Quinns on big match day... ah the craic is mighty

Ha keep it comin lads.I was goin to abstein for a month but after all the fine establishments mentioned here i feel like doing the rounds today.Doesnt take much to get me going.Flack,i remember gettin the bus in from Palmerstown as a 15 year old,with a couple pals,and getting a few 2 litres of rotten cider out of some kip on Moore St near the lane.We used to knock on the window on a Sat mornin,and be served by a bloke with 1 eye.That mite be the place.
Decky,i have droppeded hundreds of people to Coppers over the years.The state of a lot of them is awful.I can only imagine what its like inside.I never work Harcourt Street in the early hours.If their that pissed going in,i dont want them in my cab when its finished at 4am.Never liked the look of it.Yes there are lots of Dubs in there,but me or none of my pals have ever been in it.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/01/2015 13:09:06    1683480

SeamusDStallion
Good job most of aren't too discerning with our pre match pints. Bottles it is

Don't know about that. Where do you think the bottles are stored?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/01/2015 13:21:45    1683488

ha ha! that sounds like it all right cuede, this was it:
http://1916rebellionmuseum.com/about-us/who-we-are/john-conway

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 15/01/2015 15:15:09    1683537

Flack,Conways is a different pub again.Was on the corner of Parnell St.Was well run with a lot of the Rotunda staff drinkin der.I used to frequent the Parnell Mooney a few doors up and Bensons club in the basement.Good times.I dont know where i got dat cider now?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/01/2015 16:43:08    1683578

The hideout was fantastic. Went into Quinn's once left just as quick . Big tree a few times. Now its the croke park hotel with the kids and her self. But id love to turn back time and have a session in the hideout.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/01/2015 17:30:00    1683599

you have the place alright, its a different conway, nothing to do with conways pub (i dont think) which was up the road. the two pubs were chalk and cheese! o rahiilys it was called, but youd neer know it, it was named after The o Rahilly who died in the doorway, aparantly. the had a small plaque about him and a beamish sign on the front and thats all, until the sign got smashed, and they had nothing. The barman was great to talk about the dubs and celtic

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 15/01/2015 18:25:20    1683623

For us lads who ate dinner in the middle of the day, The Palace Bar in Fleet St is always popular on match days. Great pub, good crowd mix and leaving from the the heightened anticipation as you progress along O'Connell St is all part of big match day.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 15/01/2015 19:51:22    1683663

id say its not the first time thast happened in quinns, its just the first tine they got caught. There was often a bang out of the place that would frighten a &**%$**

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 15/01/2015 20:04:39    1683668

never had a pint in quinns in my life..when offaly were going well and we visited that part of the city most sundays frank o connells on dorset street was a great pub..temple bar dorset st also kavanaghs across the road..then maybe one for luck in gills on the way down..

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 15/01/2015 21:21:57    1683709

flack

id say its not the first time thast happened in quinns, its just the first tine they got caught. There was often a bang out of the place that would frighten a &**%$**
-------

Spot on Flack...

Had a similar idea myself...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/01/2015 10:36:38    1683779

Mcgraths ya a good spot for a few pre match pints.
Like going to The Croke park hotel for the post match analysis!

Quinns was good fun back in my mid 20's but only been there once in the last 6/7 years and that was last Septmber. It reeked of stale spilt drink off the floor.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 16/01/2015 11:53:10    1683806

Flack, im goin on the dry for a while,as i dont want to end up like the O Rahilly fella.Ive burned the candle at both ends.Ill leave it to ye young bucks to carry the baton.Bottoms up!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/01/2015 13:22:53    1683847

hahaha, i wouldnt say youll last too long on the dry cuede! although it must be that bit easier since so many of the good bars in town have closed (hideout, dorans blue lion, etc. boo-hoo) enjoy your tay anyway, youve actually made me reconsider clearys! ill probably thank you for it

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 16/01/2015 15:57:20    1683906

My livers so old,black and withered that if you put your ear to my side youd here it say "I have a dream"!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/01/2015 16:18:04    1683919

hahaha, go on so, but stop organizing sessions!

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 16/01/2015 17:01:47    1683929

Offside_Rule

The Dame - now there is a grand wee spot so close to Temple Bar yet hidden away from the tourists or hen/stag partygoers. Spent manys an hour in there either for a quick pint at lunch time or in the evenings after work. Pat was some man and you never knew who you would bump in to there - even had the privilege of being called an Antrim Hillbilly by the great Alec Higgins who would have been in from time to time. Plus you had the Stags Head opposite and Iskanders at the bottom of the alley for when the hunger set in and a bookies inbetween. Ah the memories.
15/01/2015 11:41:17

------
Ah yes, two classic drinking holes. There must be something about the Dame and Ulster. I had the pleasure of the company of Paul McGrath and Norman Whiteside in there one night. Paul was 'on the dry', drinking shorts instead of pints. Stags Head for great stew with YR sauce. Iskanders for the best kebabs in town. Drunken nights ending in some stranger roaring NUMBER 52!! in your face and ramming a spicy kebab into your hand were great.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/01/2015 17:56:52    1683945

I use to enjoy the "craic" in Quinns (then McGoverns) when I was a young scut back in the 80's. I Was in it briefly, a couple of times at recent games...its an absolute HOLE... Guinness is awful.

2 best DRumcondra pubs are McGraths & The Red Parrott. On the far side of CP, Gills & The Hogan Stand are always excellent.

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 16/01/2015 20:11:22    1683971

I think Quinns and the Big Tree are cliche's, they are what they are, wouldn't be seen dead in either. But plenty of interesting pubs along Dorset street and into Drumcondra. A good Pub/Nightclub up Broadstone is McGowans for young lads/lasses, beats that other barn over on the southside.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 18/01/2015 21:51:20    1684395

Can't beat the hideout on a match day was great buzz and esp on a Sunday the middle door knock and in you go hopefully it will open back up great spot and out of the way and doesn't be to packed

delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 20/01/2015 20:24:16    1684971

The Gravediggers is a great spot after a big win

Especcially with the green in front of the place on a sunny summer day

You're allowed to head out for a sit down with your pint... no one bats an eye lid

It's a truly great Dublin pub...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/01/2015 20:52:04    1684995