Colm O'Rourke and the GPA

Brolly strikes again

http://gaeliclife.com/2014/11/just-a-derry-fker/

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 03/11/2014 10:29:22    1669238

Good article by Brolly. A lot of what he says is true and needs to be taken seriously. If the GAA forgets about it's foundations, it won't be long before it starts to crumble.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 03/11/2014 10:40:11    1669245

The GPA's big mistake was drawing the line at intercounty players. It was a very short-sighted, foolish and selfish move and it is going to be their undoing.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/11/2014 10:47:57    1669249

Croke Park has given free rein to the GPA and now the Monster has got out of control. Sad day for the ordinary (99.9%) members of the organisation. Hopefully the new CAVAN president will tackle them and put them back in their place.
Congrats to Joe Brolly and Colm O'Rourke for speaking out and who represent the real GAA!!!

Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 03/11/2014 11:05:10    1669262

Brolly and Spillane have now come out and backed O'Rourke, all making reference to the elitist problems and lack of tansparency within the GPA. Now personally I don't think it's realistic for the GPA to be able to handle every club player in Ireland but they could make a far better effort to represent club players as a whole and if they don't then they really shouldn't call themselves the Gaelic Players Association because it's misleading.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/11/2014 11:22:51    1669273

Tim_Burr
County: Down

I read Colms article last Sunday on the GPA and the GPA's reply yesterday as well as Colms answers.
I must say I am shocked by the revelations particularly about the GPA text to all the members to tweet or twitter about Colms views. When I saw the replys from fellas like Joe Canning, Colm Cavanagh and particularly from Jason Sherlock it made me very suspicious. They all mentioned the word "lazy article" in their replies. Was this because they were told to say this? Also to finish the text with Meath Fcker. Disgraceful!!
Also the way the GPA mentioned Darren Fay getting a scholarship , this was in bad taste. As Colm mentioned why dident the GPA head people mention Jason Sherlock getting a scholarship for his MBA Degree as well? Is it just a coincidence as Colm says, that the GPA's head of communications Sean Potts is also from Na Fianna like Dessie Farrel and Jayo.

Colm's substantive point that the GPA is not interested in club players was never answered by the GPA leaders. Anyone involved with club football or hurling will know that the GPA is only interested in the elite County players and some more so than others. I think it is time when the real heartbeat of the GAA , the club players stood up and were counted. They have stood silent for long enough.

Congrats Colm on talking the truth. We need more like you.

+ 1

Well said!

HighKing81 (Meath) - Posts: 129 - 03/11/2014 14:23:08    1669365

In fairness lads all thats happening at the moment is club football and hurling and the boys realized two things about club games, its hard to find anything controversial about it and two it doesn't sell papers. Is it not strange that someone would complain about the drift of the game into capitalism should work in a role where he makes money from the popularity of the game. Will the three boys declare how much they get paid by RTE or any other payments that are related to any work the do as a result of the GAA? The GPA clearly learned their lesson now - keep the head down and all this will pass - how can you defend yourself against some of this stuff - if people want to have opinions about the fixtures, commercialization of the GAA, player burn out etc have the debate but a sensible one that looks at the issues however remember the GPA are a result of some if this not the cause.

I love McGee's comments on the Sunday game

McGee also gave his view on the opinion-splitting Sunday Game panel of Pat Spillane, Joe Brolly and Colm O'Rourke.
He said: "You certainly can't have a clown without straight men. That's all good craic sure.
"People take The Sunday Game far too serious - it's three guys having a chat and that's it. You go down to the pub an hour later and you'll get the same chat."

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 03/11/2014 14:32:50    1669369

I think it is time when the real heartbeat of the GAA , the club players stood up and were counted. They have stood silent for long enough.

I agree with you, all players should attend their club AGM, put forward motions that will change the way the clubs behave and then change the way the county board is run and then motions to congress to change the way the GAA is run.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 03/11/2014 14:41:54    1669375

It was inevitable that a movement for better treatment of players would start at the very top. After all, who would take notice of the fact that Ballygobackward's junior "B" team had no oranges at half time during a recent league game ?
On the other hand, to have intercounty players being treated like children by the men in suits in the lead-up to a championship game that drew €500,000 plus in ticket sales was bound to raise the hackles of any person interested in fair play.
Where the GPA have got it wrong is their failure to develop by now into an organisation that caters for allplayers, irrespective of status.It is a disgrace, for instance, to expect club players to put most of their year on hold, waiting to see how the intercounty teams fare.The club player is perfectly entitled to know what the parameters for a season are. I know a few who've stepped down from senior to junior in order not to be accused of a lack of commitment by, for instance, booking a holiday for July, the actual reservation being made in February.I knew another guy a few years ago who was asked by his club to make only a provisional booking for his honeymoon just in case he might be needed at that time ! He, too, is now playing the occassional junior match.
The GPA jumped the ditch, but have failed to move on.Time for the club players to do to the GPA what the latter did to Croke Park a few years ago,make them enter the real world.

jerryp (Cork) - Posts: 104 - 03/11/2014 15:00:53    1669387

Put forward a motion that doesn't suit and it'll be ruled 'out of order' before the ink dries on it.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 03/11/2014 15:21:35    1669402