Quinns on big match day... ah the craic is mighty

disgusting cant believe I drank in a pub owned by someone from Cavan .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/01/2015 13:13:56    1683135

Used it as handy from the Train but no more , I say no more , owners will get the cold shoulder just what they deserve .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/01/2015 13:15:48    1683137

Offside_Rule

Don't think I ever drank in Quinns. Was in the Big Tree on numerous occasions and didn't mind it to be honest - was always a good place to pick up a last minute ticket and getit at face value. McGraths on the other hand - went in there for a pint years ago and came out with a wife so maybe better avoided.

Ha! Brilliant!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 14/01/2015 13:30:41    1683144

Haven't set foot in Quinns since 1996, it was filthy then and it's filthy now. A fine place for the GAA to buy themselves I reckon.....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 14/01/2015 13:38:23    1683150

Never understood its popularity either.Same with the Big Tree.They are the last 2 watering holes id attend.Luckily.as a Dub,i have my own favourites,just off the beaten track where,even on a busy match day,there is room for comfort,and still only 10 minutes walk away from the theatre of dreams(or screams for all other Leinster counties).Culchies are so predictable its laughable.Crammed in like battery hens to the aforementioned kips.Then Flannerys and Copper Face Jacks later that night.(am i the only Irish man thats never been to Coppers?)Maybe McGowans Phibsboro if they wanna go mad.Spice it up a bit lads and lassies.Variety is the spice of life.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 13:38:53    1683152

Clearys is not west Brit.It is one of the most Republican bars in the city.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 13:43:59    1683157

amothedub

The pub is leased out to four people from Dublin according to the companies office, the address of the of the company is given as an office in cavan.

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 14/01/2015 14:20:05    1683174

amothedub

The pub is leased out to four people from Dublin according to the companies office, the address of the of the company is given as an office in cavan.

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 14/01/2015 14:20:18    1683175

Coppers is a good spot.

Or kielys in Donnybrook. Big GAA pub that one.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 14/01/2015 14:30:04    1683179

daytona11

Coppers is a good spot.

Bejaysus you must like to walk daytona!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/01/2015 14:43:50    1683186

It's a dive.. has been for a long time

It's known as a drunken culchie student spot around the area

coppers used to be the same until the dubs took it over..... :)

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 14/01/2015 14:50:47    1683188

flack

clearys is boring and fairly west-brit

I take it your taking the piss, one of the nicest pints of guinness in Dublin and decent heads there too. You must be thinking of the one on O Connell st :)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 14/01/2015 14:52:23    1683189

Did wayno not say he goes in there after Dub games?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 14/01/2015 15:03:14    1683196

I used to love the Hideoout as well. Went on an awful session with some Down supporters there one of the days in 2010.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9139 - 14/01/2015 15:15:30    1683197

cuederocket
they wouldnt serve me one st. Patricks day because i asked for a "pionta Guinness, le do theil" (it being seachtain na gaeilge and that...)
another time, while i weas having a pint therre waiting for someone, these two bould codgers nearly bored me to death with their stories from WW2, when i asked them who they fought for, they said. "for Ireland"! Thick, or deluded, i never went back anyway, boring and depressing, especially vconsidering the amount of grand pubs around there. (not Quinns!)

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 14/01/2015 15:18:43    1683200

The Confession Box,The CeltSean O Caseys,Mother Kellys,Lloyds,Grand Central - to name but a few just off the beaten track in and around Marlborough Street/Talbot St/Amien Street.Mullets if your feeling really brave:(

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 15:52:53    1683210

Post game i do the 3 pubs of Summerhill Parade - Lowrys(known to all Dubs as Beltons),The Bridge Inn and The Sunset.I know the lads that run all 3.Thereafter,its the Mater for a liver transplant.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 16:04:14    1683213

14/01/2015 14:43:50
Htaem

[b]1683186
daytona11

Coppers is a good spot.

Bejaysus you must like to walk daytona!

Not at all Htaem.Did you not know there is a bus stop evey hundred yards in the big smoke?

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 14/01/2015 16:06:02    1683214

Ask for a pint in English next time flack.The barman prob thought you were taking the urine,Paddys Day or not.I once saw 4 Kilkenny lads being shown the door for messing with an old picture of Dev and Mick Collins.Eejitry and horse play will not be tolerated in this fine establishment.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 16:13:05    1683217

Daytona,Kielys is prob Dublins most well known Rugby pub.Donnybrook is Rugby heartland.And even with the bus,youl have to leave about 1 hour before throw in on match day to get to Croke Park on good time.Seems inconvenient for a pre game pint.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 16:18:37    1683219