Conor McGregor in Croke Park

True Realdub. I heard a story, not sure it it's true or folklore that Mick Lyons drew an imaginary circle around himself in Croker one day and politely informed one Vincent Murphy if he stepped inside the circle that Tommy would peel the head off him?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7365 - 20/01/2015 20:31:17    1684980

hes certainly the biggest bandwagon in the country going at the minute..nothing more..it will be the rugby team if we do well in the world cup...if he loses...you will see how popular mma is in ireland...a minority sport

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 20/01/2015 20:33:23    1684982

Colm Coyle vs Liam McHale would surely fill croker

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 20/01/2015 20:38:04    1684988

GreenandRed

Hahaha, Mick didn't say too much, but when he did, it was never "how are ya" :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 20/01/2015 21:08:56    1685002

Colm Coyle V anybody :D
He knew how to hit you!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 20/01/2015 21:09:57    1685003

Compared to Liam Harnan,Mick Lyons was like a girl scout.Vinny Murphy looked hard but cudnt blow the fluff off a cappuccino.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 20/01/2015 21:21:32    1685009

Joncarter if you want to see boring watch kerry v Donegal if you want entertainment watch Conor McGregor. McGregor stays on his feet more than any UFC fighter he's really a boxer he has amazing knock out power. Anyone whose what McGregor live and says he's not entertaining is a liar.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/01/2015 21:38:52    1685016

cuederocket, gonna have to ask you to get off the fence there...!

Id agree hteam. There is a lot of hype around it in the country at the minute, mainly because of mcgregor and what he does outside the octagon, but a good boxing match is miles ahead. I have tried to watch it too, but to me there is very little sport involved. It will fade away with mcgregor, and I cant say I will miss it when it does.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/01/2015 21:42:51    1685017

Master,sometimes in life you gotta either sh*t or get off the pot!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 20/01/2015 21:48:14    1685019

Gerry McEntee. Mill you on the field then loll you with his bill to fix you up after!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7365 - 20/01/2015 22:00:57    1685029

Lads ye would moan about anything, Mc Gregor is making a name for himself in a tough sport that pays very well if you get to the top, it is bigger in ppv than boxing in America,He has attracted a lot of attention to himself because of bragging and show boating , but is backing it up with great technique and wins. Dana White is like Simon Cowell and sees dollar signs with McGregor in the Irish American following. But this is a tough sport that requires a lot of martial arts skills and Mc Gregor is going to fight one the best out there in Aldo. Fair play to Mc Gregor he is in serious shape and is letting his fists do the talking ,i hope he wins but Whether he fights in Croker or not ,well i wouldnt lose sleep either way .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 20/01/2015 22:05:58    1685030

Fair play to Conor!

F*** the begrudgers I say.

No surprise that he has his knockers in Ireland. He's a successful, confident, brash working class lad. A combination that will turn a lot of people in Ireland against you! ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 21/01/2015 08:34:13    1685033

ochonlir1

This country was long on the map before the wee McGregor came along

Every time the above organisation or the WWE or a pop group come here they say that we are the best audience in the world...

.... Just as they say to every other Country they visit [/I]

What is your point? So we shouldn't let them hold an event here because they say it to everyone else in the world. You obviously don't watch this or the boxing. Ireland is known for the atmosphere at the most recent fighting events. It doesn't make financial sense for the UFC to come near Ireland with big fights but they are still considering it. We should be proud of the fact they want to bring an event here and get behind someone who is taking the world by storm.

People who are calling it boring clearly haven't watched much of it especially mc gregor. Like boxing some fights can be boring if they just grapple. That doesn't happen to often though because UFC stick the top guys in against each other. As far as mc gregor's fights go, he hasn't really grappled at all. They have all been stand up fights whilst they lasted.

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 21/01/2015 09:06:51    1685040

What has it to do with him being working class Mes Amis!! Lots of working class people manage to be successful without being obnoxious :-)

As for the sport, to me - and I boxed, or rather WAS boxed! - it is no different than street fighting, and the personas of the participants and the audience reflect that.

If people like it fair enough. People also prefer that Simon Cowell rubbish to real music. That is their prerogative. As GAA member, I was merely voicing my opposition to the circus being held in Croke Park.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 21/01/2015 09:11:49    1685043

Wouldn't we be better off with the gate at Croke Park going in GAA pockets than going accross the river to the IRFU if it was in the AVIVA?

IF McGregor does get a title defence in Dublin, it'd never go ahead with another sport, but him and Andy Lee fighting for world titles in the same stadium would be well worth seeing.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7365 - 21/01/2015 09:56:57    1685053

Well done Andy Lee on your world title but I was offered tickets to see Andy Lee fight or Conor McGregor fight Id go to McGregor every time. Hurlingdub I can't stand Cricket wouldn't watch it ever but I still respect and say well done to Eoin Morgan and the lads for making it big in that sport I wouldn't be so negative to see a young man doing very well for himself. The only circus I see nowadays is Gaelic football where both teams have 14 men in there own half were they handpass it all day and the final score is 8-6 that to me is a circus and a crime against the game I love.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/01/2015 11:09:34    1685077

we let that other joke of a sport, soccer, into Croke Park. Why not UFC? Even football not all that deadly these days either.

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 21/01/2015 11:30:21    1685083

UFC has a fairly defined demographic of followers: typically male and under 30. There is a huge falloff in following once you go outside these parameters. This goes a long way towards explaining why a lot of people (including several posters here) think it is rubbish / boring / uncouth / unnecessarily violent etc. However, is it any different from the demographics of other sports or spectacles? The WWE has a similar demographic. Justin Bieber has a different one (i.e. once you hit puberty you wonder what all the fuss is about). Is this any reason to decry the sport or say a UFC event shouldn't be held in Croke Park?

- I personally enjoy the sport without being a "supporter" - i.e. I'll watch it on the box if it's on but wouldn't prioritise it over other events.
- I think McGregor is entertaining to watch when he's fighting, though I don't think he's that good on the mike - he's just brash when you compare him to Ali or The Rock or Hulk Hogan etc. who excelled when addressing the audience. If he's the poster boy / main draw of the UFC then it could do with a bit of PR work (or it could deliberately be trying to avoid comparisons with the WWE).
- I also wonder about the quality of his opponents - they seem to suit his style and he's dominated in every fight I've seen. Is this like Rocky before he agreed to fight Clubber Lang? Is McGregor actually a very good all round fighter? Time will tell, I guess.
- I think if McGregor becomes world champion, he will get his defence in Croke Park and he will fill it. If a redneck who hasn't had a hit in nearly a generation can sell it out 5 times, then why can't the UFC with a current headliner? If people don't think they'd get a good view from the upper tier, then either buy a lower tier / pitch ticket or don't go.
- I wonder if people who are against this event (hypothetically) going ahead also bemoaned the cancellation of the Brooks concerts and the disappointment to fans / loss of revenue to the country?

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 21/01/2015 12:29:53    1685106

haha we should play a round of premier league darts in croker too haha
im sure a marketing campaign would get a load of fruits to pay 70 euro in to sit in the back row of the canal end
to look at a screen haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/01/2015 12:35:03    1685108

Aghhh Lucans finest.McGregor and Jedward.I dont know which of my neighbours are more annoying.Whats the world coming to lads?Lets try and keep it real.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 21/01/2015 12:54:28    1685115