Diarmuid Connolly - the best footballer in Ireland now?

Left or right foot,its all the same.Only Maurice Fitz was as comfortable of both feet.Good goalscorer too.Hes already provided the greatest performance in an All Ireland club final,when he single handedly beat Castlebar on his own.The lad is a genius,who oozes class.A supreme artist,currently at the top of his game.Dublin are lucky to have him,and the beauty is,barring injury,weve a lot of years left to admire one of the capitals all time greats.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/10/2014 15:32:00    1666160

I agree custard. Connolly is great, don't get me wrong. But oI've never heard of club games being brought into player of the year. It's got to be O'Donoghue. And if anyone thinks he didn't play well in the final just because he didn't score is sorely misguided. He was very important.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 22/10/2014 15:37:46    1666161

JOD will RIGHTLY get POTY as he was the POTY
But, DC is the best footballer in Ireland right now. Wouldnt swap him for anyone.

Same as One of the KK lads will definitely get POTY in the hurling this year, but Joe Canning is the best hurler in Ireland

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/10/2014 16:03:58    1666174

If club games were never taken into consideration for all stars,well maybe Connollys one man tour de force,which the likes of Joe Brolly and C O Rourke said was possibly the greatest individual display ever seen in Croke Park,should set a precedence for future club finals.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/10/2014 16:05:50    1666175

JOD will RIGHTLY get POTY as he was the POTY
But, DC is the best footballer in Ireland right now. Wouldnt swap him for anyone.

NAIL ON THE HEAD

That should be the end of discussion.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 22/10/2014 16:47:27    1666193

Treaty_Exile
County: Limerick

Not singling you out Mick. I'm having a good chuckle at a lot of the posts on this thread, mainly from Dublin posters. They're still a bit miffed that things didn't go to script this year ;-)

a westmeath man responded to you telling you it with his opinion that connolly was the best
and you turn around and say you werent having a go at him only dubs who say it
and you call us miffed haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/10/2014 17:03:08    1666204

Not singling out someone doesn't mean I'm not criticising his view. It just means that he's not the only one I'm chuckling at, the majority of which are Dublin posters. Do try to keep up! ;-)

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 22/10/2014 17:40:34    1666221

Treaty_Exile

Not singling out someone doesn't mean I'm not criticising his view. It just means that he's not the only one I'm chuckling at, the majority of which are Dublin posters. Do try to keep up! ;-)

oh the embarressment the learned Treaty Exile is chuckling at us . But sure your entitled to your chuckle as much as the next person ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 22/10/2014 17:56:39    1666227

id say jod display in munster final is up there with the all time great performances ever.he was unmarkable that day.and cork tried a lot of good defenders on him(sometimes 2/3, he laughed at them).connolly is a brilliant player and possibly the best in ireland at the moment but jod has to get poty for his overall displays would either be as good or have the potential to be as good as the gooch in his pomp? a less than sure no!! ?

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 22/10/2014 17:57:48    1666229

AthCliath, I'll keep chuckling, but I've had the smirk taken from me before! ;-)

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 22/10/2014 18:07:16    1666236

Treaty_Exile

AthCliath, I'll keep chuckling, but I've had the smirk taken from me before! ;-)

Sure haven't we all at one stage or another. For some of us Dubs it wasn't that long ago.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 22/10/2014 18:21:19    1666242

Treaty_Exile

Not singling you out Mick. I'm having a good chuckle at a lot of the posts on this thread, mainly from Dublin posters. They're still a bit miffed that things didn't go to script this year ;-)

------
There's always next year. We haven't gone away you know! :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/10/2014 18:22:41    1666243

Just on DC and a few magic moments from him this year that I was lucky enough to witness first hand...

- that equalising goal from EOG against Mayo in the league. The game was over with Mayo 3 points up. The Dubs should have thrown in the towel but Connolly tackles ferociously in midfield, turns the ball over and floats a great ball to Alan B to set O'Gara up for the goal. Great tenacity from DC.

- last minute in Omagh and it's level. The Dubs need the win to secure a semi place. Up pops DC turns a man, fakes right and strikes over from 40. Great score.

- making hard work of Monaghan when DC grabs the game by the scruff of the neck on 25 with a superbly taken goal to put the Jacks on their way

- 4 of the best points you will ever see in a match from play, from 40 - 45 yds out against Donegal

- was privileged to be at the club final and to witness that performance. Described by some as the best individual performance ever witnessed at HQ

- I wasn't in Donnycarney last weekend but saw his scoring on Dubstv

What a player! But sure look JOD deserves the award for his game against Cork. Club performances, even when televised on national TV, don't count.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/10/2014 18:36:15    1666249

Unbelievable talent, makes every skill looks so effortless. If there was a transfer market he would be worth 100 million. How many all stars has Connolly?

lifebuoy (Cavan) - Posts: 628 - 22/10/2014 19:52:08    1666271

22/10/2014 19:52:08
lifebuoy

How many all stars has Connolly?
-----
Same as me - but he probably would have one if they gave them out for the club championship.

Its a good observation - He is 28 - no all stars whilst playing in 2 all ireland finals
though he is nominated this year
Much the same record as Eamon McGee.

Eamon is fine player and on his day one of the top defenders in the country - but I don't think I'll start a thread on him being the best player in the country.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 22/10/2014 20:48:29    1666290

Treaty_Exile

I agree custard. Connolly is great, don't get me wrong. But oI've never heard of club games being brought into player of the year. It's got to be O'Donoghue. And if anyone thinks he didn't play well in the final just because he didn't score is sorely misguided. He was very important.

Disagree, he was very quiet. Here are the player ratings for the final for kerry, and they were very fair. Source the irish independent.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/allireland-football-final-2014-kerry-player-ratings-30604971.html

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/10/2014 21:06:16    1666300

That's because he's not!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/10/2014 21:08:52    1666302

ruanua

22/10/2014 19:52:08
lifebuoy

How many all stars has Connolly?
-----
Same as me - but he probably would have one if they gave them out for the club championship.

Its a good observation - He is 28 - no all stars whilst playing in 2 all ireland finals
though he is nominated this year
Much the same record as Eamon McGee.

Eamon is fine player and on his day one of the top defenders in the country - but I don't think I'll start a thread on him being the best player in the country.

-----
Yeah but Connolly has more skill in his little finger, let's face it. Some players are worth having threads on, others just make up the numbers. Fine players fall into the latter category, greats, like Connolly, fall into the former.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/10/2014 21:12:17    1666303

28 years of old
Plays for a team that ensures he id playing in late Aug / Sept every year and has never been ranked in the top 6 forwards

My definition of great had a higher bar than yours

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 22/10/2014 21:23:56    1666308

Connolly does his talking on the pitch but I'd say other matters have influenced the decision not to have awarded him an all-star in previous years. There is no disputing that he is a great. Every football person knows that. Witness his single handed demolition of Tyrone in 2011. Not many, maybe none other, are capable of that level of skill. Simple. Can't wait to see him in action again for club and county. Worth the admission on his own.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/10/2014 21:54:17    1666320