Diarmuid Connolly - the best footballer in Ireland now?

beidhmeanseo

COnnolly and Flynn are sheer class in my opinion, split only by Murphy in my opinion!! i honestly feel the rest of the dublin forwards are miles and i mean country miles off these two lads!! Bernard Brogan isnt in the same county as some people once though he was (i never rated him) seperate point that really..

On the whole id agree Connolly is the best footballer in the country at the minute and by some distance!!

----
Bernard not rated and not in the same county, seriously? You must not have seen much of Bernard. His average IC point average was about 5.2 per game the last I checked. A phenomenal player. Granted Connolly is more talented, than probably any current player, but Bernard is the ace marksman no question. He was quiet enough last year by his standards but still bagged 2-17 in the championship, averaging 5.75 per game. Not bad for a player who you don't rate. Incidentally, the nearest Donegal player was Michael Murphy who averaged 3.5 per game.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/10/2014 18:49:29    1665610

Hill you mention Connolly scoring 5 points in the first 20 mins but you forget to mention he did not score in the rest of the match when his county needed him as the were been beaten, this in my mind and indeed the people who pick the player of the year is the time you earn your award. I never seen anyone suggesting a player who has played well in the club championship deserves an all star based on that. Connolly is a class player who deserves his all star but not player of the year. Mark Lynch did deserve his nomination does not deserve an all star as he did well in the league but his county were very poor in the championship. Declan Browne deserved his all star in 98 as he was class and was carrying his county in the championship. I would argue he did not deserve his all star in 2003, i think there were other more deserving winners that year.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 20/10/2014 20:08:44    1665632

ROS1 he got 3 points in the first half and 2 in the second against Donegal. He was about the only Dub to take the game to Donegal in the second half that day.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 20/10/2014 21:18:52    1665646

0/10/2014 20:08:44
ROS1
County: Roscommon

Hill you mention Connolly scoring 5 points in the first 20 mins but you forget to mention he did not score in the rest of the match when his county needed him as the were been beaten, this in my mind and indeed the people who pick the player of the year is the time you earn your award. I never seen anyone suggesting a player who has played well in the club championship deserves an all star based on that. Connolly is a class player who deserves his all star but not player of the year. Mark Lynch did deserve his nomination does not deserve an all star as he did well in the league but his county were very poor in the championship. Declan Browne deserved his all star in 98 as he was class and was carrying his county in the championship. I would argue he did not deserve his all star in 2003, i think there were other more deserving winners that year.

Connolly scored 3 points in 1st half and 2 in second.Himself and Flynn were only players that shined for 70 minutes against Donegal so I think puts Connolly in contention for POTY.James O'Donoghue will get it even though he had a quiet final but his outstanding performances against Cork, Galway and Mayo x2 will get him over the line.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 20/10/2014 21:21:18    1665648

Yes but surely POTY should go to the player who exhibited the most skill throughout the year, club, IC league and IC championship. Surely that would be a true reflection of the all round worthiness of a player ? Connolly scored 5 from play against a brick wall. Not many would have scored more against those tactics. In fact no Kerry player managed it in the final so I wouldn't understate his achievement in the semi. He also single-handedly one a championship for Vinnies and scored the winning point for the Dubs in Omagh to get us into the league semi.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/10/2014 21:21:47    1665649

19/10/2014 15:45:09
wfkerry
County: USA

Clondalkin James o Donoghues role in the AI was a provider did you watch the
game if Dublin had used the same tactics as Kerry they might have won Connolly
is a brilliant footballer not the best in Ireland

Even Kerry are buying into the puke football.A forward job is to score.JOD got on a lot of ball but didnt provide a attacking threat. Geaney and Donaghy were the main men in final. I would give Paul Murphy player of year

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 20/10/2014 21:43:55    1665657

Lads need to take off their county glasses..
ROS1 is embarrassing himself trying to make out that Connolly was bad in the Donegal match, did you see the game??
Lads saying hes not liked because of his discipline, Tomas O'Se saw red many a time but nobody questions him.
If its his off field antics, that happened a few years ago when he was young so hopefully hes past all that.

Anyway, if there was a transfer market, I'd break the bank to get Connolly. Hes the Ronaldo of Gaelic football at the moment for me.
Lads saying hes only scoring against club players, any day you score 1-6 from play is unreal shooting, doesnt matter who your playing against. Out of interest, what did JOD score for Legion last Sunday?

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 21/10/2014 09:17:35    1665671

Connolly is no doubt a gifted footballer. Esp at club level where he's head and shoulders above most - possibly due to his strength and speed (obviously skill too). His temperment will always be an issue - it was only last year that he was sent off in the county final.
He was excellent in the AI club final but remember Vinnies had to play a number of games in Leinster without him. They mightnt have made it as far as the AI final as a result of Connollys lack of discipline.

Therefore, being honest, id prefer Cooper in my team than Connolly.

Player of the year should go to O'Donoughue. He had a great year.

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 21/10/2014 09:23:13    1665673

Joxer
Yes but surely POTY should go to the player who exhibited the most skill throughout the year

* at the highest level.

Giving a guy the POTY because of club form, over a guy who was superior at county level, is like giving the balon dor to a guy who scores 40 goals in the league of Ireland over a guy who got 39 in the champions league. Plus, the quality of his club team has to be considered, they would beat some county teams. He is always going to do better in that environment than JOD at his club side, who would be considered outsiders in Kerry, never mind on a countrywide scale. POTY was never given on the back of the club championship in the past, and the reason for that is that the intercounty championship is a far higher level of football.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/10/2014 09:41:32    1665677

As I've said before Connolly for me is the best footballer in Ireland but I've no problem with JOD getting poty kerry won Sam so he deserves it, as for the poster who doesn't rate Bernard Brogan come on man don't be silly you know you don't mean that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/10/2014 09:53:39    1665680

The master

Connolly performed for Dublin too you know
You seem to think he only done it for Vincents.
He done it all year for both .
For Vincents in both all Ireland semi and final.
Then helped Dublin to national league title.
Then helped Dublin to Leinster and all Ireland semi final and now starring again for Vincents. That's a whole year with two teams.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/10/2014 10:24:40    1665693

In fairness joe_Bloggs, he kicked some really bad wides in the Donegal game when Dublin needed him most. He done some good things too, but you couldn't say he had a good game in all honesty. As for comparing Legion to St. Vincents, I will stop you right there - safe you breath, as nobody in their right mind would take that comparison seriously.

I agree with HenryHill and think he has summed it up well. If Connolly is Ronaldo, then Cooper is Maradona.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/10/2014 10:30:18    1665695

Joxer
You say Connolly got 5 points against Donegal and that no Kerry player got near that in the final, well Paul geaney scored 1-02 which equals 5 points and donaghy scored 1-02 which also equals 5 points, I was on the Dublin page yesterday and there is a poll that's asks how did Dublin managed to lose to Donegal and 37 % of dubs believe it's Connollys fault , check it out if ye don't believe me.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/10/2014 10:30:29    1665696

Wow is kingdomboy really trying to compare Geaney and Donaghys performance against Donegal's to Connolly's? Connollys 5 scores are the best scores I've ever seen against Donegals Great Wall, his whole performance was on another level to everything else weve ever seen against Donegal, Geaney was taken off with 20 minutes to go and Donaghy got the biggest freak goal of all time, nothing lucky in anything connolly did against Donegal

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/10/2014 11:04:34    1665704

Best player in Ireland at the moment the dubs are saying. Funniest thread ive seen in a while. Sure they have to console themselves when something the poor aul devils. It will be a long winter trying to come up with ideas why ye are better then others at something. IMO he would struggle to make the kerry starting line up next year nevermind best player in Ireland rubbish. If JOD was a dub this year he would be given legendary status for his sublime performances...the majority of fans would prefer JOD over Conniolly. JOD more exciting player to watch. BTW gooch is back so put this best player in ireland malarky to bed, end of...only one gooch

ky4sam2014 (Kerry) - Posts: 32 - 21/10/2014 11:30:27    1665713

ky4sam2014

you obviously didnt read the posts from most on this as
theres posters from all over ireland saying hes best in the country at present not just dublin posters
but then that wouldnt suit your rant now would it?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/10/2014 12:11:37    1665729

Just because you play out of your skin in a club game doesnt
make you the greatest player in Ireland i guess if you are
a Dub it does where was he in the 2nd half against Donegal
Connolly blows hot and

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 21/10/2014 12:34:55    1665737

To me I think JOD and DC were both by far the best players this year. Whoever gets it from them two I wouldnt argue.

But for ability/skill/potential I honestly dont think there has ever been a better footballer in the history of the game.

And this has nothing to do with me being from Dublin. I genuinely believe that... and if he were wearing a kerry,mayo or donegal jersey id say the same. I just love watching him play. A absolute joy to watch.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 21/10/2014 12:39:29    1665739

We all know the POTY award is flawed in the manner it's decided upon.
My own view is JOD deserves it.
He kept us in the league, his performance against Tyrone was brilliant.
He was excellent in the championship and his role in the final was brilliant too.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 21/10/2014 12:46:08    1665740

Point taken soma and Gael 85 point taken i was going on hill16no1man post who i wrongly presumed he would know about his own player, i remember him missing a number of chances in that game. Joe bloggs i dont know what rubbish you are talking about i have no bias towards either Kerry or Dublin, i just can Jod did more at the business end of the championship and that is why he deserves his poty. You mention Ronaldo well he score a lot more goals if he was playing against league 2 defenders every week instead of la liga defenders every week.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 21/10/2014 13:05:48    1665747