Quinns on big match day... ah the craic is mighty

Yes Mes the Strawberry Hall is nice.As young lads from Palmerstown we used cross the fields to swim in the Liffey there.Frequented by a lot of bikers.Havnt been in it in years.Lucan Village is ok,but i prefer the city.Always fun to be had.Never a dull moment.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 19:59:53    1683317

aaah, a great spot cuederocket. they did actually have the cheapest pint in dublin. another that went about the same time was slatterys early bar in capel street (its still there but completely changed, gone all trendy), youd meet some genuine headers cueing up at half six in the morning, a few stright out of the A+E

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 14/01/2015 20:00:53    1683318

cuederocket I remember Trader John's meself, had a couple of very early pints in there, I thought it was nice spot, nobody annoying you, didn't it close down around 2008 and Paddy Power moved in I think it was?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/01/2015 20:46:38    1683346

Yea htaem twas a nice little spot alright.Only drank in it about 5 times.Tis closed a few years now.Pity.Another piece of Dublin that only lives on in the memory.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 21:12:02    1683355

What's the average price of a pint around Croker these days? It was always about 4 - 4.50 from what I can recall, the prices seem to have levelled off a bit in the South the past 2/3 years.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 14/01/2015 21:17:18    1683356

3 pints for 10e in The Sunset House ulsterman.Unfortunately thats only on a Monday and Tuesday.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 21:31:25    1683366

Right cue, I'll see you next Monday so . Great value . Ollie, myself and yourself will go on a tear in Clearys some match day and raise a glass to the great man who adorns the walls . There was only ever one Michael Collins and thank God he was ours.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 14/01/2015 21:40:25    1683370

Ha greengrass,ye know where to find me.If im not in Clearys ill be close by.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 21:51:54    1683380

Greengrass yep hopefully Louth get a day out in Croke Park soon and me and yourself will raise a glass to Michael Collins and to the Wee County in there. An Lu Abu!

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/01/2015 21:54:25    1683382

ah wait, cuederocket, i didnt mean Trader Johns, i was talking about the other bar, further up Moore street, on the corner of moore street and O Rahillys parade The lane). I think it was called O Rahillys, but it didnt have any name or sign, a rougher sort of a place than trader johns altogether, and a great republican pub. the building got demolished around 2002 - 2003. It was the worst thing that ever happened Dublin!

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 15/01/2015 09:55:50    1683398

Between them selling beer in Croker and Jury's going up the pubs near Croker must have been hit for matchdays. Jurys is a fine place, clean and shiny, but not what you want for banter and craic. Lke having a pint in your sitting room.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 15/01/2015 10:25:19    1683406

cuederocket

Is there anymore for the Clearys appreciation club?

With you all the way on that one even if there is no match on. They appreciate the withered "culchie" fiver in there, good bar staff too

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 15/01/2015 10:30:53    1683407

cuederocket

1683152 Never understood its popularity either.Same with the Big Tree.They are the last 2 watering holes id attend.Luckily.as a Dub,i have my own favourites,just off the beaten track where,even on a busy match day,there is room for comfort,and still only 10 minutes walk away from the theatre of dreams(or screams for all other Leinster counties).Culchies are so predictable its laughable.Crammed in like battery hens to the aforementioned kips.Then Flannerys and Copper Face Jacks later that night.(am i the only Irish man thats never been to Coppers?)Maybe McGowans Phibsboro if they wanna go mad.Spice it up a bit lads and lassies.Variety is the spice of life.

To be fair, a lot of the aforementioned culchies wouldn't be too au fait with Dublin. I remember my first trip to Croker to see Roscommon as a man of legal age, of course we all ended up rammed into the Big Tree and Quinns, the usual craic. That was years ago. I wouldn't be caught dead in either of them now, but would still drink in pubs around Drumcondra (or one or two back in towards town) for the pre match atmosphere. And I dunno what you're on about re Coppers, sure its rammed with Dubs these days!

decky (Roscommon) - Posts: 384 - 15/01/2015 10:49:48    1683417

So much for Dublin's 'On the Dry' campaign!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/01/2015 10:50:55    1683418

Always liked the Red Parrot on matchdays myself: it's close enough to the ground to be convenient, without being overly crowded, unlike Quinn's, Big Tree etc.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/01/2015 10:54:31    1683421

GreenandRed the hotel isnt too bad on Match day. Its not where you'd find the drunk people but there is generally a good crowd and alot of talk and banter between different fans.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 15/01/2015 11:01:17    1683425

The Dame - now there is a grand wee spot so close to Temple Bar yet hidden away from the tourists or hen/stag partygoers. Spent manys an hour in there either for a quick pint at lunch time or in the evenings after work. Pat was some man and you never knew who you would bump in to there - even had the privilege of being called an Antrim Hillbilly by the great Alec Higgins who would have been in from time to time. Plus you had the Stags Head opposite and Iskanders at the bottom of the alley for when the hunger set in and a bookies inbetween. Ah the memories.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 15/01/2015 11:13:07    1683431

Meaghers get the thumbs up for me, bit of an Antrim spot whether we are playing or not. The Celt is a great wee spot too if in and around Dublin early in the day

srb (Antrim) - Posts: 344 - 15/01/2015 11:41:17    1683441

decky
To be fair, a lot of the aforementioned culchies wouldn't be too au fait with Dublin. I remember my first trip to Croker to see Roscommon as a man of legal age, of course we all ended up rammed into the Big Tree and Quinns, the usual craic. That was years ago. I wouldn't be caught dead in either of them now, but would still drink in pubs around Drumcondra (or one or two back in towards town) for the pre match atmosphere. And I dunno what you're on about re Coppers, sure its rammed with Dubs these days!

Exactly right. This thing where it is assumed 'the culchies always go to quinns and the big tree', it is mostly just youngsters who don't know any better, and there is a new batch of them every year. After a few trips they get wise to it, but then they get replaced. Something similar happens over in galway when the leinster goys come down to play Connacht. It isn't something specific to 'culchies', which is the impression you get from some of the posts on here.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/01/2015 11:53:49    1683446

Good job most of aren't too discerning with our pre match pints. Bottles it is

SeamusDStallion (Louth) - Posts: 4 - 15/01/2015 12:25:28    1683455