Kilkenny 2015

cuederocket

Good man, I kinda guessed you were :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 30/11/2014 13:53:21    1675557

The Thunder from Down Under,the Whirlwind,the Hurricane,the Nugget,the Hearse,the Ace in the Pack,the Rocket.What is young Davy Morris's moniker?How about the Marble Marvel?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/11/2014 14:38:04    1675564

Very nice and don't forget the Jester from Leicester and the Darling of Dublin!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 30/11/2014 14:54:41    1675568

The Jester from Leicester.Or as Ronnie affectionately calls him - "The Torturer"!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/11/2014 15:09:34    1675576

:D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 30/11/2014 15:13:33    1675578

The conversation on this thread so far has been nothing but farcical.
1) the 4 players that retired contributed very little to this years championship (now they have been nothing short of outstanding for their county, province, country for the last number of years) but this year the only one who started a number of games is hogan and herity and they were eventually dropped for replay final due to poor performances on hogans behalf and a better goalie returning to fitness instead of herity
2) why are there any worries about no.6? Kieran Joyce came in to the replay and gave a commanding display, one of the best no.6 displays seen all year. he has played no.6 over the last few years with his ever-strengthening club and I could see him slotting in there lovely.
3) from the starting team that won them an All-Ireland nobody has retired and they still have the likes of joey holden, walter walsh, lester ryan and mark kelly on the bench.
4) on their team they have played who i think are exceptional but are still developing into something better. For example Conor Fogarty is hurlings answer to the defensive midfielder in soccer and i can see him developing into one of the most valuable players in the game. If anything i feel T.J. Ried can only get better and stronger. Padraig Walsh and John Power are just history repeating itself maybe but its too early to tell. even as far back as the goals eoin murphy is outstanding and is still very young and has the ability to get better. Cillian Buckley is going to cement himself into that no.7 jersey and i cant see him being moved.
5) they have just won a minor title, as if it were just a small detail to throw in there.
all in all would any county fancy facing a kilkenny 20 that lines out as so

1)E. Murphy

2)J. Tyrrell
3)JJ. Delaney
4)P. Murphy

5)P. Walsh
6)K. Joyce
7)C. Buckley

8)C. Fogarty
9)R. Hogan

10)C. Fennelley
11)M. Fennelley
12)E. Larkin

13)J. Power
14)T.J. Ried
15)R. Power

16)M. Kelly
17)W. Walsh
18)L. Ryan
19)J. Holden
20)?---who knows what young star cody will pull out of the hat this year Kikenny had a prosperous U-21 team a few years ago and maybe some of them are ready to make the breakthrough.

Ball.Hand.Move. (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 01/12/2014 12:13:31    1675736

Ball.Hand.Move.

My heart has just sank,that first 15 anyway is formidable

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 01/12/2014 13:03:41    1675744

well, that's my last statement down the drain anyway. who is going to fill the unfillable shoes at no.3? i think paul murphy deserves a go at it just because of his outstanding consistency, skill levels and ability to stop anyone hurling. i think Joey Holden is too young and inexperienced.

Ball.Hand.Move. (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 05/12/2014 12:21:54    1676836

I know think KK dominance will come to an end. I have always said when JJ or Jackie retire this is when KK will start to slip. Them two lads had a big hold over Tipp.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 05/12/2014 12:40:51    1676843

I think Kilkenny's air of invincibility which has been somewhat in decline is now all but gone for 2015 & beyond. Eoin Larkin & Shefflin will also be considering following suit. Brave new world for the Cats! Is Cody the right man to build a new team?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 05/12/2014 16:00:38    1676926

Funny really reading some comments regarding the anticipated demise of Kilkenny in 2015. Were the very same sentiments not been expressed after 2013? Who won the title in 2014 despite the loss of Walsh, Hogan, Herity and to a large extent, Shefflin? Kilkenny have been rebuilding in the last few years while too many were focused on how to handle the greats of the team, who were already been replaced. Losing all those brilliant players just means Kilkenny coming back into the pack. They will still be a force. After all, Cody is still there!

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 05/12/2014 16:17:28    1676931

Looking at that starting XV, they have not much to worry about.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 05/12/2014 16:19:15    1676932

taking into account the retirement of the greatest today, my stab at a kilkenny team for next year would be:
1Murphy
2Joyce
3P.Murphy
4Tyrrell
5P.Walsh
6M.Fennelly
7Buckley
8Fogarty
9L.Ryan
10Rice (assuming/hopefully he can get back to his best)
11Hogan
12Reid
13Fennelly
14R.Power
15W.Walsh

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 05/12/2014 18:13:34    1676958

After the crowd left Croker Park after KK had been presented with Liam this year seven players say down near the 21 at the Canal End. They looked around them for ages as the sat there. It was obvious that most of those seven were probably enjoying their last outing in Croker. The netkeeper was one and he's retired, others three Tommy, JJ, Brian H also have all gone. One of the other big names sitting there was Jackie T.

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 05/12/2014 18:53:04    1676971

Hurlingexpert that still looks a formidable team with the exception of Wally. I dunno if Rice will be back and thats a real shame.

Brian, fair play on that spot, unlike 2011 I was too disappointed to stick around for long after the final whistle :). One of the first things I thought when I heard JJ had called time this morning was would Jackie follow. I thought the two of them would stay on for 2015 so now I wouldn't be at all surprised if Jackie goes too.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 05/12/2014 20:37:42    1677000

Agree with westisthebest. Kilkenny were meant to be finished in 2005,2010 and 2013. Now apparently we can add 2015 to that list. Ill believe it when I see it guys.
I do however agree that JJs retirement will hurt the cats. Whether it will hurt them enough to send them back to the chasing pack remains to be seen. Walsh, Hogan etc. were great players for the cats, but not essential this year. JJ was important and if Tyrell goes as some believe he will then they will be there for the taking next year.
Limerick and Tipp will be praying for that statement from Tyrell.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 06/12/2014 20:44:04    1677128

Kilkenny are a savage team, love watching them play but I'd rather see cork hurlers win the allireland to be honest. And with gods help cork will win it next year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/12/2014 21:27:17    1677139

Kingdomboy...ya that would be great if yourselves and cork won both codes next year. Nothing like a bit of freshness.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 06/12/2014 21:54:44    1677149

Kingdomboy1
Cork have had many great hurling teams but if they win the All Ireland next year they will have to put fierce pressure on God. What might make it harder still is that it is widely suspected that God is a Kilkenny man. Some people think he is from around Skeoghvasteen.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4340 - 07/12/2014 11:59:10    1677170

Ball.Hand.Move.

Your own points are farcial! Nobody is predicting their demise just raising valid points. Joyce can not be seen as a valid answer after one game (Cody was deemed a genius after spring Walter Walsh a few years ago and he could easily be dropped altogether next year). He was seen as not good enough all year. I personally think he is a top hurler but Cody obviously doesn't or he would have been playing all year.

The general feeling in the thread is how KK will replace these players. Have no doubt the impact these squad players wouldve had in training over the course of this year. I'm sure the likes of Padraig Walsh and John Power would testify to this.

I'm far from predicting a demise, I just believe they are not very far ahead of the pack. People forget that Power, Fennelly and Larkin have a lot of hurling done to and have had their injury problems. These wont be around forever.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/12/2014 10:54:20    1677322