2014 All Star Awards.

You wouldn't have a clip of the goal he missed clondalkindub? Or indeed, the entire second half?

At no point did I say he was rubbish in the Donegal game, but compare his semi performance to that of ryan McHugh or aidan o'shea, he would be a distant third. Picking someone else doesn't mean you think the other guy was useless. He was in the running of course, just there were better options out there.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/10/2014 15:34:34    1666571

wfkerry
County: USA

The Dubs had to get their share of ALLStars whether they deserved them or not
They would beuproar in the capital if they only got 1 award and Paul Flynn was
the only one that deserved one

-----
Yeah but look you are talking about the league and Leinster champions, last years league, Leinster and AI champions so there is some quality in the team. Flynn and Connolly are the two best half-forwards in the country. James got lucky in my opinion but Cluxton should have got one. So I think overall 3 is about right.

How about Donaghy? Do you seriously think that an all-star should be handed out for 2 games where he caught 4 or 5 balls and swung a leg at them?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/10/2014 15:36:14    1666572

TheHermit

Unhappy that Walsh has lost out by placing Murphy in half forward line. I agree totally with Star getting the award but think Flynn should have made way for Walsh's selection.

Mmmmm. Some statement that... Paul Flynn to lose his All Star to Donncha Walsh..
The mind boggles...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 23/10/2014 15:40:40    1666574

You couldnt not have Flynn as an all star this year, or there would have been something seriously wrong. But it would have involved reshuffling the deck again, maybe putting either walsh or Flynn out to mid field and then sacrificing one of the 2 in the middle, or something like that for walsh to take flynn's all star. And that was done once already in the forward line, so you can imagine what this thread would have been like today if that happened.

The bottom line is that flynn has an all star and no all ireland. Walsh the reverse. Young McHugh will have no all star but will almost certainly get the young player of the year award. It is a balancing act all this award stuff.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/10/2014 16:17:56    1666586

@The Hermit - Sounds to me your a little bit biased. Paul Flynn and Connolly were without a shadow of a doubt the two best wing forwards in the country this year. There can be no complaints about Walsh not getting an All-Star. Both Flynn and Connolly were outstanding. Kieran Donaghy does not deserve an All-Star due to his lack of game time. 2 and a bit games does not justify an All-Star and a nomination at the end of the day is the best he could hope for, but definitely he should not have earned an All-Star. I would say he was shocked when he found out he had won an All-Star. Overall there needs to be more consistency in handing out All-Stars as every year certain players are overlooked and many times these players happen to be better players than those awarded All-Stars in their positions.

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 23/10/2014 16:18:49    1666588

Donaghy played very well in two games this year,a few years back Doyle of Kildare played well in about 6,yet the former gets an All-Star and the latter did not.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 23/10/2014 16:38:29    1666596

Is costing your team the AI on the criteria?

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 23/10/2014 17:04:06    1666613

TheHermit

Think O'Mahony and Walsh deserved All Stars. Unhappy that Walsh has lost out by placing Murphy in half forward line. I agree totally with Star getting the award but think Flynn should have made way for Walsh's selection.

YOU AGREE TOTALLY WITH DONAGHY GETTING HIS AWARD
AND FEEL FLYNN DIDNT DESERVE HIS
ah here did you watch rugby all year and just tune into the gaa in september
theres no lgical person in ireland could say donaghy deserved an all star ahead of paul flynn

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/10/2014 17:10:12    1666617

Oh for course I'm being a little biased lifebouy. Personally, I have no major problem with Flynn or Connolly getting All Starr awards, and Fionn if you don't think Walsh deserves an All Star, well that's your opinion but many people would challenge that.

To be honest, I think the two Dublin lads and Walsh could all have been accommodated in half forward line. I would have had a full forward line of Star, JOD and Murphy with O'Connor losing out. However, if its a case of three going into 2 in the half forwards, I would say that Walsh proved himself against far tougher opposition this year. Who did Dublin beat in the cold light of day? Can you really base All Stars on hammerings of Meath etc.

As for selection of Full forward: Star resurrected Kerry's season, he came back from injury to turn our entire season around. Once his form was back, he was unstoppable and he played his best football since 2006, the year he was player of the year in case people forget. I think its perfectly reasonable for a man to be selected on his contribution to three games, if they are the three crucial games of the season and your county wins the All Ireland on the back of the guys performance.

Now if some people chose to dismiss his contribution to a lucky goal in the final, well frankly they know sweet F-A about the sport!

Well done Star, and I'll be in Austin Stack's on Sunday rooting for the Rock so that you can lead out the Green and Gold in 2015!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/10/2014 17:13:40    1666619

its unreal on here
2 months ago
the same people were claming dublin were an unbeatable team
wanted us split in 2 and some even wanted 4 differant versions
they claimed we would dominate the next decade
they wanted a cap put on our sponsorship
then 1 DEFEAT yes remarkably 1 DEFEAT
and know the unbeatable team is not deserving of 3 all stars in a wide spread view
some even question the audacity to give flynn and connolly an all star haha
make up yer minds will ye please

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/10/2014 17:19:52    1666623

TheHermit

you know think cillian o connor should loose out
ahe here did you watch mayo at all?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/10/2014 17:32:07    1666630

Jackeen you haven't rated us all year so it's no surprise you think we dont deserve all stars.
Aidan O Mahony & Donnacha Walsh should have got one.
The only Dubs deserving of the award is Connolly & Flynn.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/10/2014 17:38:19    1666633

westkerry

what exactly did aidan o mahony do
if kerry didnt make the final he wouldnt be even mentioned
lee keegan was better than him all year

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/10/2014 17:52:33    1666638

You're right I haven't. Everybody except Donaghy deserved their all star for kerry.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/10/2014 17:52:57    1666640

Yerra Hill 16 boy, everyone's entitled to an opinion.

Last year Kerry got a sum total of 2 All Stars, which given we lost an All Ireland semi final to the champions was about right.

Yet you are on here now saying Dublin should have what, 5-6 All Stars on the basis you lost a semi final to the only decent opposition you played (no offence to Monaghan but they just weren't at the races in the Q-final)??? And lost badly.

Walsh has consistently left everything on the pitch when he plays for Kerry, he should not have been overlooked. Flynn and Connolly are great players, but what did they do to turn the game around in the semi against Donegal. Like I said, I don't even have much of a problem with them getting All Stars, but Walsh should have gotten one too.

If its Walsh and the other six into six positions available, I would leave out O'Connor because IMO, he isn't in the same league as Murphy, Star and JOD. That's just my pennies worth on O'Connor you can agree or disagree to your hearts content.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/10/2014 18:02:26    1666645

McCarthy was desperately unlucky to miss out on an award last year when he deserved one ahead of Keegan and Boyle. He did not deserve one this season. Durkan is also very fortunate to get one ahead of Beggan after his nightmare in the All Ireland. It's hard to argue with the rest of the team. Donaghy produced it when it mattered most just like DJ Carey who only played two games in 2002.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 23/10/2014 18:27:12    1666652

Hermit
Maybe Donaghy should give his ill-deserved All Star to D.Walsh then eh.... ??

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 23/10/2014 19:03:02    1666664

@TheHermit? How much football did you actually see this year? Cillian O'Connor was a shoe-in for an All-Star top scorer the past two seasons in the All-Ireland series. He played far more football than Donaghy and scored more, so really don't see how you would have Donaghy in there instead of O'Connor? I find it hard to see how Donaghy won an All-Star he played no league games, no Munster Championship, but played 2 games and 10 mins and suddenly he is an All-Star. I admit he turned Kerry's season around but other players stepped up to the plate as well, namely O'Donoghue and Geaney and without those two who knows how far Kerry would have went. The system is outdated and needs to be revised especially when a forward ends up scoring 2.2 and ends up with an All-Star. Donaghy surely has set a record for the least games played and lowest scoring total from a full forward in the history of the GAA, yet he is rewarded with an All-Star.

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 23/10/2014 19:20:09    1666671

lifebuoy

Donaghy surely has set a record for the least games played and lowest scoring total from a full forward in the history of the GAA, yet he is rewarded with an All-Star.

DJ Carey only played 2 games in 2002. John Leahy didn't play a single minute of the 1994 championship and yet he was picked on the all star team.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 23/10/2014 20:03:59    1666682

@Beir Bua I meant Gaelic football can't think of a player playing football who only played 2 full games and got an All-Star. Anyway how did John Leahy manage one in hurling that year, the forward line must have been atrociously bad in 1994 in hurling if Leahy got in having never played a minute according to you???

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 23/10/2014 20:33:32    1666693