Scrap the All Stars

Liam
I think there can be no doubt about the selection of Flynn and Connolly as I believe there is not on true Gael that would pick any other forward over those two players. By the way without question Connolly is the POTY. McCarthy I believe was a little fortunate, up to semi final and throughout the League he was majestic but unfortunately for Dublin went missing against Donegal. The truly class players always deliver in the big games, players like Flynn, Gooch, Cillian O'Connor etc. However the whole concept is outdated as the selection is purely based on teams who reach the last 4 of the AI.

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 23/10/2014 17:03:47    1666612

Liamwalkinstown
master, the fact ye were "tested" by Roscomon might explain a thing or 2 perhaps?
Maybe thats why ye're performances are not seen as being of much significance until the semi finals maybe???

Mayo came the closest to the best team in the country this year, so it stands to reason that anyone would have been tested away to Roscommon that day. However, it is beside the point. Had Dublin a tougher run maybe more guys would have stood out, and there are plenty within the squad capable of all star seasons, it just didn't happen this year is all, and the award is for this year.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/10/2014 17:15:24    1666621

Master, ye didnt come closest to the best team in Ireland this year....ye didnt get to play them.....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/10/2014 17:53:57    1666641

well you have journalists picking them
so what do you expect
they precited dublin were unbeatable
on a sunday morning
the next morning the same journalists
said dublin are one dimensional
so we shouldnt be too surprised they decide to give donaghy an all star afterall
journalists shouldnt be picking these awards
it should be solely a players vote where you cannot vote for your own county memebers

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/10/2014 17:59:40    1666644

I don't see what the fuss about. The last few AllStar teams have been fairly accurate. There's always one or two 'fortunates' and someone else who's 'unfortunate'. That's always going to the case no matter what the method for selection is.

I do agree picking players in different positions to accommodate others is wrong but I can't agree that there shouldn't be a bias towards players who play in the latter stages of the championship. Martin Brehony had an article earlier in the week making the argument for AllStars for Paul Barden "and his ilk". I was thinking to myself how could you even consider Barden when 99% of the GAA public never seen him play this year.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 23/10/2014 18:08:37    1666646

Delighted for James Mc Carthy to be honest, he is one of Dublins most consistent yet under rated players. Like every year there will be debate over who did or didn't deserve an all atar. Personally I think Donaghy deserved his, i'd be no big fan of his but his influence on the latter stages of the championship was huge.
Perhaps the best way to get away from the awards being so heavily weighted in favour of the last 4 every year would be to have 2 rounds of voting, one after the conclusion of the league and the second at the conclusion of the championship, and award the All Stars based on an aggregate score of both votes.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 23/10/2014 18:27:48    1666654

give it back Donaghy,disgrace that Ryan McHugh was not selected!

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 23/10/2014 19:09:59    1666667

I gave up on the All-stars about 10 years ago.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 23/10/2014 20:26:50    1666692

Lowball what county do you come from ? the only disgrace was o Mahoney not getting an all star and re: donaghy, he played more effectively than McHugh at the business end, McHugh was totally marked out of it in the final and was made to look a superstar by the poor tactical gameplan of the so called best team in Ireland, the five in a row Dubs, so no, he did not deserve an all-star.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 23/10/2014 21:29:55    1666721

How did Mayo get 3 players?most of been the sympathy vote for losing to Kerry?

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 23/10/2014 21:55:27    1666733

Had brogan's fisted goal dropped over the bar, and not under it, and everything else played out exactly the same, Id wager O'Sullivan doesn't get one. Ridiculous as it seems, it is the truth

Is it yea ? Sound.... based on what ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/10/2014 11:58:45    1666799

Scrap the All stars, Scrap the national anthem, scrap the parade before the game, scrap handpassing, scrap points, scrap goals, scrap everything...... Bring in offsides, player transfers, stadium segregation.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/10/2014 12:01:57    1666801

@micollins County of USA What differenc does it make? Now you are trying to say that Mahoney was hard done by! His display in the final on Murphy of pushing pulling, bear hugging not the hallmarks of an allstar player.Walsh definitely in the conversation,high energy player.Going back to McHugh,he gets man of the match awards in the cauldron that's known as the ulster championship,a superlative display against Dublin and yet no allstar.That makes the process a joke and a disgrace.

thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 24/10/2014 12:59:51    1666830

there has to be some incentive for quality players from smaller counties who put in man of the match performances every time they play yet get no recognition if they dont make it to the semi final. Donaghey's championship started at the semi final stage and he gets an all star just like that while last year Cain Mackey from Cavan played 9 or 10 championship games being the stand out player in most if not all of those games and didnt get one, that isnt right!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 24/10/2014 13:09:45    1666837

Its an imperfect system but so to is the All Ireland Championship. If the weaker counties would put forward something that would see them compete in their own competition then you could have an All Stars for both. As it stands only players from counties who are at the business end of the Championship will get selected and I think thats fair enough. Players from weaker counties have no hope of winning the All Ireland and almost no hope of winning an All Star. I for one wouldn't miss them and especially if your from Kerry, why would you care who gets them - the lads have an All Ireland medal in the pocket, far better than All Star.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 24/10/2014 17:05:13    1666938

Dessie Mone should have got an all star by now.He's probably been the best wing back in the country for the last few years.

I honestly don't know how anyone can question Paul Flynn's inclusion , there isn't a player in the country better than him currently and he was one of the few Dublin players to play well against Donegal.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 24/10/2014 17:36:14    1666943

Is there anything really to get excited about? Fair enough it can be great recognition but it's been a dysfunctional format for many years now. As many have said, the only true dedicated position is the keeper at this stage! There will always been some who are very unlucky (Aidan O'Shea, Dessie Mone, Odhran MacNiallas, Shane Walsh to name a few this year for me)

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 24/10/2014 18:20:07    1666959

I listened to the kerry manager today on afternoon radio. He did mention in general terms, there always is disappointment in picking all stars, but added on the swapping them for an all ireland medal perspective. I think that they are fairly cosmetic in this light. Impossible mission to satisfy everyone. Scrapping the all stars would be a mistake for the sponsors, as it draws so much publicity for both good and not so good reasons.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 24/10/2014 19:13:48    1666977

How can anyone take this nonsense seriously, at least the football all-star team generates discusion, the hurling one is positively sterile.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 24/10/2014 20:05:12    1666991

Sure we'll back here in 10 months talking about the All-Stars, wondering who will be on the team - giving it the height of respect in doing so!

Its the same every year. The All-Stars is what it is so you take it or leave it. My respect for it shut down when Brian Whelehan got an All-Star at full forward back in 1998, I think he played 25 minutes at full forward all year, that was in the final!

As the Paddy would say, sure its a bit of craic and generates massive discussion in the GAA world and therefore I dont think it should not be scrapped

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 25/10/2014 11:45:55    1667053