M50 Stadium

For Leinster games Hill.O Byrne Cup,Walsh Cup,Championship,Club etc.Im not going to lose sleep one way or the other,but im open to suggestions and progress.Unlike a few posters on here,who would never change anything if we were here till eternity.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/12/2014 18:08:30    1676404

Posters I'm not saying this cause I want a staduim in dublin I'm saying the M50 is 100% the right option, meath n kildare posters just want it in there county and that's the best reason they have nothing else.

I don't want a new stadium in Meath, I want a fit for purpose Pairc Tailteann that can cater for adequate crowds in the 30'000 - 35'000 region. The other issue is cost, why should county boards sit back and look at the Leinster Council borrow and spend lavishly on buying a greenfield site and building a 40'000 stadium when several counties are looking for funding for their own stadium improvements and development of training facilities. Offaly and Laois are both looking at developing much needed training facilities, Westmeath are building a new stand at Cusack Park, Meath want to develop Pairc Tailteann and are currently finishing their own new training centre, Kildare need at minimum short term improvements to St Conleths, Louth need to develop the Gaelic Grounds to a fit for purpose stadium of around 10 to 15'000 capacity, Longford are looking at developing a new training centre and the Dubs, yes the Dubs deserve appropriate funding to if possible improve and increase Parnell Park or look at developing a modest size ground for pre season and league fixtures as well as domestic competitions, selling Parnell Park and moving elsewhere would seem the best option as I am aware of space constrictions in Donnycarney must as I have to admit liking the place, it has a homely atmosphere and its a pity it couldn't be expanded to say 25'000. So there you have all these counties looking for funding yet Leinster Council want to pour money into a vanity project that simply isn't justified. If Cork is costing €70 million what would buying and developing land on the M50 cost?? Money much more wisely spent on projects in all the counties

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 03/12/2014 18:19:27    1676405

Liam o neill must have watched Kevin Costner's field of dreams recently and really taken to heart the whole message of " build it and they will come".
Sounds to me like he wants his tenure to be remembered with a stadium, his legacy if you like.

Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 03/12/2014 18:23:12    1676407

cuderocket

that figure is only if every single area is open in the ground
meaning every area is fully staffed and all toilets,bars and shops are fully opened
all stewards and guards are maximum booked
but that dont happen when they arent expecting a full house
they only open and employee the amount of areas and staff for the amount of people they expect to attend

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/12/2014 18:32:35    1676410

cuderocket

but what good is it being in dublin for kildare and meath and louth and so on??
croke park is more accessable to them as it is
navan has the scope for 35 thousand but if they done modernisation to it to hold 25 thousand it be perfect
kildare need a new ground in my view as newbridge has no room to expand it to a 20-25 thousand ground.
all countys should have a 20-25 thousand stadium in my opinion as a county ground
and then 1 stadium in each province holding 40 thousand plus
thats all thats needed

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/12/2014 18:40:27    1676412

Without a doubt bain,nearly all men in power,whether it be politics or sport,like to leave a legacy.The Bertie Bowl for example.This maybe the O Neill Bowl.Isnt this the way our rugby folk in deep south Dublin pronounce our Gaelic football.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/12/2014 18:40:36    1676413

It's not just a matter of the amount required for Croke Park to break even. Its the fact that 20000 to 50000 looks empty in Croke Park and kills the atmosphere both at the game and on TV.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 03/12/2014 18:53:05    1676421

Hill,i understand what your saying.Any a lot of other posters also.Lets wait until we all find out some more about this proposed project.I am open to other suggestions.But im not knocking this M50 project either.I need more information.It is quite vague at present.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/12/2014 18:55:29    1676423

The whole point of this project is to build an accessible provincial ground, not a county ground. Navan, Newbridge and Portlaoise and not accessible in the manner that routes converge on the M50 are.

I'm all for Meath and Kildare having county grounds they can be proud of but I'm not in favour if them becoming provincial stadiums. The Clones type scenario should be confined to the past and this is a positive plan.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 03/12/2014 21:03:09    1676473

seany16

the clones type scenario was far better than what they are doing in ulster now
building an all seater 40 thousadn stadium in antrim
antrim dont have a big gaa support or team in either code.
its not central to the province.
the smart thing to do would have been to do the main stadium in omagh.
tyrone have a big support and are central to the other ulster counties.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/12/2014 09:31:36    1676507

Why is it such a huge stretch of the imagination for the GAA and some people here for every county to have a decent home ground. Like EVERY other sport. Give every county a decent but modestly sized ground to place their games and less of these crazy ideas of M50 stadiums that are justified purely by proximity to motorways.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 04/12/2014 11:00:47    1676522

Come on badger,the proximity to motorways is not the only reason.Look at your own place in Navan.130 years and counting,and yeve grass for yere terraces.Talk about moving at a snails pace.There is no excuse for that.Bit of concrete,few lads and give them a few weeks and bingo.Yed have 2 normal terraces.Im sure theres a plumber that would modernise yere jacks.Stop whinging,and start building.EVOLVE.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/12/2014 12:04:31    1676544

RoyalBadger

Why is it such a huge stretch of the imagination for the GAA and some people here for every county to have a decent home ground. Like EVERY other sport. Give every county a decent but modestly sized ground to place their games and less of these crazy ideas of M50 stadiums that are justified purely by proximity to motorways.

Wha?!

Have I missed something or has EVERY other sport built great facilities in EVERY county in Ireland as the above poster is suggesting?!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/12/2014 12:35:32    1676562

cuederocket

Stop whinging,and start building.EVOLVE.

Haha ye cause it's that easy and also while we're at it why don't starving people just buy food and homeless people just buy houses, they must have never though of those extremely simple solutions, wouldn't life be great if every problem could be solved so easily.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/12/2014 13:31:00    1676589

cuederocket how does slagging off the current state of PT (something most Meath people are aware of anyway) somehow justify this M50 Bowl? If anything your advocating my point. PT and other grounds like St Conleths need to overcome the 130 years of neglect your so smug about. That's where the funds need to go. Not some monstrosity to suit Dubs who don't want to be 'dragged' to Longford.
MesAmis your completely missing my point.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 04/12/2014 14:05:38    1676600

Meathmen,you know that Mellon lad that builds homes for the poor in Africa.Ye mite give him a bell and see is he free to do yere terraces next Summer.Hes all for the down trodden lads.I reckon yere chances are more than adequate.Whats more i might volunteer a few hours myself.It breaks my heart to see those 2 grassy terraces lads.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/12/2014 14:19:30    1676607

cuederocket

It breaks my heart to see those 2 grassy terraces lads.

Mine to, but the whole place is a kip not just the grass terraces, we need to call in the Luftwaffe to blitz the place to the ground and then start again brick by brick.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/12/2014 14:47:27    1676624

RoyalBadger
MesAmis your completely missing my point.

Never a truer word said bud.

What was your point?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/12/2014 15:08:15    1676633

I'm firmly in the camp with all the Meath posters here. Pairc Tailteann and St Conleth's need to be modernised. There have been some moderate improvements in St Conleth's Park but much more needs to be done. We are not looking to build provincial grounds but simply to have decent faciities like many other counties for our home games and domestic club games. I do believe that we have both have along with Louth and Wicklow sufferd because of our proximity to Dublin. And no this is not an anti Dublin thing it is simply a geographical fact.
In regards the sketchy proposal by Liam O'Neill for an M50 Stadium I wish that he had some concrete proposals to relate through the media before he made his statement.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 04/12/2014 15:09:42    1676635

Lilywhite,surely you are joking about moderate improvements being made in Conleths Park?Isnt the capacity of 7,000 now the lowest in Ireland.And regards Liam O Neills concrete proposals,well he proposes concrete,and lots of it,for just off the M50.You might be pleasently surprised when its up and running.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/12/2014 15:18:06    1676640