12:36:56    1685431

its more like wwf than boxing, ive seen a lot of lads go down easier than a drunk culchie outside coppers. Youd have to like McGregor but, hesd a bit of craic, and he doesnt come across like he really believes the s***e he comes out with. Be good to see him in Croker, I dont mind anything in croker except genuine rival sports (shooting ourselves in the foot). If he can fill it, all the better, people will swallow anything.

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 22/01/2015 12:42:12    1685433

Maybe the few on here who like this rubbish can just accept that the vast majority of posters cannot stand it.No amount of explaining or justification will alter this.Pretty simple really.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/01/2015 13:10:33    1685446

MesAmis

Well to my mind, if he was actually confident, he wouldn't have to hide behind a contrived persona. I don't see what he does as confidence any more than an actor going out and rhyming off some lines makes them confident. Surely confidence is about being comfortable with who you are?

Also, his most vocal critic on here is cuederocket, from Dublin.

I think a few Dublin posters are making allowances for him, because he is from Dublin, because they keep referring to it like it means something. Personally, I don't care where he is from. Id probably be a bit more critical because he is irish, but not because of the reasons being quoted here, it is because you expect better from your own.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/01/2015 13:35:43    1685457

1685457 MesAmis

Well to my mind, if he was actually confident, he wouldn't have to hide behind a contrived persona. I don't see what he does as confidence any more than an actor going out and rhyming off some lines makes them confident. Surely confidence is about being comfortable with who you are?

Also, his most vocal critic on here is cuederocket, from Dublin.

I think a few Dublin posters are making allowances for him, because he is from Dublin, because they keep referring to it like it means something. Personally, I don't care where he is from. Id probably be a bit more critical because he is irish, but not because of the reasons being quoted here, it is because you expect better from your own.

I dont believe that for a second, neither do you I suspect

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 22/01/2015 13:50:57    1685467

It's all an act lads

From various colleagues that have worked with him in his various media appearances across Irish TV - they've all said that he's a very approachable and a decent sort. Always on time and gets the job done, thanks everyone on a one to one level and heads off.

All the rest is huff and guff and it's worked for him... a stage act

Most of his competitors go on about his mouth and him being a clown/jester... then they very quickly find themselves in a heap on the ground

There is no question that Irish people have a huge issue with overly confident people - we prefer fella's that play themselves down, the "ah sure I'm just happy to be here" type of attitude - disingenuous liars. That's what we like... :)

In this case Conor is from Dublin... a cocky Dub... sure country people love that... so I have zero doubt that winds people up

But it's an act folks... and it's working very well for him - he no doubt has confidence but as a fighter if you don't have confidence in your abilities you are not going to achieve much.

The rest is pantomime...

You have guys that don't like him.. that cant stand MMA / UFC.. talking about him... his exposure now is massive, all this coming from a sport that wouldn't be anywhere near as popular as soccer, GAA , Rugby - he's still a household name and in fact is probably the most talked about and highly sought after Irish sports person.

So he really has done very well... but his actions speak louder than his words, and what he's achieved in such a short space of time has never been seen before in the UFC... so what he's done is spectacular

I hope he goes onto win it.. it looks like he genuinely cares a great deal about being Irish and representing Ireland at this level

So all the best to him... hope he brings home the gold... and Ireland has another World Champion

But it wont be easy... all fighters have a bad day at the office, even if he loses.. Aldo wont be around forever - his time will most certainly come.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/01/2015 14:00:48    1685473

Its more the UFC itself than McGregor that i dislike.I dont know much about him apart from the odd time he comes on Newstalk or the odd bit of sports news on TV.Hes a brash showman tryin to make his name in a crap sport.Personally ive noting against that.Good luck to him if he can.As i said before theres always people who will swallow any old rubbish so no doubt hell become a wealthy man.Just not for me.And i cudnt care less that he lives down the road from me.If he was my own brother id still dislike the sport.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/01/2015 14:04:32    1685475

Well I'd certainly still be shouting for him if he was from Mayo.. or wherever..

I think he's a very gifted guy - both in and out of the ring

This persona has served some of the greatest fighters in history very well

Conor is on course to become the greatest in his chosen field

Hope he wins it...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/01/2015 14:04:41    1685476

Nah we don't mind McGregor, we're used to cocky, confident, albeit unsuccessful Dubs, there's enough of them living around the country :-)

What most of us aren't fans of is the big girls blouse of a sport he's making a name for himself in.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/01/2015 14:09:25    1685478

Htaem

Nah we don't mind McGregor, we're used to cocky, confident, albeit unsuccessful Dubs, there's enough of them living around the country :-)
_______

That's how you know if a Dub is successful or not..

Being forced to live in the country... bleh...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/01/2015 14:14:02    1685479

The Master it's all to do with him being confident and from Dublin ive been on here long enough to know you can't stand us and you've never had one good word to say about anyone from Dublin or the Dublin team. If he was from Mayo you'd be his biggest fan.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/01/2015 14:16:22    1685480