Declan O'Sullivan - Retirement

Glad some one dug up this thread.

Its only right to be wishing Alan Brogan well on retirement, but Declan was in a different league again.

Its a shame he won't be able to carry on for years to come with the club like other great Kerry forwards such as Maurice Fitz and Mike Frank Russell.

I said on the trend last year and I'll say it again, for all the talk of Gooch against Dublin in 2013, I have never seen a more brilliant display at centre forward from any player in my lifetime as Declan gave against Cork in the Munster Final in July 2014.

It was memorizing.

We have produced so many wonderful forwards down the years, but Declan can rightly be counted as good as any of them.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/12/2015 12:28:42    1813130

DOS is one of the best I ever saw. Hermit, would I have swapped him for Alan Brogan.....not in a million years
C'mere, isnt this the same fella the Kerry fans Booed ala Ian Keatley a few years back....remember that!
He fairly shut ye up since didnt he.....knowledgable fans wha! IOne of ye'er own! Shameful

Anyways, the man himself, a warrior and a leader. A brain and a footballer.
Like Alan, a legend in his own time.
Fair thee well Declan.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/12/2015 12:35:45    1813131

Absolute class act, all the best to Declan in his retirement.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/12/2015 12:37:48    1813132

That was directed at Jack Connor Liam.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 16/12/2015 13:05:26    1813140

Your right Liam that was back in 2006 and it was a disgrace

I know we are 'fcuking animals' of supporters, nothing wrong with having high standards, but that was way way out of line.

I wouldn't consider any of those 'supporters' who thought they could do something like that, Kerry GAA people...

As for Declan v Alan, well obviously we are both biased but I don't think there is any comparison between the two

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/12/2015 13:12:45    1813144

Actually Liam

Just before you down from the high horse, any comment on how the faithful on the Hill treated Tommy Lyons after the Kerry defeat in 04?

I seem to recall a fair amount of abuse coming from the stands from the Dubs at him that day.

Was there not the infamous image of some big burly blockhead spitting at him as he walked down the tunnel, and your man's little girl in tears next to him?

Knowledgeable supporters what? One of yer own, disgraceful!!!!

Unfortunately they are morons among every county's supporters...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/12/2015 13:18:40    1813146

Lovely footballer!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 16/12/2015 14:03:16    1813159

Row it back in on track and to the point lads, there are bad supporters in every club and county.. anyway like I said in page one, Declan was pound for pound the best link man in our forward line, his ability and strength on the ball was savage, extremely hard to dispossess when in position, and as someone rightly pointed put above one of his best displays was against Cork in 2014 when he totally ran the show from behind midfield, no other player in the panel was capable of this, another display against Pats in the Junior Semi final replay 2 years back was unreal also, he ran the show that day to get his Dromid to their Junior Final

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 16/12/2015 14:11:09    1813161

Well done Declan. Superb career. You can have no regrets. All the best from Mayo.

sinabhuil (Mayo) - Posts: 172 - 16/12/2015 15:09:15    1813169

Hermit, u know the worst part of that whole Tommy Lyons thing? Your man abusing him was a brother of one of the Dublin team that day. It was dispicable.
(on a side note, it wasnt after the Kerry game it was after the westmeath game)

on the Dec Sull V Alan thing, course we are biased :) But i stand by my point, wouldnt have wapped them for all the tea in china.

Still think Dec Sull was nothing but class.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/12/2015 15:37:27    1813176

Fine fine player. Good luck to him in retirement.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 16/12/2015 16:18:26    1813180

Jaysus that's bad form all right Liam.

Was that picture after the Westmeath game? I thought it was after the Q-final against Kerry, that was his last game in charge anyway wasn't it?

I always thought Tommy Lyons was a bit harshly treated, sure ye were the kick of a ball away from a final in 2002 under him and that Dublin side was no great shakes anyway at the time.

Yerra we will agree that Gaelic Football has lost two icons anyway in the past 24 hours, and Kerry/Dublin games will be all the poorer for their leaving.

Thinking back over the last 2-3 years Kerry have lost some unbelievable players to father time, makes you feel old yourself knowing you'll never see them on the field again.

Once Star, Aidan, Marc and Gooch call it a day they'll be nothing left of that magnificent Kerry side from the 2000s

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/12/2015 16:21:24    1813183

Great player....one of my fav from that Kerry team.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 16/12/2015 16:37:06    1813186

Dream to watch , Id imagine a dream to play with , allways came across as a nice guy , with retirements over last couple of years Id have thought Kerry could do without this ,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 16/12/2015 17:51:04    1813194

Dream to watch , Id imagine a dream to play with , allways came across as a nice guy , with retirements over last couple of years Id have thought Kerry could do without this ,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts:2964 - 16/12/2015 17:51:04 1813

What are you on about? He retired last year from playing with Kerry. Unless I'm missing something?

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 16/12/2015 18:50:29    1813204

Apologies , thought he was long term injury assumed at his age that hed come back , none the less Id say there's quite a few defenders sleeping easier was some sight in full flight

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/12/2015 11:08:08    1813272

he was never the same player since he got hit with the handbag lol

youngfella27 (Armagh) - Posts: 110 - 17/12/2015 12:03:22    1813297

I was lucky enough to see him play his last club game a few weeks back for S.Kerry and despite his lack of mobility his football brain was still prevalent.

Without a doubt Kerry's outstanding forward of the 00's ............... A.Brogan wouldn't have laced his boots, simple as that, a complete different league altogether!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 17/12/2015 14:04:47    1813334

I was lucky enough to see him play his last club game a few weeks back for S.Kerry and despite his lack of mobility his football brain was still prevalent.

Without a doubt Kerry's outstanding forward of the 00's ............... A.Brogan wouldn't have laced his boots, simple as that, a complete different league altogether!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts:1022 - 17/12/2015 14:04:47 18

Pity you don't have a footballing brain yourself or any brain for that matter ,maybe then you could stick to the topic and get become your petty remarks you amadán.
A Brogan was as much and more influence on Dublin football as any other player so button your gob there peig.
Easily capable of holding his own with anyone on a football field.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 18/12/2015 08:57:18    1813408

Good man SLLY ......... hook, line and sinker!

The comment stands Brogan wouldnt have got a look in to that Kerry team of the 00's, simple!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 18/12/2015 14:33:54    1813489