Dubs fans denied chance of road trip yet again!!

Typical of the other Leinster counties.
They all go on, and moan, and give out about the Dubs playing all their Leinster SFC games in Croker, yet when they have the chance to vote against it they don't.
Last year they all voted to keep Dubs in Croker except 1 county, and I believe this year's vote was similar.

I have no interest in these perennial posters who have the usual moan about this - time to BLAME YOUR OWN COUNTY BOARD...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3735 - 06/11/2014 16:29:57    1670212

Dubsfan28
I'd love to able to play London and New York away for our Championship games yew_tree, can we swap? :) ha ha

Nah :) - ye can have the trip to Galway though if ye want....getting over to Gaelic Park or Ruislip is less stressful than getting into Pearce Stadium ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 06/11/2014 16:57:40    1670225

Liam, can you enlighten us as to which way the Dublin representative voted?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/11/2014 17:12:33    1670231

Liam, Dublin/Galway hurling would get at least 15,000 in any venue outside of Dublin. The argument about people coming in early for hurling has long since been shown to be a myth.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/11/2014 17:19:38    1670234

its all the about the money money, end of discussion. Exit slowly to the left!

FOB (Dublin) - Posts: 912 - 06/11/2014 17:41:33    1670246

Don't panic yet, all ireland semi finals could be in the Aran Islands or somewhere considering they were deemed to be such a success last year.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 06/11/2014 17:49:31    1670247

Once again the culchies vote for the cash!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 06/11/2014 18:23:11    1670261

They all go on, and moan, and give out about the Dubs playing all their Leinster SFC games in Croker, yet when they have the chance to vote against it they don't.
Last year they all voted to keep Dubs in Croker except 1 county, and I believe this year's vote was similar.

I have no interest in these perennial posters who have the usual moan about this - time to BLAME YOUR OWN COUNTY BOARD...!

I couldn't care less whether you have interest or not, my conscience is clear that all I ever done is raise valid points about fairness and equality across the board, and for your information I emailed my county board regarding the issue last month and got an acknowledgement of the issues I raised so I do more than just rattle around here blowing off steam. Leinster Council, as proved by their chairmans comments last month, will keep the Dubs in Croker whether other counties agree with it or not, that's only a sideshow, and I severely doubt some of the reasoning offered for keeping the Dubs in Croker, this malarkey over money and cash cows is in my opinion hugely over stated

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 06/11/2014 18:33:02    1670267

Richieq

I couldn't care less whether you have interest or not, my conscience is clear that all I ever done is raise valid points about fairness and equality across the board, and for your information I emailed my county board regarding the issue last month and got an acknowledgement of the issues I raised so I do more than just rattle around here blowing off steam. Leinster Council, as proved by their chairmans comments last month, will keep the Dubs in Croker whether other counties agree with it or not, that's only a sideshow, and I severely doubt some of the reasoning offered for keeping the Dubs in Croker, this malarkey over money and cash cows is in my opinion hugely over stated

----
Yeah the turkeys have voted for Christmas again and no doubt they will be complaining about Dublin's 'unfair advantages' again come June as though they are completely blameless.

I sincerely hope that the Dublin rep voted to keep it in Croker as the Dubs have to look after the season ticket holders who they have contracted with to provide free entry to round 1 LSFC. Would have been difficult to achieve this in Pearse or O'Connor park with 14K season ticket holders amongst the Dub attendees.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/11/2014 18:48:37    1670270

Glad to see a sensible decision was made and those Jackeens and their soccer style chanting will be contained within the M50 rather than polluting our green and pleasant land with their witticisms and endless nicknames ending in "O".

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 06/11/2014 18:59:07    1670272

roundball
County: Tipperary

Glad to see a sensible decision was made and those Jackeens and their soccer style chanting will be contained within the M50 rather than polluting our green and pleasant land with their witticisms and endless nicknames ending in "O".

Go way outta that Roundo!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 06/11/2014 19:06:22    1670277

Roundball, there is every chance that the dubs could land down to thurles some fine august afternoon, to play a cork or a kerry team for the honors of progressing to the final. I think that thurles was proven in the past to be more than adequate for the big dublin crowd and would free up croke park for Bono/Gareth or the american footballers from Kansas.

The dubs love to travel, and they have done in huge numbers in the past. Ask anyone in Clones in 2004, or cork in 1983. I think we could see a wee tour late next summer, you never know!

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/11/2014 19:10:25    1670282

Donegalman

Roundball, there is every chance that the dubs could land down to thurles some fine august afternoon...

Oh God, it puts the fear of God into me. It becomes a major security operation. Every time that shower arrive down here I can't take the Massey in to town for fear the next time I'll see it it'll be a getaway vehicle in Love/Hate.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 06/11/2014 20:46:43    1670313

There is only one reason that this decision can have been made and that is money. Its another chink in the argument for those of us who would dearly like to keep the organisation an amateur and voluntary organisation.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 06/11/2014 21:45:30    1670331

Other than letting Maynooth into the O'Byrne / Kehoe Cups, it was a bad night all round for the Leinster Council, but in reality, are any of us really that surprised? The ultimate for any Gaa player is to play at Croker, but the novelty has by now worn off because now it's just another game. I get that it's too good a stadium to host just Leinster finals, All-Ireland semi's and Finals, but there has to be a compromise ~PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 07/11/2014 09:59:01    1670366

Apparently moving the Dubs 'wasn't even mentioned' and they gave various reasons as to why.....well they could have just said revenue and left it at that. They also mentioned that there was no other venues suitable for Dublin's huge support, well they better hope that that's a lie because it's a very poor reflection on the Gaa if it's not, here we have a great organisation that's been going since 1884 and yet supposedly only 1 stadium on the Island is capable of hosting the nation's capital.

Ps, I know the Dubs get very sensitive when a muck savage from the country makes any comment on this, so lads it's nothing against you's what so ever, in fact I'm sure a lot of you's are getting bored by playing Croker all the time. Also I don't think that Croker is any real advantage to Dublin either, it's just an excuse used by teams that aren't good enough, that's my genuine opinion on the matter anyway.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/11/2014 10:36:17    1670376

the gaa are afraid they will loose if they travel, afraid of loosing the money,
sure the last time they played outside croke park in in 2006 they just scrape past Longford

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 07/11/2014 12:09:26    1670407

kerryluck

sure the last time they played outside croke park in in 2006 they just scrape past Longford
-------

We did ok down in Killarney a couple of years ago :0

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/11/2014 12:44:50    1670423

kerryluck

rubbish talk!!!
refresh my memory how many times in the leinster championship
dublin were actually beaten outside of croke park during the period they played most games 1980-2006
in fact i do believe it was only once by laois in tullamore in 1981

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/11/2014 14:10:59    1670455

A decision completely driven by money...all the Leinster counties are looking for a piece of the financial pie from croke Pk fixtures...this males a mockery of a so called open and fair competition...when I see the Longford chairman more or less shrugging his shoulders and saying you can't have a game in Longford with a ten thousand capacity, I really wonder what is going on....if a ground can only hold five thousand go ahead and play it...it is farcical how in some provinces the team drawn out of the hat first does not even get home advantage...how did Meath warrant home advantage against Wicklow..they were second out of the hat....the provincial championships are becoming more ludicrous and farcical with the fixture scheduling fiasco we are witnessing

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 07/11/2014 15:24:13    1670481