Conor McGregor in Croke Park

He's not from lucan he's from Crumlin his family moved there a few years ago, just saying.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/01/2015 13:05:13    1685120

I know dat clondalkin.Im not from Lucan either but im livin here 8 years.McGregor and the twins are residents also.So its fair to say were neighbours.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 21/01/2015 13:29:07    1685130

Just saying.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/01/2015 13:46:47    1685140

Not sure about UFC going to Lansdowne Road. Would imagine the locals would be calling for the army in given the prospect of 50,000 pumped up meatheads descending on the area

srb (Antrim) - Posts: 344 - 21/01/2015 14:42:09    1685160

srb

Not sure about UFC going to Lansdowne Road. Would imagine the locals would be calling for the army in given the prospect of 50,000 pumped up meatheads descending on the area

But they already host rugby matches ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 21/01/2015 14:51:30    1685162

But do people not think that UFC wouldn't be a good match for a stadium like croke park? All the seats are too far away, you wouldn't be able to see anything, and the fights are only lasting 6 odd minutes... (The fight would be over and the dubs still wouldn't be in :D ) I just see it as a bit of a mismatch.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/01/2015 15:04:25    1685165

MesAmis

srb

But they already host rugby matches ;)

Enter Ormond in 5, 4, 3……….

srb (Antrim) - Posts: 344 - 21/01/2015 15:13:14    1685173

Sport by definition is an activity involving physical exertion and skill in which an individual or team competes against another or others for entertainment. So can the ignorant snobs here who think mma isn't a sport explain that to me? It may not be everybody's cup of tea which is fine but there's no need to mock or degrade it. Such a typical backward Irish mentality. I'm a big fan of both gaa and mma. Mma is a combat sport that requires emence skill and athleticism at elite level. There training is phenomenal and most gyms have great ethoses on respect hard work and how to conduct yourself. Etc. For those who think it's barbaric it has far less long term consequences then boxing or rugby for that matter. As for Conor, we're a small country and rarely produce stars of his quality on an international stage so I for one will support him all the way. And I knew of him long before fame so I'm not a bandwagoner.. Honestly the ignorance from lads on here is infuriating. Most of ye probably have beer bellies and achieved f all in yer lives. If ye don't like the sport don't watch it.. No need to slam it without any knowledge what so ever.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 21/01/2015 15:16:59    1685178

All I know is it was a good Donegal man who put manners on McGregor last!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 21/01/2015 15:26:59    1685187

Hope not. Personally have no time for him or UFC in general. As Podge and Rodge might say ... if I could care less I would!

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 21/01/2015 15:37:47    1685194

Kildare30 if you don't care then grand.. But then why are you commenting on this thread?

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 21/01/2015 17:10:44    1685237

Lockjaw

All I know is it was a good Donegal man who put manners on McGregor last!

Ha-ha.. I actually think that Conor has plenty of manners - it's all just an act

It of course rubs many Irish people the wrong way because we're almost pre-wired for self loathing - a guy like Conor or at least his act is utterly un-Irish

But that's not particularity a bad thing... false modesty is basically another way of lying and completely disingenuous - for some reason Irish people prefer that... but there you go. Warped.

His folks have played a big part in his life and being solid working Dublin folk - like all Irish families in a similar state - there's no room not to be mannerly at home

It's all just an act and it's working superbly well

All his opponents go on about him being all talk, a jester, a clown and a mouth... that's what he wants them to think

He then does the real talking in the ring and they cant live with him... the clown turns them inside out and puts them down.

Quite embarrassingly in fact... calling a guy a clown and then finding yourself on your back...

So his act has served him well... and all the best to the guy.

The sport wouldn't be my cup of tea but I love seeing a Dublin guy doing well for himself on the world stage

So far that reason alone... I'd shout for him :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 21/01/2015 17:17:54    1685241

if this is a sport my god what has the world come too
ive seen something similar on a sat night
two lads rolling around floor outside the nightclub
look maybe its the way our society is going
where violence semm to be commonplace thing

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 21/01/2015 17:25:06    1685245

Blackspot91
Just wondering Is darts a real sport?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/01/2015 18:15:24    1685263

How long till Conor mcgregor is part of the Dublin backroom team? :-D or is he all ready?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/01/2015 18:19:32    1685264

who cares.
do people actually watch that tripe?

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 21/01/2015 18:53:56    1685270

RHudson. Who goes to nightclubs anymore? Soooo 90s!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 21/01/2015 18:56:28    1685271

Violence is the new porn in our society!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 21/01/2015 19:17:46    1685281

Id take a creampie over a bloodied nose any day of the week.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 21/01/2015 19:26:55    1685282

Good one KingdomBoy1 :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 21/01/2015 19:28:54    1685283