Quinns on big match day... ah the craic is mighty

daytona11

Not at all Htaem.Did you not know there is a bus stop evey hundred yards in the big smoke?

Indeed there is but Donnybrook to Croker is still a bit away, especially if you're on a bus, you've been drink and you're bursting for a wee-wee. But hey, I've never been to that pub so I can't knock it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/01/2015 16:32:59    1683224

Flack,next ull be tellin me you had your face painted,wearing a T shirt with a bodhran on it,had a leprechaun hat on and you ordered a green pint of guinness.Keep it real lads.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 16:35:18    1683227

I was only in The Celt once Cued, hopefully I'll get back there again. A good spot and a lot bigger than I thought. Sure we all have our own definition of a good pub. I used to drink in Brogans beside the Olympia, savage porter, great bar staff and usually some sport on the telly and some gallery too.,

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 14/01/2015 16:42:24    1683230

Greengrass
County: Louth

I am old enough to remember it as McGoverns. It was a kip then. I never went in to it as Quinns. Clearys Pub across from Connolly Station just a few doors away from The North Star is The Mecca. A great pub with top class bar staff.

Good man Greengrass. A man after my own heart. The movie Michael Collins was filmed in that pub.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/01/2015 16:50:48    1683234

flack

clearys is boring and fairly west-brit

Flack its probably the best west-brit pub in Dublin with all the Michael Collins pictures.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/01/2015 16:53:49    1683235

Ollie and Greengrass-gameball lads,i love a few jars in Clearys,whether on match day,or any other day.Solid Dubs.History falling off the walls.Is there anymore for the Clearys appreciation club?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 17:01:59    1683238

evano11

1683175 amothedub

disgusting cant believe I drank in a pub owned by someone from Cavan .

The pub is leased out to four people from Dublin according to the companies office, the address of the of the company is given as an office in cavan.

Ah Come on really , Id have cracked that one no matter were they were from .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/01/2015 17:07:39    1683240

westbrit/blueshirt, whays the difference? ;-)
Thats what i mean cuede, no horseplay or eejitry- just a bunch of boring old farts and young fogeys trying to get away from all the craic

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 14/01/2015 17:37:14    1683247

Cuderocket the pints are very cheap compare to other Dublin pubs, the pints of the black stuff are heaven and its a real locals pub. Some great pics of the Big Fella. Top pub.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/01/2015 17:46:23    1683252

All the Dubs wear blueshirts don't they? :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/01/2015 17:50:21    1683253

Good man Flack I say your a barrel of laughs.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/01/2015 17:55:03    1683255

Good man Flack I say your a barrel of laughs.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/01/2015 17:55:09    1683256

cuederocket

The Confession Box,The CeltSean O Caseys,Mother Kellys,Lloyds,Grand Central - to name but a few just off the beaten track in and around Marlborough Street/Talbot St/Amien Street.Mullets if your feeling really brave:(

I'd say we've drank away in the same pub after many's a Dubs game man.

You've listed a few of my haunts there man!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 14/01/2015 18:16:05    1683267

Not surprised to see that. It is the one blot on an otherwise glorious mile long pub crawl stretching from Carthys to Joxer Daly's. This is what happens when publicans take, take and take more but won't reinvest. Hope they didn't do pub grub!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 14/01/2015 18:32:02    1683275

cuederocket, I like Clearys' too. Good atmosphere and a newish extension at the back with plenty of room.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 14/01/2015 18:35:37    1683276

Absolutely Mes.Nothin surer id say.Hidden gems all.Away from the the cattle market pubs like Hogan Stand,Gills,Big 3and Quinns.How anyone cud enjoy a prematch pint in those boozers i do not know.Although i live out west Dublin,i always drink in the north inner city.Have done for over 10 years.Had a mad session in Mother Kellys only last week.Have to ease up a bit now.Detox mode.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 18:46:38    1683283

thanks ollie, it means a lot to me to feel appreciated.
The celt, now, thats more like it (not the new part but) anyway the centre hasnt been the same since they shut the bar on moore street that didnt even have a name.
lads would be coming in all the time floggin the stuff they just robbed (rashers for 25p!) and if they didnt have what you wanted, they could "source it" and be back in twenty

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 14/01/2015 19:01:00    1683289

Ah Flack. The Celt. Another pub I was in a good few times with their
green, white and orange napkins on the table.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/01/2015 19:11:50    1683291

cuederocket

I live in, and was born, bred and reared in the North Inner City thankfully so they're some of my local haunts!

A couple of nice boozers out your way in fairness. Kenny's or the Straw Hall quality establishments!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 14/01/2015 19:21:43    1683295

Flack,the pub on Moore St was Trader Johns.I had one memorable 7am session there with a few players off a famous midlands GAA club,that i happened to pick up in my cab the previous night.These boyos were blowing off steam and could drink the Shannon dry.I was like a pub tour guide.The good old days aghhh.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 19:23:36    1683296