All Ireland SFC 2015

Don't get me wrong Kerry were deserving champions this year but ye need to come off this skill won it crap.
Ye won the final because ye played Donegal at their own game and Donegal made the mistakes instead of Kerry. Great tactics that Armagh showed in the QF stage but Dublin didn't cop on to or didn't feel they needed.

But I firmly believe that if this current Dublin team and the Current Kerry team played open expansive football then I feel Dublin would win.
This year with their tactics corrected (I presume they wont be so silly) Dublin should win back Sam.

However in saying that I like the new Kerry. They have a bit of a spine and a bit of know how and add that to skill players like Gooch and ye might get to keep sam but it will be for having an all round game not this crap about ye winning all Ireland by playing all out attacking football.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 14/01/2015 14:43:10    1683185

Yerra there was plenty of attacking football on display against Cork, Galway and Mayo. No surprises things became a bit edgier when such a young side is facing into its first All Ireland decider.

You see great sides (Kerry) have the ability to adapt to their opponents; Good sides (Dublin/Donegal) are restricted to one finissed style of play and hope its enough to see them through!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 14/01/2015 15:17:55    1683198

Post game i do the 3 pubs in Summerhill Parade-Lowrys(known to all Dubs as Beltons),The Bridge Inn and The Sunset.I know the lads that run all 3.Thereafter,the Mater for a liver transplant.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/01/2015 15:56:46    1683212

Horsebox and the hermit
Ye are right boys ye can't train natural footballing ability , you either have it in your team or you don't , and thankfully we have loads of it in Kerry. One thing is for sure no mater how much tactic and styles may change we will allways adapt and overcome.

Hughhunt
I wasn't trying to insult Dublin people in my post it was just a bit of banter that's why I put a smiley face :-) the dubs on here know that I love them :-) also we are not afraid of them we have no pressure at all on us this year coz every1 knows it's imposible to win back to backs, I mean it hasn't been done in something like 8 years :-) this can be like another transision year for us now and we can attack the championship of 2016 :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/01/2015 18:01:38    1683258

cuederocket

Post game i do the 3 pubs in Summerhill Parade-Lowrys(known to all Dubs as Beltons),The Bridge Inn and The Sunset.I know the lads that run all 3.Thereafter,the Mater for a liver transplant.

------
That's an impressive hat-trick Cuederocket. I've a fondness for all 3 of those boozers. Great pint of stout in Lowrys.

On Dublin not being capable of adapting, we adapted for a whole year in 2011 and won Sam. Gavin has principles though it seems. More a case of unwilling to adapt than unable to adapt I would say. Cost him a title this year though and he will have learned from that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 14/01/2015 18:40:35    1683278

Jaysus ye Kerry lads get your feathers in a ruffle when ye are not getting your egos stroked and being told that ye have the best team.
Donegal and Tyrone were told by everyone that their systems won them Sam because of good defence and strong tackling (their players didnt get the recognition), so why with ye is it your players ?

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 14/01/2015 19:58:09    1683316

Dublins greatest weakness is where they believe their strenght to be! They keep speaking about having the strongest squad in the country where any player can come in for the other.....thats the problem! A top class team doesn't have that, when kerry dominated they had superstars in the starting team and thats what u need to remain competitive! The three O'Se brothers, Donaghy, Gooch, Galvin and Dec O'Sullivan were names write down on the team sheet straight away, you would struggle to find a replacement from any other county dont mind your bench! Dublin have two players of that calibre, Flynn and Bernard Brogan and bernards best days are behind him! The young fellas arent up to it either, all well and good doing it in the league and leinster but when it comes to the latter stages of the championship they are found wanting aa was seen from mccaffrey and and kilkenny in 2013, no point even having hightlight what happened dublins youngsters this year! Kerry were in transition since 09 and dublin shnaked a couple of all irelands while we sleptand fair play to them! Now old order will be rrestored with kerry dominating and dublin retreating to the wilderness!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 14/01/2015 20:02:39    1683320

KY.the jackeens are like the great Kerry team of the noughties.cant hack it when put up to them.kerry failed miserably against Tyrone everytime.kerry are the most natural footballers in the country and play football the right way though if Cormac Reilly refereed the game properly would we be talking about Kerry for Sam.I think will beat ye this year.no dual players-=less distractions.JOD will never game let that again with nobody marking him.Cadogan will have him in his pocket in Munster final

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 14/01/2015 21:02:40    1683351

Leisnter Final Dublin V Meath Dublin win

Munster Final Kerry V Cork Kerry win

Ulster Final Armagh V Monaghan Armagh win

Connacht Final Mayo V Roscommon Mayo win

despite the fact that I think Galway will give me Mayo a hell of a game in Pearse Stadium I still think Mayo are just that bit ahead of Galway at the moment which is why I will go for them to win Connacht again I think Armagh will suprise a lot of people next year and whoever they play whether it be Donegal or Tyrone I would expect them to win and with Keiran Mcgeeney at the helm I would expect them to do everything to play for their manager the guy is a legend in Armagh Leinster and Munster are no brainers noone will challenge Dublin which is't gonna do them any favours come the all ireland series and Cork I think will be too damaged by the defeat to Kerry last year and have lost Aidan Walsh which is a huge blow so I expect Kerry to win mind you I don't think Kerry are as good as people think they are just my opinion!!!!!!

Maroonforever (Galway) - Posts: 414 - 14/01/2015 21:29:11    1683364

As ky writing off our young players already ha As ky remind me what the kerry supporters did to Declan O Sullivan in his early years? Also the Gooch didn't get a kick in his first all ireland Armagh 02 or against tyrone 03 semi final , and them two turned out to be two of the greatest so please give our young players a chance ffs there still only kids.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/01/2015 11:53:10    1683445

As ky writing off our young players already ha As ky remind me what the kerry supporters did to Declan O Sullivan in his early years? Also the Gooch didn't get a kick in his first all ireland Armagh 02 or against tyrone 03 semi final , and them two turned out to be two of the greatest so please give our young players a chance there still only kids.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/01/2015 12:30:06    1683456

Good to see some nice rivalries blooming in mid january. The league could be a great competition this year, never mind the championship.

Anyone saying that the Dubs have not got naturally talented footballers doesn't know anything about gaelic football. The only poor games they have played in the past 5 seasons included narrow defeats to Cork and Mayo, and the tactical mistake of last year. If anyone goes in to play them thinking that they are a team of athletes and nothing else, the very best of good luck to you..

Kerry have natuarlly talented footballers and tactics now.
So will Mayo this year. (interview with Aidan Oshea this week).
I feel Dublin will join them in terms of tactics, and think when they do, they will probably be unstoppable.
We have very decent players too, but dont really give a damn who thinks what about us, so long as we do well.

Other counties could be added to the list, but really and truly, we will know more when we see the league in full flight. I think Cork will have a massive league too. We will see.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 15/01/2015 12:44:36    1683464

Donegalman ,

The league while it is being played out will have us thinking we know the state of play of some counties and will give great discussions and predictions. But in reality we wont know until the championship plays out how well prepared teams are. Donegal and Kerry were completely written off as contenders last year based on some performances. What the league will give is an opportunity to go support your county,for us Dubs an opportunity to hit the road to Cork , Kerry , Monaghan and have a good bit of craic see some young players possibly get a run and maybe get to a final .
But Championship is different .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 15/01/2015 13:17:55    1683486

Yep If I was a Kerry poster, I'd pull my neck in pretty sharpish regarding the natural footballer rubbish, that could bite hard down the road :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 15/01/2015 13:22:39    1683490

True. I remember when Donegal lost the Div 2 league final last year people were almost giddy writing us off for the Championship. Even seasoned HS stalwarts like Liam were predicting a ten point win for Derry in the opener in Ulster. Madness!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 15/01/2015 14:30:00    1683513

The league will be tough for us again this year, our team has only started training tonight and the old soft ground doesn't suit our natural footballing style of play, it really only suits the more athletic type of teams like Dublin , but the league is the league and is only away of getting the team fit for the championship, if we can maintain our div 1 status that'll do me.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/01/2015 20:32:20    1683676

KingdomBoy1

The league will be tough for us again this year, our team has only started training tonight and the old soft ground doesn't suit our natural footballing style of play, it really only suits the more athletic type of teams like Dublin , but the league is the league and is only away of getting the team fit for the championship, if we can maintain our div 1 status that'll do me.

Didnt know the soft ground affected blanket defences and long ball merchants , Sure ye learn something knew every day .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 15/01/2015 21:38:12    1683717

i presume it will be one off the regulars but wondering when was or did a team not in division 1 ever win all Ireland same year. Last year donegal played in d2 went up got too finals.

madbull (Westmeath) - Posts: 195 - 16/01/2015 10:28:42    1683775

madbull
County: Westmeath

i presume it will be one off the regulars but wondering when was or did a team not in division 1 ever win all Ireland same year. Last year donegal played in d2 went up got too finals.

I think it was dublin in 1995.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 16/01/2015 11:46:50    1683804

madbull
County: Westmeath

Armagh 2002?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 16/01/2015 12:05:37    1683811